We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“come on this is the best place in the Garden Route!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

you guys are doing a great job!!!! Tube n Axe is Beautiful and the people are great, Vibe is fantastic and the activities are bucket list material!

thank you for the shuttle service and always being friendly! i have been to many backpacker lodges and this one certainly stands out!

Room Tip: phone before arrival and book one of the log cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank obapty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Its like being part of a big family. Beautiful rooms, wonderful atmosphere and great people. Situated in a wonderful position close to all the attractions in Tsitsikamma.
Rooms are clean and great worth and value for money. Definitely will be popping in again for a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for one night in a dorm.

Pros
- beds are beautiful with clean sheets and individual reading lights. Very comfortable!
- can lock your items in the drawers beneath the beds
- 2 showers inside of the dorms - great so you don't have to share with other rooms
- helpful and friendly staff
- exterior is beautiful and relaxing
- secure parking

Cons
- didn't have dinner service while I was there
- not sure if I would stay here again. Didn't have the vibe I was looking for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The place has a great potential, the surroundings are excellent and beautiful. But most of the staff was unhelpful and unprofessional. Poor, poor information about trips and things to do in the area. We were tempted to stay 3 nights (pay 2 night, get 3rd for free), but left after 2 nights. If you do not have your own car, shuttles from the hostel is very expensive.

We brought out own food, because there is only a small supermarket and not a lot of restaurants in the village. Unfortunately the kitchen was disgusting, with left overs from weeks and not single clean pot or pan to use. Must of the mess was from the staff themselves.

Charles, was a great member of the staff, professional, helpful and friendly. The Black Water Tubing that he organizes is great and the crew gives you a nice experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The dorm rooms are gorgeous! Comfy beds, individual reading lamps, towel racks and drawers - 5 star beds!

Drinks are inexpensive and the bar are is relaxing. The lodge caters well to those doing activities - shuttles, packages etc.

The bathroom is very clean and the staff are very helpful. I lost my cellphone at the backpackers and while it still hasn't been found - the staff have been in correspondence.

Nice self catering kitchen. Complimentary coffee and tea.

Service on the food side is a bit slow. There is a set menu but it wasn't available due to weather (bbq on Saturdays) but I think they could make a effort to do a stew or something should it rain as a la carte options lacked vegetables.

The shower area (not the shower itself) is cramped so be ready to balance on one foot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxanneCT N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

For that ones needs some resting after bungee jumping, that's the place where beds look like heaven, cleaned bathrooms even the shared ones are not out of the house or getting cold air from outside. If you need to use a kitchen, there is one just right there, very organized and well equipped . Just like it shall be.

Room Tip: For resting after a long walking or jumping day, get the inside rooms - it means nice beds for sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caliview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Before arriving, I emailed to confirm my booking, but no response. Luckily I was in the books. Upon arrival I was shown to my dorm with no explanation of the grounds, locations of toilets, services and policies. Luckily after cycling all day, all I wanted was a shower and a bed. In the morning, however, I discovered that there apparently is no self-catering kitchen and you are forced into buying the house breakfast (storms river village is just that-- a village, and options are few). This is the FIRST hostel I have stayed at that does not offer a kitchen (the web advertises a "kitchenette" but I haven't seen it and without a tour of the facilities I have no idea where it might be). Reluctantly I sat down for the breakfast buffet. The bread and muffins were hot and fresh, but I waited over 20 minutes for milk (after asking for some) for my cereal. I finally gave up and left without eating it. After breakfast I had hoped to use the PC to view my pictures and DVD from my bungee jump the day before. However, they keep the desktop unit locked up so that all you can do is access the Internet-- not too convenient. I chose this hostel because they advertise one free shuttle for baz bus customers. Hopefully this will be a good experience, but when i asked at check-in if the offer was available I was told that it was-- without any explanation on how it works. If I had not already booked both nights, i definitely would not stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terpsfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Storms River hotels
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#2 of 12 in Storms River
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serenity Retreat
Serenity Retreat
#8 of 12 in Storms River
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Address: Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: £20 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Rriver Backpackers - This fantastic youth hostel is located in Storms River Village on the pulse of adventure and is ranked among the top backpackers lodges in South Africa let alone Garden Route. Our Accommodation offers warm cosy beds, clean facilities, Stormsriver Activities and Adventures. A buzzing night-life attracts travellers from all over to Tube ‘n Axe Backpackers Lodge and Accommodation. Storms River Village is a must visit while in Tsitsikamma and Garden Route area. Tubenaxe is also home of Blackwater Tubing and it is close to the Garden Route National Park at the famous Storms River Mouth – we offer shuttles on a daily basis to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing