We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for Otter Trail Hiker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed at Tube n' Axe the night before beginning the Otter Trail in Tsitsikamma. Tube n' Axe had a lively atmosphere, hot showers, nice grounds, a good dinner, and 1 free shuttle for Baz Bus riders. That's all I needed. It was loud, however, and this was even in the off-season. Great fire pit area as well. If you do have to pay for a shuttle, however, know that it's gonna cost you- probably over R100 per person, even for a relatively short drive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dha10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hi and thank you for a good rating.
I'm glad to hear that you had a great experience during your stay with us but am a bit disappointed to hear that your perception of our shuttle prices is one of poor value for money.I must point out that we transport guest in two brand new vehicles at a time of very high fuel prices and thast even though this is the case a shuttle exceeding 50km and 3hrs of our driver's waiting and driving time can be as low as R30pp as our rates work on a sliding scale according to how many passengers are in the vehicle.
Perhaps you could offer us another model that would offer the same quality and better value? My 12 years experience of running shuttles in the Tsitsikamma (predominantly for backpackers) has produced the fairest rate system that provides sustainability and reliable vehicles.

I trust that you enjoyed your hike on the otter and hope that we will see you again.

Kind regards,

Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spent a night at Tube and Axe over Easter this year in a 4 sleeper dorm with 2 buddies.
the room was clean and had fresh towels, linen etc at a good price.
The staff were friendly and food was excellent and opened their kitchen to me so I could braai my own dinner. The communal area/pub was excellent and set up so you had no choice but to socialize with the other patrons and had me wishing I could stay another day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for a great review!

I certainly hope that you will have a chance in the future to join us again for more happy days!

Chiow!

Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We first were supposed to stay only one night, we would go to mosselbay after stormsriver, we loved the first day and night, people are really friendly, you can book lots of activities and when you come back, you can relax at the woodfire! We had to go to mosselbay with bazbus, but they forgot to pick us up, the people here were helping us right away, they checked if we could undo our booking in mosselbay and they gave us a new room for the second night! They also booked us a trip of blackwater tubing; so we wouldn't be bored all day! These people deserve a medal! They are so nice, caring, friendly and humorous!;) we would really recommend this backpackers lodge to everybody who is going to stormsriver!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

I am very glad to hear that we gave you a great experience on your holiday and we look forward to having you again.
Thank you for your wonderful review.

Regards,

Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The double room ensuite was just basic and clean enough, a bit noisy (during the day) from the communal kitchen.
Very cheap and you get what you pay (no less).
The reception staff can be very helpful... or just the opposite.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PolArBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We very often hear from our guest that Tube 'n Axe is the best hostel that they've stayed at so far because the standard of our room and facilities surpasses that of most other hostels en route.Yes we do advertise ourselves as a 'backpackers place' and are popular because people perceive value for money in our accommodation food and facilities which is also the reason why we have many return customers.

We thank you none the less for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The area surrounding this backpackers was beautiful, but that was the only redeeming feature of my stay there.

The sink in one of the bathrooms connected to the dormitory room was leaking all through the afternoon and night. We alerted the staff, but they only gave us one towel to soak up the water. By morning, there were puddles on the floor and a moldy smell in the dormitory room, and most people's luggage was soaked.

Even worse: I was one of a large group of Americans, and as the only non-white American, I was singled out as the target of a race-based joke by Moses, a staff member. This is completely unacceptable treatment of a paying customer, especially to use race to single out one of a group that is traveling together. He continued to be disrespectful to many girls in my group throughout the night, making us all uncomfortable. I would have reported him, but I couldn't find anybody in charge while I was there.

I've stayed in 6 backpackers on the Garden Route and elsewhere in SA, and this was by far the worst experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Your review deserves some comment:
We have resolved the issue of the blocked sink in the dormitory. Storms River Village does not have water borne sewerage and so every property has its own waste water drainage system and septic system. We found that the pipes for that dorm had been grown closed with banana tree roots that we have now cleared and completely resolved the problem.
I cannot comment on what exactly was said by Moses but what I can say is that he was warned a few time but myself and our guiding team for making distasteful remarks and jokes on our river trips. Perhaps the fact that he himself is over weight and non-white make him feel that he is entitled to some degree of political incorrectness. His lack of tact among other more serious internal company issues has cost him his job with us and he now no longer works here.

Its sad that the misconduct of one staff member can reflects so poorly on that of 21 others.
Should you ever be in our area again we would be glad to have you for a complimentary stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Loved everything about this backpackers. The staff and owner/manager were all so helpful and friendly. We stayed two nights and could have stayed longer if we had time. There was always a fire burning and the gardens are really stunning with loads of hammocks to relax in. Food was great and affordable. Was impressed how clean they keep everything considering it is basically a farm house.The Tsitsikama National Park was beautiful, and my daughter did the black water tubing which she is still talking about it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j-jenkins52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I hope you two will have time to visit us again in the future.
If and when you do, We'll give you our best room for having taken the time to review us so positively.
Thanks a mil!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on the full shebang package.....loved the vibe and activities...
This is not the wine and dine experience...This is the rustic outdoor experience with all the needs you expect....
Manager being involved in everything is awesome to see...
I would recommend if you outdoorsy type

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 649emileg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hey guys,
Thanks for your great review and fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
When you come back for the bungy we'll upgrade your stayfree as a gesture of our gratitude.
Hope you had a fantastic honeymoon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Storms River hotels
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#2 of 12 in Storms River
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serenity Retreat
Serenity Retreat
#8 of 12 in Storms River
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Address: Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: £21 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Rriver Backpackers - This fantastic youth hostel is located in Storms River Village on the pulse of adventure and is ranked among the top backpackers lodges in South Africa let alone Garden Route. Our Accommodation offers warm cosy beds, clean facilities, Stormsriver Activities and Adventures. A buzzing night-life attracts travellers from all over to Tube ‘n Axe Backpackers Lodge and Accommodation. Storms River Village is a must visit while in Tsitsikamma and Garden Route area. Tubenaxe is also home of Blackwater Tubing and it is close to the Garden Route National Park at the famous Storms River Mouth – we offer shuttles on a daily basis to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing