We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only I could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

What a gem! I almost cancelled the east of my work trip. I stayed in unit 1, spectacular. Superbly appointed, great bathroom and a wonderful view from the balcony. The area is so beautiful, it's worth making this your base - there is so much to see and do in the immediate area, I reckon 3-4 nights would be perfect.
The lodge is about 8km from the main road, the sand road is suitable for all cars.
The food from the restaurant was excellent, I had the Cream of Beef Soup starter (I'd go back for this alone - it's amazing) and the Bean Curry for main, yum! Breakfast was great too, and with the view you have who wouldn't enjoy it.
I'm going back, guaranteed!
I took a walk around in the morning, the log cabin units are lovely looking over the gorge, Loerie has the best view of them all (see my pic).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Dave W

It is always nice to hear from our guests (extended family now) how there stay was. True you do need more than one day here not only for the sites in the area but also the wonderful walking /bike routes on the property not to mention the wonderful bird and plant life. The Food and Beverage manager Barry will be happy to know you enjoyed the food which he lovingly trained the chefs to cook.
We hope to see you soon.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a beautiful and tranquil retreat a world away from the bustle and hustle.

We booked two chalets which were spacious and well-decked out with kitchenette, fridge, BBQ deck, fireplace...etc. It was very cold so it was nice to find electrical blankets in one of the chalet but we had to wonder why not both. Driving out to eat is not practical so prepare for self-catering or eat at its restaurant. The restaurant was cosy, warm and sits on a cliff with a stunning view in the daylight. The menu was small but well designed and skilfully cooked. The service was very good and friendly but it wasn't busy.

Breakfast was served in the same restaurant and what a sight in the morning. The quality of the included breakfast was top notch- good coffee, fresh fruits, soft bread and croissant...etc.

There is free Wifi but only near the pool room and reception area and only few locations around the property offered cell phone reception so don't expect good connectivity to the outside world. There was no cell phone reception near any of our chalets.

If you have a few nights to spare, this is the right place to unwind and take it easy. However, if you're rushing from place to place and only have one night, the isolated location and the 10-15 km of dirty road driving will take up considerable time and energy, which was our case.

Will visit again if we get a chance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leon_ohyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Leon_ohyeah

Thank you for your review. Firstly I would like to apologise with regards to the electric blanket that was our fault for not equipping the second room, but for future reference dial 109 my extension and we will sort out any small issues like this.
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets is the right places to unwind and forget about your daily stress, here you relax and enjoy the view and being pampered. The next time you visit you come as part of our extended family.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at The Fernery. The instructions on how to get there was excellent. The trip through the forest, then suddenly coming out onto a brilliant green field full of cows was lovely! The location is amazing. We initially booked a small chalet Loerie, but discovered there was no TV and this happened to be in the middle of the Soccer World Cup. We did not feel like sitting in the communal TV room so we asked to move to another (larger) chalet that had a TV. This was Jacana - beautifully done. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LDR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear LDR2014

I am so glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your request. We hope to see you soon as you are now part of our extended family.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed in one of the rooms, and my traveling cohort stayed together in a chalet. The cabin was a bit more rustic, but we enjoyed grilling our own meats and hanging out in the jacuzzi afterwards. My room was spacious and clean, with a view over the gorge.

Service was great, food was good (I only had breakfast there). Highlight of the trip was sitting on the porch overlooking the cliff and the ocean, drinking a cup of coffee and watching a pod of humpback whales breaching in the distance. Sublime.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear John T

So true seeing a pod of whales, having a cup of coffee. Life just can’t get better. Thank you for your stay and we hope to see you soon.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were sent to The Fennery as a gift from our daughters and we did not know what to expect. What a super suprise. The service and attention to detail which we received was fantastic. What a magical spot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Helen L

Thank you for your wonderful review. We try to make you feel as comfortable as possible I am so glad to see we are getting it right. You are now part of the family and we hope to see you soon.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed there June 8, 2014. The road to the Fernery is a logging road so has plenty of potholes but it is worth it. It was low season so there were very few people there. We chose the option of braii for dinner that night which they cooked for us at the patio area by the pool. It was very good - we especially enjoyed a vegetable casserole that accompanied the meat part. The braii preparer cooked the food and left us to enjoy it underneath the stars. The views of waterfalls and the river to the sea were beautiful during the light and enjoyable to listen to the sound of water in the dark. The breakfast was beautifully presented-I had never had strawberry juice which to me was like dessert in a glass, yum! Our room, though it did not look over the river was comfortable--there was a view from the bathtub area though if that is important to you. We enjoyed the indoor garden at check-in building that had different ferns and plantings they are growing for sale. Check-in area was the only place with wifi if that is also important. It was nice to check email but did not miss it in the room or hotel area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texaslake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear texaslake

We always love feedback from our guest thank you for your review.
We try to make our guests feel at home and preparing and braaiing for you is just one of the many ways we try to make your stay more comfortable. The Strawberry juice is one of our most popular juices and yes it is like dessert in a glass. Yes the Fernery at reception is a nursery as well and all your plant requirements cane be purchased there. We now have a limited WIFI and Cell phone reception down by the pool room where you braaied. We hope to see you soon.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend booked their winter special for 3 nights on a cold and rainy weekend. The location is fantastic and just breath taking. The house is cosy and comfortable with fire spaces dotted around. Barry was fantastic, making hot toddys for my bf wig had a terrible cold.
We would love to return in the summer. Stunning place and good food.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank L0nd0nGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear LOndOn Genie

Thank you for your review.
The fire place with a roaring fire on a cold winter’s day does make you cosy and feel like you are at home. I hope your Boy Friend is better, Barry has always a solution to colds and flu’s, his Hot Toddy is one of his well-kept secrets like all good Chefs he keeps them close to his chest. You are more than welcome to come back in the summer you are now family. Please if you would like to make a booking send a mail to reservations@forest ferns.co.za .

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
3.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
734 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
951 reviews
3.3 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
415 reviews
8 mi away
Swallows Nest Country Cottages
Swallows Nest Country Cottages
#5 of 12 in Storms River
153 reviews
8.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#2 of 12 in Storms River
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Address: Forest Ferns Estate | Bluelilies Bush, Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: £124 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets situated above a 30m waterfall with breathtaking views of the river gorge is the perfect romantic and peaceful getaway for natural lovers. The luxurious and opulent rooms in the lodge and the private chalets are each tastefully decorated with every effort made to ensure our guests' comfort. Each unit has a unique theme inspired by the magnificent surroundings. Start your day with a hearty breakfast and end off with a wander through the wine cellar where you can select a bottle of your choice before heading up to experience excellent cuisine in our plush diningroom with its special ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing