We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a stop in the Garden Route” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a stop in the Garden Route”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I wanted to break away for a weekend and I remembered hearing about The Fernery from friends. Our only concern was that we had a 4 month old infant with us and it was the middle of winter. Well...we stayed in their chalets-definitly a must. The chalets have heaters and a lovely fireplace which we used every night therefore the cold never bothered us as we were nice and toasty on the inside. It's nice and secluded and the walk to the breakfast area always put my son to sleep-we could stroll him there. We also made use of the restaurant at night. The price for a main meal was around R140. We also had a picnic on their sundowner deck-lovely view and good food. There is lots to do-hiking, mountain biking and even paddle skies to keep one busy. We are definitely going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Celeste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Celeste B

The fire places in the room do make the chalets nice and cosy during the winter months, one can just curl up and relax reading a good book or just relaxing. The Sundowner deck is one of our Picnic spots and one may see a whale or two if one is lucky. Now that you are part of our extended family we hope to see you soon again please e-mail us on reservations@forestferns.co.za with all your requirements.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    180
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
151
454
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at The Fernery at the beginning of April. It was the last night of our fantastic South Africa holiday so we decided to splash out and stay here... it was worth it. What really sells the place is the setting - it's beyond stunning. Set right on the cliffs of the coast, we had breakfast overlooking a waterfall, cliffs and the ocean. The rooms are luxurious and the grounds are a must to walk around. It's a bit off the beaten track so you might want to think twice if you want to do lots of day to day exploring... as it's a good 15 minutes down a dirt track to get there. We were also lucky enough to meet the owner who told us about the hotel's history - she was so welcoming. We were a gay couple who encountered no problems here. Oh.. and there's a jacuzzi overlooking the gorge. Stunning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Steve H.

Thank you for your review. The view from the restaurant is breath-taking, just this morning we saw a southern Right Whale breach the water and its whole body was out, we are so privileged to work in an environment like this. The owners are a wonderful couple and love to part the history of the place to guests. Yes the two Jacuzzi’s are a plus and the views from them are amazing. Now that you are part of our extended family we hope to welcome you back soon.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic venue for Christmas in July - the combination of the Fernery food and wines from Winezani made for a brilliant evening.
The Fernery has fantastic views from rooms that are tastefully furnished. The views of the gorge and sea from various vantage points makes this place a great place to relax and experience the power of nature.
Staff all very friendly - will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ADBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear ADBarr

Christmas in July was wonderful. I was privileged to be one of the guests and I felt like a king my staff was well dressed and the service was great. It’s good some times to be the guest and see how we as a team work, and we are on the right track. Now that you are part of our extended family we can’t wait to see you again.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the wooden chalets and it is just perfect for a secluded break.The bath and shower has private forest views and the fireplace in the room made it cosy.Sadly I was quite unwell during our stay so did not try the amazing jacuzzi and I really wanted too.Restaurant portions were huge and the food good.My husband had the ostrich steak and rated it highly. no phone reception in the chalets which made it even nicer.You can truly relax and forget about the real world

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank meyer-els
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear meyer-els

I know the Barry the Food and Beverage and restaurant manager will be happy to hear you enjoyed the Ostrich it’s one of his favourite meats. We hope to see you soon now that you part of the extended family, this time I hope you will be health and fit for the Jacuzzi.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Fantastic place to stay!! Food in the restaurant not good, though... Ordered a sole for dinner but it was way too salty! Totally inedible. Lasagne also dry and calamari tough.... Otherwise "amost" 5-star!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zahnre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Zahnre P

I am so sorry to hear your food was not edible. I have spoken to the Food and Beverage and restaurant manager and he has re looked at the recipes and has changed the way they prepare the food. We hope to see you soon and welcome you back with the sumptuous new menu.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was an absolutely fabulous experience. This was our second time at the Fernery. Everything is well thought of - from sign posting from main road, the welcome, the upmarket furnishings and above all the service. Its a little piece of heaven where even my teenage daughters forgot that they did not have use of their smartphones. There is a trail for everyone 3.5km, 8km, 25km.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Aaron N

The trails are a wonderful way of seeing our huge amount of bird and plant life in the area. I am so glad your daughters were able to forget about their cell phones here we try to make you forget about the outside world even if just for a day. We hope to see you soon.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

what an experience!
Great stay!
Your staff is very friendly and extremely accommodating!
Awesome views and a wonderful experience overall.
Recommended for a great family stay and time for relaxing.
Thanks, will be back for more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear JohanH

We are so glad you had a wonderful stay. I will let the staff know that they are doing a good job. Now that you part of our extended family we hope to see you soon.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Storms River hotels
4704.4 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
4703.8 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
4703.7 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge
Armagh Country Lodge
#3 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4703.8 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
4703.7 mi away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#2 of 5 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
4703.8 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#3 of 13 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Property: The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Address: Forest Ferns Estate | Bluelilies Bush, Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets situated above a 30m waterfall with breathtaking views of the river gorge, is the perfect romantic and peaceful getaway. The luxurious and opulent rooms in the lodge and the private chalets are each tastefully decorated with every effort made to ensure our guests' comfort. Each unit has a unique theme inspired by the magnificent surroundings. Start your day with a hearty breakfast and end off with a wander through the wine cellar where you can select a bottle of your choice before heading up to our plush diningroom with its special ambiance, and experience excellent cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing