We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used restaurant only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We didn’t actually stay at this lodge, but we did eat in the restaurant. It was over priced and not very good quality food. I had the beef bourguignon which was very tough and my husband ended up eating most of it. The only thing that could be tasted on the dessert was sugar and nothing else.

The host was friendly although at times did seem a trifle bored.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for food as it was over priced and poor quality ingredients were clearly used in some of the dishes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WWT20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuniceB, Owner at Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

I am so very sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience @ Rafters at Armagh Guest house.
We are conducting an investigation into all the things that you have mentioned, and will indeed act upon them, the sugary dessert is a bit of a puzzle...perhaps too sweet custard? The ingredients are the very best sourced locally, and great love and experience goes into the preparation of all our food. However we always appreciate that there is room to grow, and really appreciate these comments ! I hope if you are in the area again you will see fit to come to Rafters , and this time we shall treat you to a complimentary meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have stayed at the Armagh 4 times now and it is a lovely place. However there was something not quite right on our last visit. The weather wasn't good - cold and raining and perhaps that was the catalyst for my disappointment. Then again perhaps it was the attitude of one particular member of staff. Not to me but to other people who came to the restaurant – they couldn’t see what I could and I wasn’t impressed.

So really sorry that on this occasion I can’t write a glowing review – it should be glowing because the location is beautiful, but….

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigPeteW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed two nights at the Armagh Country Lodge. The first night we were the only guests staying there so it was very quiet. We stayed in the Candlewood Cottage which is a newly furnished cottage with a bedroom, a walk-in closed and a spacious bathroom with shower and tub in a very secluded hideaway area. We had a hammock on the patio - the perfect place to relax!!! And the staff was very friendly and helpful, they even booked a safari in a game reserve for us. We will definitely stay at Armagh again on our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dopolavoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We had such a lovely time at Armagh Country Lodge! My husband and I stayed in the Candlewood Cottage for the last two nights of our honeymoon. The cottage is very private and we were able to just relax and enjoy the setting. The room and the bathroom is beautifully made up and we even received a beautiful basket with a small gift, chocolates, a bottle of wine and a card from the staff congratulating us on our marriage. The owners, Johan and Marion, are very warm people and all the staff are friendly and very helpful. Lastly, the meals are just divine!! "Lekker" South African cuisine, just the thing before sneaking back to the cottage and the cozy fireplace.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, definitely opt for the Candlewood Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Very nearby all adventurous places in Storms River Village, Canopy Tour was very nice, flying through the trees! We arrived on a Friday, only buffet in the restaurant with home made food. Very nice but not for our 3 children (6, 8 and 14). We paid a lot, ate very little in comparisen. Accomodation was very nice, with fireplace. Beds were ok. Breakfast was ok. We will book at another place next time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieke10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The staff are happy and friendly. Management and hosts ensure that your stay is enjoyable and assist where possible for various activities available in the area, as well as the rest of your trip.

The food in "Rafters" has to be the best in the Tsitsikamma area. Extensive wine list personally selected by the owners - to suit all pockets :-)

Rooms are furnished lovingly, with luxurious linen and wonderful soft fluffy towels after a piping hot shower.
Scenic and serene! Thank you, thank you! Pity we could not linger................................

Room Tip: Lovely linen and very comfortable beds, piping hot water and spotless bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed two nights at the Armagh during the off-season so it was very quiet. We stayed in the Essenhout room which was easily the best room there. It was spacious, most private, and had a giant bed with really comfortable bedding. It had a stand alone bathtub in the room with candles and light dimmers that my boyfriend and I took advantage of after a long day of mountain biking. Very romantic. The staff was just the nicest people around. The manager even told us to call her if we had any troubles on our mountain biking route! The in-house spa employee kept us company and was very open to chatting. We really felt so comfortable and welcomed here. It truly felt like a home away from home. The restaurant was great - breakfast was included and was waiting for us when we came in in the morning. You could basically order anything you wanted and the incredibly nice chef would make it for you. We ate definitely more than one person's worth and they were just happy to serve us.

Definitely stay here if this is a stop along your route!!! It honestly was an incredible stay and we stayed at many places throughout South Africa and the Garden Route and in our opinion, none of the other lodges/hotels in the area even come close to the Armagh.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celtics123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
7.7 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
942 reviews
5.1 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tsitsikamma Manor
Tsitsikamma Manor
#4 of 5 in Storms River
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa

Address: 24 Fynbos Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Price Range: £54 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa est. 1994 offers comfortable ensuite airconditioned rooms, spacious gardens with Tsitsikamma Mountain views, a Country Spa and South African Cuisine in Highly Acclaimed Rafters Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagh Country Hotel
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing