We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent three nights at the Fernery and it was probably the highlight of our recent trip! AN amazing location with fabulous views from the chalet and restaurant. Great to have a fire in the room when the temperature was cool. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. Food excellent with good high quality imaginative meals. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear PhilE

Good morning and thank you so much for leaving this great review.

We will pass on the comments to the staff regarding the service and food quality, I am pleased you enjoyed the quality of your experience and we look forward to your next visit.

Until next time, kind regards and best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We loved the place; accommodation was excellent as well as the food and staff. A lovely ambience. The view from the rooms and balconies was awe inspiring. The lounge area was lovely. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TomRandburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Tom & Jenny

Thank you so much for the review and all your positive comments...everyone at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets really appreciate you taking the time to pass them on.

We hope to see you soon!Kind regards and best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Spent one night in the Fernery and it left us wanting to stay on for longer. The property is really big so they have private parking near each cottage. We were three of a family in family suite- two adjacent rooms with separate showers (and baths) and a huge kitchen in the middle. It was magnificent with a private pool, fully equipped kitchen, big flat screen tv, music player, private bbq and a docking station. Each room also had a large living area. Other than the modern comforts, it had a cottage-in-the-country feel to it. The dinner was also quite nice and the view of the sea was mesmerising. The downside is that we had to check out early and the hotel already knew about it but there was no one there till 15 mins past our preferred check out time. There is an option for leaving your key but we had a cash payment to make. If you sort this out with them before hand, it shouldn't be a problem. The staff in the dining area could be more polite and less arrogant. They kept staring at us when we opted for a private seating in the room downstairs and offered us the table away from the scenic view. This is after we were told that the seating is on a first come and first serve basis and they make no reservations. Strange. I am giving it a good review on the basis of the property and the other staff members that we interacted with. Be advised that this lodge is 8 kms inside on a dirt road and you are pretty much confined to the lodge at night, so if you are making a trip to the city, be back by sunset. Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsicsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Fabulous hotel in a stunning location. Staff lovely and helpful. Food excellent over three nights in a dining room overlooking the ocean. The lodge is the place to book. WIFI in reception, short walk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Trevor F

Good morning and thank you for your kind review.

The Fernery Lodge & Chalets family is over the moon with your positive comments and we are looking forward to making you feel spoiled and welcome again.

Until next time.
Kind regards and warm wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was a great one day break away, beautiful scenery, comfortable clean accommodation, fabulous food and nice cocktails! Bonus is no cell recepton to rest really well, but WiFi available for those emergencies. Will definitely visit again.


  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yolande S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear YolandeS

Good morning to you!!

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated......we strive to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

We are so happy that you had time to break away from the hustle and bustle of cellphones, internet and normal every day life and we hope that you will choose The Fernery Lodge & Chalets again when you need a well deserved battery charge.

Until next time, kind regards and best wishes
Fernery Lodge & Chalets team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for two nights. 3 Adults and 5 children. We stayed in the self catering lodge (4 of us) and in two other lodges (2 in each). Fantastic, beautifull and quiet location. Had a family dinner as well as fantastic breakfast. Enjoyed our stay very much...Beutifull and very romantic setup.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yoav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Yoav S

What a lovely review - thank you so much for taking the time to do this.

We love hearing feedback like this, as we strive to give each guest a perfect stay.

We glad to hear that you enjoyed a nice family dinner....family times are special...and we are happy that we were able to help you making memories that will last a lifetime!!

We hope to see you again!!
Until next time Kind regards and warm wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Excellent service at reception, so friendly and helpful, warm room when we arrived (heater on was a huge bonus) because it was a bit chilly that day.

We were celebrating our engagement on route back from our road trip around the Western Cape and wow The Fernery was a great last stop :)

Beautiful setting, really liked the pics of how the place started out. Only down side was the set menu seemed overpriced for what my fiance got, main was a bit disappointing.However I was very happy with my soup and Thai curry! compliments to the chef :)

Hope to be back soon, thanks

Jackie Petzer

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
3.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
734 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
951 reviews
3.3 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
415 reviews
8 mi away
Swallows Nest Country Cottages
Swallows Nest Country Cottages
#5 of 12 in Storms River
153 reviews
8.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#3 of 12 in Storms River
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Address: Forest Ferns Estate | Bluelilies Bush, Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: £124 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets situated above a 30m waterfall with breathtaking views of the river gorge is the perfect romantic and peaceful getaway for natural lovers. The luxurious and opulent rooms in the lodge and the private chalets are each tastefully decorated with every effort made to ensure our guests' comfort. Each unit has a unique theme inspired by the magnificent surroundings. Start your day with a hearty breakfast and end off with a wander through the wine cellar where you can select a bottle of your choice before heading up to experience excellent cuisine in our plush diningroom with its special ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing