We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view and lodge, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Spice room of the lodge for two nights. A spacious room, spacious common area and a beautiful view are the qualities that make up the experience at The Fernery. Our room had the most amazing bathroom I've ever seen - a bath big enough for two and a spacious shower. The room also had a small balcony, too small to put chairs on however the common area has a big deck with tables, chairs and comfortable couches to relax on. Breakfast was good, however dinner (which is not included) will set you back R275 per person which is completely outrageous. In terms of wine and sparkling wine there is a full range from everyday affordable kinds to very expensive kinds. Going to and leaving The Fernery via a well-maintained dirt road can be a little cumbersome depending on what you're driving. We bought some ferns from the nursery. They were more reasonably priced. This is not a value-for-money kind of destination. It is more of a I'm-a-foreigner-with-favourable-exchange-rates-on-my-side kind of destination.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spice room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Accommodation was of acceptable standard in terms of rates paid. Spacious. Quiet. However, flies were a costant nuisance.
We tried lunch at The Lodge once and was very disappointed. Menu description did not match what was received on our plates.
Laundry service ludicrously expensive. DO NOT USE!!! We complained and the response was that ALL guests were complaining but that they were only considering it now!
A lot of the activities take place West of Forest Ferns... Meaning that you may have to go through the Toll Gate (government!!!!) twice a day. NOT GOOD!!!!
Cell phone connectivity was bad. But that forced us to rest.
Kitchen was not well equipped for self catering, but we " survived".

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Marliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Mareliese B

Thank you for your detailed review to TripAdvisor, we appreciate any and all feedback as it indicates to us when we are doing well and if there is any areas that we need to improve on.

The Fernery Lodge & Chalets are surrounded by fynbos, pine forests and farms, with these surroundings, the warm weather and the frequent rains come a number of different insects, we have implemented a number of steps to try and keep this environmental problem under control...

Our self catering units are equipped with a full size fridge/freezer, microwave, two plate stove with small oven, cutlery, crockery, glassware, dining table and BBQ with BBQ tools...please feel free to let me know what else we can put in our self catering chalets that can make our guests stay a better more convenient one.

Can you please let me know which dish you had for lunch and how it was presented to you, we can then have a look at the menu and speak to kitchen to ensure that this does not happen again.

My email is lodge@forestferns.co.za and I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Until next time!! Kind regards and best wishes Angelique Drake General Manager: The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in the luxury chalet and the accommodation could not be found wanting in any respect. The views are most spectacular from the restaurant and lodge with the chalets slightly further up the river gorge but they are still very nice.

I had seen a few negative comments about the service on trip advisor prior to booking but while we were there it was very good. My only complaint was that at breakfast we shouldn't have to keep asking for items to be restocked at the buffet (although when asked it was done very quickly)

As the lodge is 6 miles down an unsealed road (no problems for a normal car) you are generally at the lodge for the night. The restaurant has a limited menu with 2 choices for a-la-carte and a separate 4 course set menu but it is all done very well. The 3 course braai that you can order from the lodge was the highlight for us though

There is good wifi in the reception area which is available 24 hours but if you are accessing it at night for the first time it can be a bit tricky to find the entrance

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Lodge is in a magical position overlooking a ravine with a gushing torrent and a sea view. The food and service was excellent. There are many steps between levels in the lodge; the chalets are flat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The lodge is nicely situated and offers stunning views onto the ocean. The room we stayed in was quite old-fashioned but offered everything we needed. Dinner was ok but nothing special to remember. Definitely a nice place to stay for one night but probably quite boring if you stay for a longer time since no activities are offered besides the local jacuzzi & sauna. I would recommend that the place offers other activities since it is located in a wonderful hiking and other activities area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citTravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear citTravel2000

Thank you for your review to TripAdvisor....it saddens us that we could not meet all your expectations as we strive to give all our guests a memorable experience.

On top of the 2 jacuzzi's and 2 sauna's The Fernery Lodge & Chalets also offers 3 hiking and 1 cycling route. We also have 4x4 trips through the forest and guests can hire a boat or fishing tackle for a fun day at the dam.....all this information as well as the bookings that we can make on your behalf for activities in our area is available in our Information Book in our rooms.

While we try to cater to as wide a target market as possible, we do find that not everyone likes the peace, tranquility and "far away from everything" experience as much as we do.

We hope you will visit us again, until next time - Kind regards and warm wishes
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Superb position and outlook, great accommodation, very friendly, helpful staff. Forest walks good. The dinners were a bit disappointing - dishes not quite as described on the menu. Breakfasts were first class.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony & Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Tony & Liz S

Thank you so much for your kind words shared with the TripAdvisor community.

Please let me know which menu you had so that we can have a look at it and sort out any problems that there might be, you can contact me directly on lodge@forestferns.co.za.

We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards and best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Fernery was a great experience, we stayed in a chalet (in the forest it was called) that was lovely. The hotel was quite empty when we were there which was nice but took away from the atmosphere at breakfast etc. The staff were helpful most of the time except for when we aced about doing to dolphin trail without a guide, which they stated was not possible. We were disappointed because that was the main resin we stayed there. After we had run out of days we found out it would have been quite easy to do if someone could have showed us the start point for the trail. All in all though the hotel was very nice and value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rusty2036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Rusty2036

Thank you for your valuable comments to TripAdvisor, we are happy that your overall experience was a good one.

The Dolphin Trail is a partnership between Sanparks (Garden Route National Park), Misty Mountain Reserve and The Fernery Lodge & Chalets. By law no hikers are allowed to walk this trail without a guide because the trail runs through Sanparks property. It is therefore impossible for day hikers to walk the Dolphin Trail which is not a marked hike and is part of a wilderness area, as they will be trespassing on private property. As equal partners in this trail, we have a contractual obligation to abide by these rules.

We regret any misunderstanding that there may have been about walking the Dolphin Trail on your own.

The Dolphin Trail is however not the only hike available in our area and many day hikes can be taken at GRNP and in Storms River Village…

We hope that you will return to South Africa and our beautiful area to enjoy the 3 day all inclusive Dolphin Trail Hike, information can be found on www.info@dolphintrail.co.za .

Kind regards and best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
3.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
700 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
903 reviews
8.1 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
262 reviews
8.0 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
399 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tsitsikamma Manor
Tsitsikamma Manor
#4 of 5 in Storms River
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Address: Forest Ferns Estate | Bluelilies Bush, Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: £116 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets situated above a 30m waterfall with breathtaking views of the river gorge is the perfect romantic and peaceful getaway for natural lovers. The luxurious and opulent rooms in the lodge and the private chalets are each tastefully decorated with every effort made to ensure our guests' comfort. Each unit has a unique theme inspired by the magnificent surroundings. Start your day with a hearty breakfast and end off with a wander through the wine cellar where you can select a bottle of your choice before heading up to experience excellent cuisine in our plush diningroom with its special ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing