We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun”

Tsitsikamma Canopy Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$47.22*
and up
Tsitsikamma Canopy Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tsitsikamma Canopy Tour is a unique eco-wilderness adventure that takes place in the magnificent Tsitsikamma indigenous rainforest. The first of its kind in Africa, the canopy tour involves traversing from one platform to another along a steel cable suspended up to 30 meters above the forest floor
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Not the most fearful adrenalin rush you will have unless you are REALLY scared of heights.
Good fun esp for the young kids. Very professional and safe all the way. Bit pricy but worth the experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank miles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    232
    44
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing adrenalin rush with excellent safety procedures”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

On a Garden Route educational tour in preparation for inbound UK school tours. Stopped at Tsitsikamma Canopy Tours at Storms River Village. After a slightly disorganised safety briefing we were given our equipment (including helmet, harness, gloves) to tackle the 8 zip lines from 10 platforms. Heights up to 30 metres and 90 metres long. Groups of approximately 6 - 8 pax with 2 guides + a video-man Taken by van to the site. Excellent safety procedures with 2 back-up safety wires attached to the main system at all times. Guides were amazing and entertaining at all times but also very professional with regard to our safety at all times. The adrenalin rush was amazing with good speeds at variable heights through the Forest. Long climb back uphill out of the Forest to the support vans to return you to the restaurant for hot drinks + toasted price. Not the cheapest excursion but worth the money

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruvs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just lie back and think of England!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

On a tour of South Africa and booked as a party to do the canopy tour.

If you have enjoyed Go Ape! or Treerunners then this will be for you. But it's definitely plus plus on the UK versions. Up to 30 metres high and 90m long, the 10+ zip wires will give you a thrill as you see the forest canopy move past pretty quickly!

The guides are engaged, thoughtful, calming and funny. A lot was learned about the forest fauna and flora. The trees in particular are magnificent.

If I have any gripes its that the pre-tour briefing was slow, and the size of our group meant that the trip was dis-jointed.

But, for a family on a Garden Route trip, this makes a good focus for a planned stopover.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rarelydelighted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The best adrenalin rush ever!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

You have to do this regardless of your age. Book in advance. My family comprised of 2 adults and 3 kids: 17, 14 & 9. Had a rather brief briefing, kitted out with full gear (gloves and helmet as well) taken on a truck to the start of the forest. I'm not mad on heights from the very beginning we all felt completely safe. The guides that accompany you are extremely capable men. Safety is paramount but also keen for you to have the best time. Tick box for both! 10 zip wires of varying length and speed. Scream as loud as you can - I did and loved every minute. A definite highlight of our South Africa trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing fun”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We did the canopy tour in February 2014. The initial welcome was super and the guide tried to answer all my wildlife questions. The place was a bit spartan but the equipment good. Safety was a strong feature and prevailed throughout. Unfortunately when we began our tour it began to rain heavily and so there was a lack of wildlife. Despite this our guide was great and if anything it made the wires faster and more exciting. It is a great activity for all ages, but you need some agility.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tsitsikamma Canopy Tours also viewed

Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park
Tsitsikamma National Park, Eastern Cape
 
Tsitsikamma National Park, Eastern Cape
Tsitsikamma National Park, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Tsitsikamma Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing