We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view par excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Although I've never had the privilege to stay over at the Fernery, I have taken all my guests out to see this magnificent-one-of-a-kind-place! The views are to die for and don't miss the guided tour through the nursery and the pack house of the working farm side of this truly inspiring place! A lovely day visit and all my visitors fall in love with it instantly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank LoekieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear LoekieH
Thank you for your visits you and your visitors are always welcome. I do feel that to really get the full effect you need to stay a night or two. Please feel free to make a booking E-Mail reservations@forestferns.co.za and let your dreams come true. Yes it is worth doing the tour through the working Fernery. Thank you for your wonderful review

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Small recommendations, to put aditional antenna up for cell phone reception at the lodge for Vodacom and MTN so that I can use it for Business trips as well and rusks in the room for every mornings coffee.
Out of a value proposition you Restaurant's menu is overpriced by 15 to 20% Otherwise a great experience!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Anton Knoetze
Thank you for your feedback, regarding the cell phone reception we are putting up a booster system this weekend to see if this will boost the cell phone reception down at the lodge and you would not have to drive up to reception to the WIFI hot spot. With regards to the Menu the new Food & Beverage and Restaurant manager is changing the menu to A La Carte with a Chefs special menu every day so this will bring the price more in line.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in chalet 10 on bb basis. Very nice deck and tranquil setting. Rooms very nice, spacious and clean. Breakfast was great. The lodge lacks good service. On the friday night we found our toiletpaper refill box was empty when we phoned reception at 08h30 pm to ask to send us, nobody answered the call. The saturday our chalet was never serviced. We ordered the picnic lunch at the viewing deck, when we arrived at the deck on time, the dirty plates and glasses from guests who took the picnic lunch the previous day was still on the table. We waited for a while and when nobody came we had to call to ask if someone was still coming with our picnic, which then arrived 15 minutes later. The lodge was disappointing for a four star.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaDup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear TanyaPetzold

Thank you for your review with regards to the Reception not answering the phone we have now changed the shift so that reception is open till 10pm. With regards to the picnic deck the staff was on their way to clear the deck as the guest that where there before you had called to say they were finished. Rooms do not get cleaned if a Do Not Disturb sign is up, it could have been the wind that moved the sign and this could have confused the housekeepers. I feel with the changes that we have started you will be very impressed the next time you visit. I do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced once again.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I stopped here for one night on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. We really wished we had stayed another night so we could have had a full day to take everything in. Everyone we encountered was very welcoming. We had booked the honeymoon lodge suite, but due to some type of construction, they instead put us in a luxury lodge suite, which I am sure was just as magnificent - it was a giant room with a giant bathroom with huge windows and deck overlooking the river and waterfalls down below. There was a bottle of champagne with rose petals waiting for us! The dinner was great, as was the included breakfast. The only one minor drawback was the long bumpy drive on the gravel road on the way to the lodge, which we had been warned about ahead of time through other reviews, so it really wasn't too terribly bad - you just need to know about it.
Overall, this was an excellent place to stop, and out of all the places we stayed on our honeymoon, we really wished we had stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Thomas S

Thank you for the feedback on your stay and we totally agree that just one night’s stay is not enough you must book again on our winter special stay for 3 nights but only pay for 2 and we will include a Picnic on your 3rd day, plus we will make your stay a more memorable one than your honeymoon
The road is unfortunately an ongoing headache and we are in the process of grading it again and filling in the major holes, so on your next visit it will be smoother driving.

Gracious Regards

Peter Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

After driving on a dirty Road we didnt expect a such comfortable and luxuriös hotel. The Star we had was exzellent, wonderful Roms, excellent and competent Service, the breakfast and dinners were also exzellent! We decided to enjoy this exzellent House once again in the next years!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kurt & Getraud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Kurt & Gertrude G.

Thank you for the wonderful review. I do agree once you leave the dirt road you are in heaven. The new Food and Beverage and restaurant manager has changed the whole menu I am sure the next time you will be in for a surprise hope to see you soon.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Perfect in all respects. Wonderful view, luxurious accommodation, charming staff, and a great view. The staff are always at hand but never intrusive. The wood fire is a blessing on those cold winder nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Gillian S
Yes the fire place is a nice blessing on a cold winter’s night just to relax and meditate, thank you for wonderful words regarding the staff I will let them know.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Fernery Lodge was the first stop for my wife and I on our journed from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. We had just had a busy few days (a wedding to attend and then a few days Safari) so the intention was to use the Fernery as a place to relax for 2 days before continuing on our journey. We found the lodge therefore the perfect place to do this.

We stayed in the Alikreukal Chalet which was nicely furnished, clean and warm. We used the wood burner to warm the place up as the day we were there it rained a lot so it was nice to have the fire going. There are some seats in the room so were relaxed in the chalet. They also do a nice service of delivering a meal to the chalet which we made use of on the second evening.

The food we had was wonderful. The meals were well presented and the service was really good too. The eating area is quite small so I can see why you need to book early.

The road into the area is quite long and especially in a hire car we did feel a bit nervous to avoid any large holes. The road feels worse than it is though but we were happy to not leave the area on the second day and just took a walk locally and then relaxed at the lodge. It's a forestry area so the road isn't the responsibility of the lodge so it is just something to be aware of before you arrive.

There is no wi-fi in the rooms which is a little bit frustrating but also quite nice as you will put down your gadgets and relax.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexMacdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear AlexMacdd

I am happy to see you enjoyed Alikreukal Chalet, its also one of my favourite. Yes the road is a bit bumpy but once here Heaven awaits you. With regards to WIFI there is a WIFI area at reception we are in the process of boosting the celular range so service will be available at the pool area soon. I am so happy you had a relaxing stay hope to see you soon.
Gracious Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
3.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
728 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
942 reviews
8.1 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
277 reviews
8.0 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
410 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tsitsikamma Manor
Tsitsikamma Manor
#4 of 5 in Storms River
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Address: Forest Ferns Estate | Bluelilies Bush, Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: £121 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets situated above a 30m waterfall with breathtaking views of the river gorge is the perfect romantic and peaceful getaway for natural lovers. The luxurious and opulent rooms in the lodge and the private chalets are each tastefully decorated with every effort made to ensure our guests' comfort. Each unit has a unique theme inspired by the magnificent surroundings. Start your day with a hearty breakfast and end off with a wander through the wine cellar where you can select a bottle of your choice before heading up to experience excellent cuisine in our plush diningroom with its special ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing