We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The Fernery is meant for people who are looking for something quite and peaceful but for people who love buzz this is just not for you. There is no service or WiFi and it's very hard to find as it's located far off.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaHerowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear ChristinaHerowitz

I am so sorry to hear you were not happy. The Fernery Lodge and Chalets is a place to relax and just have me time so yes if you are looking for a buzz this is not the place. We do have WIFI at the reception area and a limited WIFI access at the pool area. I hope you will pop in to have a look when you are in the area.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Managed to spoil my wife on her birthday. Excellent food, excellent accommodation and beautiful views. The staff is friendly. Good place to get away. Not much network reception except for the reception area. It was good for me I wasn't tempted to work

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank farasein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear farasein

I am so glad you were able to celebrate your wife’s birthday. I see you were not tempted to work I am happy to hear. The Fernery Lodge and Chalets is a place to relax and find yourself again on one of our many walks we have on the property. Now that you are part of the extended family we hope to welcome you back.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A beautifully tranquil spot in an incredible setting. We stayed in the middle of May and it was relatively quiet which is exactly what we were looking for plus we got lucky with the weather which always helped. We were originally booked for 1 night but on arrival we immediately decided to take advantage of the 3 nights for the price of 2 offer and didn't regret it. We stayed in a chalet which was built in to the cliff side with an amazing bathroom that could discretely open up to the elements and a large deck which was perfect for the braais that were provided by the hotel. Special mention to Barry who went the extra mile to make our stay an absolute pleasure, we particularly liked being given our own fern which was planted in the hotel grounds. Every hotel should have a Barry. The only slight reservation was the 6k drive on a very bumpy road to get there but the Fernery made even that worthwhile. Wonderfully relaxing after a long journey from London and excellent food and wine

Room Tip: All chalets are excellent with boutique Lodge rooms available too. You will not be disappointed with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henrik1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Henrik 1888

We are so pleased to hear from you and find out that the place is relaxing that is what we have tried to achieve a place to escape the outside world with no interruptions from your cell phone and e-mails but all can still be done in the WIFI Area up at reception. I will let Barry know what you say about him and yes he is an asset to the company. We hope to see you soon again now that you are part of the extended family.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Magical place to stay. Very satisfied with accommodation (suite). Would like to stay in chalets next time.. Found meal portions too big and a bit pricy. Will definitely go back if travelling that way. No cell / internet connections in hotel a bit of a problem for me as a businessman.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 140Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear 140Brian

Its always nice to hear from our guests. We do have free Internet at the reception I know it’s a bit of a walk but when one is on holiday one must relax and forget about the outside world. Please feel free to make a booking with Felicity reservations@forestferns.co.za and request the chalets they all have a fireplace for the cold winter nights.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I wanted to break away for a weekend and I remembered hearing about The Fernery from friends. Our only concern was that we had a 4 month old infant with us and it was the middle of winter. Well...we stayed in their chalets-definitly a must. The chalets have heaters and a lovely fireplace which we used every night therefore the cold never bothered us as we were nice and toasty on the inside. It's nice and secluded and the walk to the breakfast area always put my son to sleep-we could stroll him there. We also made use of the restaurant at night. The price for a main meal was around R140. We also had a picnic on their sundowner deck-lovely view and good food. There is lots to do-hiking, mountain biking and even paddle skies to keep one busy. We are definitely going back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Celeste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Celeste B

The fire places in the room do make the chalets nice and cosy during the winter months, one can just curl up and relax reading a good book or just relaxing. The Sundowner deck is one of our Picnic spots and one may see a whale or two if one is lucky. Now that you are part of our extended family we hope to see you soon again please e-mail us on reservations@forestferns.co.za with all your requirements.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at The Fernery at the beginning of April. It was the last night of our fantastic South Africa holiday so we decided to splash out and stay here... it was worth it. What really sells the place is the setting - it's beyond stunning. Set right on the cliffs of the coast, we had breakfast overlooking a waterfall, cliffs and the ocean. The rooms are luxurious and the grounds are a must to walk around. It's a bit off the beaten track so you might want to think twice if you want to do lots of day to day exploring... as it's a good 15 minutes down a dirt track to get there. We were also lucky enough to meet the owner who told us about the hotel's history - she was so welcoming. We were a gay couple who encountered no problems here. Oh.. and there's a jacuzzi overlooking the gorge. Stunning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Steve H.

Thank you for your review. The view from the restaurant is breath-taking, just this morning we saw a southern Right Whale breach the water and its whole body was out, we are so privileged to work in an environment like this. The owners are a wonderful couple and love to part the history of the place to guests. Yes the two Jacuzzi’s are a plus and the views from them are amazing. Now that you are part of our extended family we hope to welcome you back soon.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic venue for Christmas in July - the combination of the Fernery food and wines from Winezani made for a brilliant evening.
The Fernery has fantastic views from rooms that are tastefully furnished. The views of the gorge and sea from various vantage points makes this place a great place to relax and experience the power of nature.
Staff all very friendly - will definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ADBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSchmidt1, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear ADBarr

Christmas in July was wonderful. I was privileged to be one of the guests and I felt like a king my staff was well dressed and the service was great. It’s good some times to be the guest and see how we as a team work, and we are on the right track. Now that you are part of our extended family we can’t wait to see you again.

Gracious Regards
Peter Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
3.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
734 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
951 reviews
3.3 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
415 reviews
8 mi away
Swallows Nest Country Cottages
Swallows Nest Country Cottages
#5 of 12 in Storms River
153 reviews
8.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#3 of 12 in Storms River
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Address: Forest Ferns Estate | Bluelilies Bush, Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: £123 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets situated above a 30m waterfall with breathtaking views of the river gorge is the perfect romantic and peaceful getaway for natural lovers. The luxurious and opulent rooms in the lodge and the private chalets are each tastefully decorated with every effort made to ensure our guests' comfort. Each unit has a unique theme inspired by the magnificent surroundings. Start your day with a hearty breakfast and end off with a wander through the wine cellar where you can select a bottle of your choice before heading up to experience excellent cuisine in our plush diningroom with its special ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing