We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity”
Review of Serenity Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serenity Retreat
Somerset West
2 reviews
“Serenity”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The accommodation was very pleasant and met all my needs.
I would like to make the following 2 suggestions:
1. In summer that there is a fan in the rondawel.
2. That a kettle and coffee/tea making equipment is supplied in the rondawels. The kitchen is very well equiped, but first thing in the morning before dressing, most people would like to be able to make a cup of tea / coffee. At the moment, guests have to get dressed to go out to the kitchen to make the tea / coffee.
These are not meant as critisms - merely suggestions.
The hostess is extremely friendly and helpful and thank you VERY much for accommodating me as a single traveller.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review Serenity Retreat. So glad that we were able to meet your budget concerning a single stay. We do aim to keep our prices low (on a par with Backpacker Lodge Rates) and as such unfortunately we cannot provide certain in-room facilities without compromising these budget rates. Because of the brick and thatch traditional construct of the rooms they normally keep cool in summer and although there is also a small fan in the rooms - in the oppressive heat we have expereienced this year I think that fully charged Aircon would struggle! Most certainly if it is repeated next year we will invest in bigger or ceiling fans! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    42
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We really enjoyed our short stay at this guesthouse.
We particularly appreciated the hints on places to visit and eat.
The room is no frills but comfortable and has all what you need for a good rest.

Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your Thanks! Hope the remainder of your travels are enjoyable as well. Kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Very nice guest house to stay when you visit Tsitsikama National Park. The rooms are very clean and big enough. The fully equipped kitchen is very useful. I will be glad to introduce this guest house to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Serenity House - we are glad you and your family felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. Kitty and the two Staffies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My two kids (6 and 8), an old friend of mine and me stayed for 3 nights in the two beautiful African style bungalows. It was fantastic to also have access to a very nice and well equipped kitchen and a living room (with TV and children's channel!!!) in an extra hut just behind the bungalows.Our host Kitty was an excellent travel guide: every morning she gave us the weather forecast (which was actually true) and suggested tours. Kitty made everything possible, she even helped me out with a tricky IT problem!!! Thanks Kitty, we will be back soon!!! :-) Sophie, Jochen, Alex and Jessie

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jessie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Jessie

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. We certainly hope to see you and the children again in the not too distant future for more fun in the forest! So glad you felt at home; that is the atmosphere we want for our guests.

Kitty and the furry ones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Danny and felt immediately welcome. We were four friends and we each had our own room - Serenity House. It was like the rooms was especially prepared for each us according to our own likings. We were close to the Tstistikamma National Park, which was a bonus.
Serenity Retreat truly did justice to its name. I was a true break away from the hustle and bustle of the city.
Thank you once again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rhona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Doing a Happy Dance at your review! You and your friends brought a spirit of joy, love and laughter to the Tsitsikamma and am glad that Serenity provided you with a place in which to feel relaxed and comfy - sometimes there is a perfect match between place and people and we really hope to see you again for your next "retreat" from the hustle and bustle of city life. Take care - Kitty and Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My family and I had a wonderful one night stay at this charming guesthouse. Hosts Kitty and her husband was warm, friendly and accommodating. It really felt like a home away from home. Even the dogs are friendly!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suraya69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you Suraya for taking the time out on your holidays to write such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to host your family - glad we could give you a homely and pleasant unscheduled stopover in Stormsriver. Hope the rest of your travels are peaceful and fun. Certainly hope to see you again. Kitty, Danny and the Dogs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

we had a great time, everything is close by. We enjoyed our stay at serenity. on our arrival we were given a guide map to show us where everything was located. the rondavels are to die for, we are glad we chose serenity.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nwabisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty F, Owner at Serenity Retreat, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Nwabisa and Friends

So glad you enjoyed yourselves and felt welcome and at home. Would love to see you back in this neck of the woods! Much more yet to see and do.

Kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Storms River hotels
7.8 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
#7 of 12 in Storms River
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#2 of 12 in Storms River
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Retreat

Property: Serenity Retreat
Address: 72 Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serenity Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity Retreat is a relaxed haven for cost conscious independent travellers, families, hikers and Small Groups - an ideal base from which to explore the many aspects of this Amazing Area on the doorstep of the Tsitsikamma National Park. This small owner run establishment has an easy going family atmosphere offers free WIFI, friendly service, tons of travel tips and info. Accommodation is Simple but Stylish - comfortable, clean and affordable and has self catering facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Serenity Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Retreat Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing