We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The (bath) rooms can use a little brush up. Also a two pin wall plug (like in the bathroom for razor) maybe for overseas tourist to charge cellphones. The breakfast choice is excellent. The restaurant menu choice is not ideal but that is a business choice and there aren't many around the hotel. Or we found only one. Otherwise we had a vey good stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sebastian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Good morning Sebastian V,

Trust you're well, and enjoyed your holiday.

Thank you for your feedback. We have 2-point plugs in reception for guests to use in case they do not have. :) Oh, and we are about to change our menu again, so with your next visit, you'll have different choices. :)

The rooms, and the bathrooms, we maintain constantly. Please let me know the room number you stayed in, so I can follow up. Thanks.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    323
    103
    16
    9
See reviews for
207
431
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

had a very nice stay, clean apartment, yummy yummy food at the a la carte restaurant and great service. we enjoyed our time in the village, was an excellent starting point for excursions to the storms river mouth and hiking trails.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good morning Marcus P,

Lovely, so happy to hear! :)

Looking forward to your visiting us again. Have a nice day!

Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

What an GREAT place to stay for a getaway, from the STAFF to the food, I WILL stay at The Village In again 100%.
I would like to say thank you so much to all the GREAT staff at the Hotel for making our stay GREAT, I know I use the word GREAT a lot because it was Really GREAT.

Many Thanx
Frans and Lizelle



  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Frans and Lizelle,

GREAT! :)) Thank you so much for your feedback....wonderful to hear. Now we have an extra spring in our step. :)

Trust you had a GREAT holiday and that your 2014 will be GREAT!! :))

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

A lovely stay in a lovely setting. The service in the restaurant at night needs to improve drastically though. On our 2nd night, we waited half an hour to place our order, another hour to get our food and then the kids order was incorrect. This was followed by an incorrect bill. The service on the 1st evening was also very slow, but not nearly this bad. I strongly recommend the hotel but would advise guest to find an alternative venue for dinner.

I also need to mention that on arrival just after 14h00 there was no key available for our room. I had to ask 3 times until I eventually got a key around 18h00.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Coretha U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Coretha U,

Trust you had a lovely holiday, and that you still are. :)

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. I'm soooo sorry to hear about your 'slow service' experience!! Although it is a bit busier as normal, you definitely should not wait that long....not acceptable. If possible, please let me know the name of the waitron (as well as the front office person) so I can follow both your concerns up.

Once again, my sincere apologies!!

May your 2014 be great.

Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Overall great place. Nice views. We stayed in the albert room-awesome.
Few things to improve -
We came in about 12 noon and ere turned away and told to come at 2. Found this funny and insensitive since we had a child.
There are very few options for vegetarians. Should be more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yashmakharia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Good morning yashmakharia,

Trust you had a lovely holiday.

Thank you for your feedback. 'Standard' check-in time is from 14h00, as we need to get the rooms ready for the next guests checking in. However, if the rooms are ready before 14h00, guests are welcome to check-in earlier. This was difficult this time, as it is in-season and extremely busy. Sorry about that. About the room improvements, this is a constant job, and we try our utmost best to keep up. :)

Wishes for a great 2014.

Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Fairly standard tourist hotel which is very well situated for Tsitsikamma. Good views of the mountains etc. Lots for kids to do, pool table, table tennis, pool etc. Nothing special but a nice place to stop if you want to make use of the local attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltsKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear wiltsKeith,

Trust you're well, and that you're enjoying your holiday.

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear that you do not find our hotel special....we think it is very special and unique. :)

May your 2014 be fantastic!

Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very nice hotel in a great location. We were two families travelling together and everyone enjoyed. The rooms were really large and clean. The breakfast buffet was the best we had on the Garden Route.


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Lynne S,

Hope that you had a lovely New Year's eve and that you had a wonderful holiday.

Thank you, thank you kindly. :)) Big smiles all around.

May your 2014 be awesome! Come visit us again.

Kind regards, Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
7.6 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
4.9 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsitsikamma Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsitsikamma Village Inn

Property: Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Address: Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsitsikamma Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magical country hotel situated in the village of Storms River has been hosting travellers since 1841. The privately owned and managed country hotel consists of 49 village-style rooms, where each cottage is individually decorated to match its specific colonial building style. The main building, which traces its roots back to 1845, has a spacious dining room, incorporating the De Oude Martha Restaurant, the Hunters Pub, Cafe Bacchus and Guest Lounge. Take a journey back in time at our Marilyn’s 60s Diner, a tribute to Marilyn and Elvis with its collection of memorabilia and a menu to match. Right next door, at Tsitsikamma Microbrewery, enjoy one of our selection of Ales, or choose from a variety of other South African craft beers. The hotel is a perfect base to explore the natural beauty and activities of the Tsitsikamma area, close to the Tsitsikamma National Park. The only full service hotel in the area. The Hotel is renowned for its good food, old world charm and has been a favourite for many a year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tsitsikamma Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitsikamma Village Inn Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing