We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable, absolutely awesome!”

Tannenhof Guest Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Storms River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tannenhof Guest Farm
Ranked #4 of 5 Storms River B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable, absolutely awesome!”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

It is the second time we have stayed at Tannenhof. Nicky and Peter, our hosts, bent over backwards yet again and nothing was a hassle. Accommodation consists of little wooden chalets with super comfy beds and duvets. Fire wood was supplied for a braai (BBQ). The setting is on a beautiful dairy farm surrounded by pine trees. Value for money, you will never beat it. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripilot007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Western Cape
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stopped here on our way from Cape Town to Grahamstown, and what a lovely place to stay after a long day's drive. We felt like Babes in the Wood! The Family Cottage was excellent, clean and warm, and well equipped. and there were masses of pine cones to pick up to get our fire going for the braai. Nicky and Peter are delightful hosts and the breakfast was excellent and Nicky, who is Greek, makes her own yoghurt; SO delicious. The long gravel road through the farmlands to get to Tannenhof, was not a problem at all, and we will definitely stay there again. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The family cottage that we had was very good. Two bedrooms, one with double bed and one with twin be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spook007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at Tannenhof for 3 nights and had a truly fatastic time.

The guest farm is set in peaceful farmland and is the perfect base to exolore Tsitikamma. As other reviews have mentioned, the road leading to the farm is not very good but we found it easy to navigate, even in our small Kia Picanto, and once you have driven it once its doesn't seem so bad the next time!

Nicky and Pete were fantastic hosts and have perfected the art of being helpful/ attentive without being intrusive. Our cabin was immaculate and the view from the balcony was absolutey breathtaking. The grounds of the farm are beautifully maintained and well kept.

Superb value for money - Thanks Nicky and Pete!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Felt I had to sign in to respond to Laura's comments about Pete and Nicky. We actually stayed at Tannenhof at the same time,arriving on the same day. Tannenhof is in the middle of farmland and quite remote ,it is in the middle of a National park! but if Laura had done her homework she would have seen this, there is also a long drive on an un made road but again they make this clear on their web site and on Trip adviser. Our hosts were lovely and could not do enough for us, the lodges were clean and the breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice. The price was amazing........ I think Laura because you and your friends were so young perhaps you would have been better staying where there was a bit more action and sadly your bad feedback is based on that.
We stayed for 3 nights and found both the place and our hosts enchanting and certainly could not complain for the price we paid....if you want a 5* hotel then you should pay 5* prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The road leading to the farm is not very good BUT as soon as you get there it is the most beautiful place you have ever seen. The people are friendly and in all my travels and in all the places I have stayed this is the cleanest place ever!! I enjoyed the monkeys playfulness and the vistas.... just breathtaking.

A really good place to stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattersheim, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Because of all the positive evaluations we booked Tannenhof. We drove a long way on an unpaved road to get there. It was literally in the middle of nowhere. Then we saw the hosts. We didn't feel comfortable. As it was a scary place with scary people, we paid the fee and left the place. Glad for us!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We were charmed by our short stay here. It's not for travelers who want luxurious, hotel-style accommodations -- the cabins are rustic, the furniture is retro/eclectic, and the road to the farm is full of potholes -- but you couldn't ask for a more relaxed atmosphere or friendlier, more helpful hosts. The setting is lovely and the home-cooked breakfast was outstanding. And the cost was about half of what we paid at more upscale (but not more comfortable) b&b's during our trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kww_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Storms River hotels
0.0 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
631 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#2 of 5 in Storms River
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#2 of 13 in Storms River
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tannenhof Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tannenhof Guest Farm

Property: Tannenhof Guest Farm
Address: Off N2 National Road | Garden Route, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Storms River
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tannenhof Guest Farm Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing