We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served its purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Storms River Guest Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Storms River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Served its purpose”
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

The lodge is basic, but that is what I expected. Staff friendly. Owner very nice. Breakfast was great. It lacks some thing tho, the rooms are old fashioned, and a little over priced. Storms river is beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    104
    32
    9
    1
See reviews for
65
118
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
327 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is definitely one of the best lodges I stayed in. Not only was my room simply beautiful, clean and spacious, the owner also took the time to greet us all.
Wifi was available day and night and the staff were super friendly.

The added bonus was the friendly attention from the Doberman called Mila. She was definitely a pleasure to see each time we entered the lower level of the lodge.

One recommendation would be to add televisions in rooms as rainy days in Tsitsikamma may become a bit boring.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knoesenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Very nice inkeeper. Friendly staff, everything very clean. Good english breakfast! Style is not very modern, but everything worked well. Nice swimming pool in the backyard. Location is convient in Storms river village, very close to a lot of activities like Tree top canopping, wild hiking trails or montainbike rentals etc...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed three nights at the Storms River Guest Lodge and used this as a base to explore the Tsitsikamma area. If you realise that the Storms River Guest Lodge is no Ritz, you will have a great time. Breakfast is great, lots on offer, staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the area, an honesty bar is open all the time, the rooms are clean. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool. The Storms River Guest Lodge could do with some renovations, time is catching up with the bathrooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorschoten
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Very nice place to stay in one of the most beautiful places of RSA.
We enjoyed our stay and wonderful scenic drives and walks in the Tsitsikamma area. Room and service were very good and gladly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerrit v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

. Welcoming Manager and staff . Great location. Free WIFI .Good knowledge of local facilities. We originally were worried that we had not stayed in the park on the coast but the village is a better location. only criticism is the rooms are dark and in common with hotels eveywhere now not enough light to comfortabley read where one wants to in the room. Other gusts on the upstairs balcony also were smoking which in Europe would not be acceptab;le

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rainbow003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanesburg
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Me and my family stayed hre for three day;s and the service received from all staff was fantastic Nora your friendlyness will stay with us for a long time,we are back from our trip and yours was the best by far where we have stayed,once again I want to thank you for your hospitality and friendly service,when we are coming again and hoprfull this will be soon we will stay again and Iam sure we will receive the same best of the best .
Regards Anton and Hazel van der Toorn

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anton v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
7.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
5.0 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#2 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storms River Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storms River Guest Lodge

Property: Storms River Guest Lodge
Address: 28 Gammasi Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Storms River Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storms River Guest Lodge is located in the peaceful village of Storms River, in the heart of the Tsitsikamma, which forms part of the Garden Route. Tsitsikamma is a Khoi/Nama word meaning 'place of abundant water.' The region is bordered at the north by the Tsitsikamma Mountains and in the south by the Indian Ocean. The village is surrounded by natural occurring indigenous forest, Fynbos and commercial plantations. This charming lodge is a Bed and Breakfast (which is suitable for small and large groups), consisting of a double story building with 14 spacious, en-suite rooms. The top story has a large veranda that offers panoramic views of the Storms River Mountain Peak and the tranquil lodge gardens. Other facilities include a private swimming pool that the whole family can enjoy.In addition, the lodge is in close proximity to a variety of exciting activities that cater to both the adventurous, and those looking to put their feet up for a relaxing break. The area also hosts a number of meandering hiking trails, the Tree Top Canopy Tours; Black Water Tubing; mountain biking; segways and horse riding. The area also boasts the highest commercial bungee jump at Bloukrans Bridge. The Storms River Mouth - with its spectacular shoreline - is the start of the famous Otter Hiking Trail and is situated in the Tsitsikamma National Park and is a mere 10 kilometres away. For a more relaxing experience, there is the Tsitsikamma Mountain Spa where you will be pampered. With such an abundance of natural beauty, it is hard to resist the allure of this magical place. What better place to settle in for the night, after an exhilarating day outdoors, than the Storms River Guest Lodge? Indulge in cool breezes and the sound of chirping crickets on the veranda in summer or cosy up to an intimate log fire in winter with a decadent mug of hot chocolate (or even an indulgent glass of red wine!). The lodge offers a little slice of heaven to everyone, and even the weariest of travellers will leave rejuvenated! Should you need any assistance during your stay, the hostess, who is also the owner, will be able to assist you with any needs you might have, and even help you to plan your activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Storms River Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storms River Guest Lodge Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing