We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat in the middle of nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A treat in the middle of nature”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent a marvelous time in one of the chalet , as we were travelling with our two children. We love the scenery the garden and the peaceful atmosphere. The staff was so nice , at the same time very pleasant , helpful and very professional. The restaurant and the living room were set in a pleasant building with breathtaking views , with cosy rooms and fireplace. The food was delicious and varied, the breakfast excellent quality and plentiful. We enjoyed the 2 jaccuzzis and the 2 swimming pools. The chalet where we were staying enjoyed a nice view with a terrace and was spacious and made of pretty wood. There was a nice kitchen we did not use and a pleasant bathroom, the children had their own beds in a mezzanine, the bed linen and duvet were so comfy. We actually have nothing wrong to say apart that our stay was too short . We will definitely try to come back. The place is also very nice for couple as there are smaller chalets or double rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    188
    50
    19
    9
See reviews for
156
475
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We loved our time at The Fernery. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Having a jaccuzi at night under the stars was a treat. The chalet was very spacious and comfortable. The meals we had in the restaurant were excellent, we commend the chef. Thanks for an exceptionally restful weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laurian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the lodge in one of the honeymoon suites (Aquarius). It was so tranquil, with an amazing view, food and hospitality. The was not as private, but all in all great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were tired after a day of travel and arrived late and ravenous. The road from the N2 to Fernery Lodge is difficult and the directions were slightly unclear. We were shown into the most beautiful rooms, tastefully decorated and with unbelievable views. We asked whether there was any way we could eat at the lodge that evening and were told there was Dinner. This was a wonderful meal, beautifully prepared and served and very well priced. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic Of The Congo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We (wife, her parents, 7-months old daughter and me) were on the Garden Route trip. First stop over was in Storms River. We made a chalet our home for an evening.
Point 1: Please be awarte that different Chalets have different views. Each chalet has its unique name. The more South the better the view, but also the louder the river.
Point 2: The Braaj option for 180 Rand/person is super! All necessary elements are provided. The service was very friendly and making our stay perfect.

If you do the Garden Route, then we recommend the stay in the Fernery L&C.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SwissMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I booked a 2 luxury family chalet for myself, husband and 12 year old son and what we got was a lot more!!
The chalet was huge and magnificent with a kitchen dining area in the centre and then 2 bedrooms either side, both with ensuites....perfect for a family or 2 couples travelling together.
They were super clean and cosy and absolute luxury to sleep in as beds were really comfy. All the full size folding windows/doors open onto a patio area with private dip pool, sunbeds and braai ( BBQ).
Food can be either ordered for the braai to cook yourself or at the restaurant. 2 nights we ordered braai and got huge steaks with lovely salad/ vegetables and the last night we ate at the restaurant, which had wonderful food and excellent service.
The view from the lodge is magnificent, overlooking the gorge but what was amazing was the speed a sea mist came in....the gorge and forest opposite disappeared in about 5 minutes max- spooky!!
The Fernery reception area is the only wifi area but you can sit amongst water pools and cool ferns whilst emailing....you should be on holiday not emailing anyway ;-) !!!
The owner was lovely to chat to and very keen that we should be happy with our stay and I even got to soothe my animal loneliness with her magnificent cat, Tom.
Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcxz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The location and setting of The Fernery is amazing if you like being in the middle of nature. It is next to a river / waterfall with a view over the ocean, but quite far away from the main street and other places and you need to travel quite far along a gravel / dirt road to get there.
We stayed in the cottages (Loerie / Galjouen?) which offered great viewes over the gorge and the ocean. The cottages were very clean with a rustic but charming look, especially the bathrooms and the fireplaces which could be lit in the evenings and added to this romantic nature experience. The pool and jacuzzi also looked very nice, but we did not use it.
The dinner and breakfast were great, too, although dinner was a bit pricy.

Room Tip: Loerie cottage is the closest to the main lodge and offers a great view over the gorge / ocean from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Storms River hotels
3.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
8.1 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
8.2 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
8.0 mi away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#3 of 5 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Property: The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Address: Forest Ferns Estate | Bluelilies Bush, Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets situated above a 30m waterfall with breathtaking views of the river gorge is the perfect romantic and peaceful getaway for natural lovers. The luxurious and opulent rooms in the lodge and the private chalets are each tastefully decorated with every effort made to ensure our guests' comfort. Each unit has a unique theme inspired by the magnificent surroundings. Start your day with a hearty breakfast and end off with a wander through the wine cellar where you can select a bottle of your choice before heading up to experience excellent cuisine in our plush diningroom with its special ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing