We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best long weekend ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hi.Anton and Anna-Marie from Port Elizabeth.We decided to spend a long weekend away from home and searched for a place nearby.We searched the net and found The Fernery Lodge and decided to try.And what a surprice.Everthing was just wonderful.The rooms are big enough for 5 people,the bathroom,wonderful,you can actually sleep in the shower if you want to.From the two Managers,Barry and Peter,who you can spend hours with,to the staff,was just great to spend time with.We could not go on the picnic drive because we got rained out,but the picnic basket was served in our room and it was awesome.The gravel road to the lodge is not that bad as i was driving my Bakkie.The location,views,food,people,rooms,ect.ect.is really great.We want to thank all the people we met for a fab weekend,and we will see you again.This time for longer than 3 nights.Fantastic

Room Tip: Room No.3.Waterfall view.Only our opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 714anton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Anton and Anna-Marie

Thank you for the magnificent review. You are welcome back any time you are now family of The Fernery Lodge and Chalets. I will let all the staff know that they are doing a wonderful job. This is our mission to have a large extended happy family. We enjoyed your company.

Gracious Regards

Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

A truly delightful experience - splendid location, fantastic service and staff, romantic ambiance, privacy and rustic spacious accommodation - the well-prepared hamper for our barbeque/braai was indeed impressive - a MUST return establishment!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marlumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Marlumus
Thank you for such kind and encouraging words. All I can say is welcome to our family and feel free to visit again as a new found family member.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Fernery lodge for 3 nights in the B&B Chalet, which was very enjoyable. The dinner and the service were exellent. The lady in the restaurant was very anxious in her service as well in helping us with the internet axxess.
The last day was no breakfast buffet and it was a bit poor.
The front office was more oriented in there processes instead of being focused on customers, but overall we would visit it another time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AngelsSFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear AngelesSFB

Thank you for your review. Sorry you felt the breakfast was poor but regards to the cold buffet we do not put out one if there are only two guests in the Lodge. I do apologise that this was not explained to you, and that the full cold buffet was on offer plated from the kitchen all you needed to do was to request it from the waitress. The hot breakfast menu was on offer as well. With regards to the Wifi /internet we have installed one in the pool room just off the Lodge. Please feel free to visit again and see the changes we have made.

Gracious Regards

Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Although I've never had the privilege to stay over at the Fernery, I have taken all my guests out to see this magnificent-one-of-a-kind-place! The views are to die for and don't miss the guided tour through the nursery and the pack house of the working farm side of this truly inspiring place! A lovely day visit and all my visitors fall in love with it instantly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank LoekieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear LoekieH
Thank you for your visits you and your visitors are always welcome. I do feel that to really get the full effect you need to stay a night or two. Please feel free to make a booking E-Mail reservations@forestferns.co.za and let your dreams come true. Yes it is worth doing the tour through the working Fernery. Thank you for your wonderful review

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Small recommendations, to put aditional antenna up for cell phone reception at the lodge for Vodacom and MTN so that I can use it for Business trips as well and rusks in the room for every mornings coffee.
Out of a value proposition you Restaurant's menu is overpriced by 15 to 20% Otherwise a great experience!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Anton Knoetze
Thank you for your feedback, regarding the cell phone reception we are putting up a booster system this weekend to see if this will boost the cell phone reception down at the lodge and you would not have to drive up to reception to the WIFI hot spot. With regards to the Menu the new Food & Beverage and Restaurant manager is changing the menu to A La Carte with a Chefs special menu every day so this will bring the price more in line.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in chalet 10 on bb basis. Very nice deck and tranquil setting. Rooms very nice, spacious and clean. Breakfast was great. The lodge lacks good service. On the friday night we found our toiletpaper refill box was empty when we phoned reception at 08h30 pm to ask to send us, nobody answered the call. The saturday our chalet was never serviced. We ordered the picnic lunch at the viewing deck, when we arrived at the deck on time, the dirty plates and glasses from guests who took the picnic lunch the previous day was still on the table. We waited for a while and when nobody came we had to call to ask if someone was still coming with our picnic, which then arrived 15 minutes later. The lodge was disappointing for a four star.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaDup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear TanyaPetzold

Thank you for your review with regards to the Reception not answering the phone we have now changed the shift so that reception is open till 10pm. With regards to the picnic deck the staff was on their way to clear the deck as the guest that where there before you had called to say they were finished. Rooms do not get cleaned if a Do Not Disturb sign is up, it could have been the wind that moved the sign and this could have confused the housekeepers. I feel with the changes that we have started you will be very impressed the next time you visit. I do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced once again.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I stopped here for one night on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. We really wished we had stayed another night so we could have had a full day to take everything in. Everyone we encountered was very welcoming. We had booked the honeymoon lodge suite, but due to some type of construction, they instead put us in a luxury lodge suite, which I am sure was just as magnificent - it was a giant room with a giant bathroom with huge windows and deck overlooking the river and waterfalls down below. There was a bottle of champagne with rose petals waiting for us! The dinner was great, as was the included breakfast. The only one minor drawback was the long bumpy drive on the gravel road on the way to the lodge, which we had been warned about ahead of time through other reviews, so it really wasn't too terribly bad - you just need to know about it.
Overall, this was an excellent place to stop, and out of all the places we stayed on our honeymoon, we really wished we had stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Thomas S

Thank you for the feedback on your stay and we totally agree that just one night’s stay is not enough you must book again on our winter special stay for 3 nights but only pay for 2 and we will include a Picnic on your 3rd day, plus we will make your stay a more memorable one than your honeymoon
The road is unfortunately an ongoing headache and we are in the process of grading it again and filling in the major holes, so on your next visit it will be smoother driving.

Gracious Regards

Peter Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
3.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
726 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
940 reviews
8.1 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
277 reviews
8.0 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
410 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tsitsikamma Manor
Tsitsikamma Manor
#4 of 5 in Storms River
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Address: Forest Ferns Estate | Bluelilies Bush, Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: £122 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets situated above a 30m waterfall with breathtaking views of the river gorge is the perfect romantic and peaceful getaway for natural lovers. The luxurious and opulent rooms in the lodge and the private chalets are each tastefully decorated with every effort made to ensure our guests' comfort. Each unit has a unique theme inspired by the magnificent surroundings. Start your day with a hearty breakfast and end off with a wander through the wine cellar where you can select a bottle of your choice before heading up to experience excellent cuisine in our plush diningroom with its special ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing