We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of peace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Armagh is a wonderful place, with excellent food, cosy and warm dining room and tiny but brilliant spa. Its location is perfect for exploring the stunning national park, and returning back to a crackling fire and lovely dishes such as lamb shank pie washed down with delicious wines from the Robertson valley, surrounded by the beautiful artwork of the owners. We went for the budget room as we were splurgling on a safari later in the trip, which was good value considering. The massage/facial at the spa was one of the best I've had. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wherearewewritenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed at the Armagh Country Lodge for 2 nights in the Essenhout room. The bathroom could do with updating and the room did smell of damp. I understand this is probably due to the surrounding greenery but this should still be prevented! Other than that the bed was comfortable and the gardens it is set in are lovely. We ate at the restaurant both nights which was really nice on the first but not so much on the second. Overall compared to the numerous other places we stayed on our trip this was not the best value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RL31York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback That is how we have grown over the years; we listened and we learned. I am disappointed for your sake that your stay was not as you had anticipated it would be. I am not sure when in March you stayed with us and how the weather was at the time.
That does have bearing on any damp smells that would perhaps manifest themselves. Rain does produce a dampness in the luxuriant and dense gardens, which can carry over into the rooms - add that to the fact the room may have been closed for that very reason - it's what I"m thinking but obviously cannot be sure. However I shall monitor that room closely. My son built with all the damp-proofing to high specs. Yes! we do know that the bathroom needs a bit of attention AND at this moment the maintenance and repainting is taking place as it is our Low Season. I thought you would perhaps have liked the new bath we installed in the bedroom, with the accompanying basin, and heated towel rail...and the bed has the best linen and a new mattress. The food the second night: I needed a wee bit more of an explanation on that. Then I could comment better. All we have ever wanted is for our guests to be happy and comfortable, and I can only apologise for your experiences with us and invite you to return some day on a complimentary basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here in the off season (May/June) before and after we did the Otter Trail. The hotel was superb and the room was excellent. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way for us. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcdel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The Armagh is definately the place to stay if you are visiting Stormsriver or sarounding, We had such a wonderful time, its beautiful and quite, we treated ourselves to the spa. Wondeful food and wine.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, speak to Vuyo he managed to get us discount at the canopy tours and upgraded ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUSAN479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We didn't sleep here, but we had dinner here.
If you are looking for some genuine south african food, this is definately the place to be. Very good value as well.
It is a 15-20 min drive from the storms river rest camp, so very easy to reach. Private parking.
The only strange thing about the restaurant is the manager: she is very friendly, but also a bit pushy. We onlu took a main course and it was clear she wanted to sell us a starter and desert as well. She stayed friendly though, so no problem. It was just a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuniceB, Owner at Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review Rafters! I am so glad that you liked the food.

However, I am very sorry that you felt the Manager was being "pushy".. Sometimes our Managers' do get a little bit over enthusiastic, as they are proud of our food,and want everyone to have the total experience, but be assured that this will be brought up at our next Staff meeting, ensuring thst our Guests do not feel in any way pressurized. We hope you will visit us again, and we really do appreciate you making a trip from the Tsitsikamma National Park to dine with us at Rafters...and for pointing out your discomfort to us..we learn all the time!
Very best regards
Marion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

A tired holiday location requiring finance to bring it up to 21st century standards that are now expected by holiday companies.Accomodation and facilities were poor and the food below standard. We left after one night so were not able to judge further. Hope to call again if we hear of revamp of the Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sir terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuniceB, Owner at Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

We are so very sorry that you were not happy at all with us. We really did try very hard to please in every way. And had heard from our Night Staff that you really enjoyed Dinner. The first morning was extremely wet ..this rain does make the Tsitsikamma green and lush..we were disappointed you felt you must leave, but we wished you well on your travels. We really do try to give love and attention to everyone, and you were in the best and newest king sized extra length bed with the most luxurious bedding in the whole guest house.
Again we welcome you back - of course.
Very best wishes
Marion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We would have liked to have stayed more than one night in this beautiful lodge. We had a room which in fact was a suite. It was so secluded that it didn't need curtains! All around you was the most wonderful vegetation and flowers. A vernda back and front gave you a choice of places to sit and a very comfortable lounge too. Our 18yr old son's room was equally delightful but much smaller. Bathrooms were great and bedds very comfortable. If you wanted a perfect hieaway for a while this would be it. There is an excellent restaurant attached, with good wines and beers plus you can choose whether to sit outside or inside and afterwards there is a lounge area on a raised level if you want to relax. The owners are also artists and display much of their work around the place. Highly recommended. We also had a swim in their pleasant small pool, and an excellent massage in their tiny spa. Delightful.
It is a short walk from here to the Canopy trail centre for those wishing to do the trail, which we did.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuniceB, Owner at Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Armagh and so lovely that you took the time to write about us! We appreciate this very much, as it has always been our dream just to make people happy, and give the love! It is after all your well-earned holiday and we just want to add contentment and relaxation to the mix.
Very best wishes to you.
Marion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
7.7 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
998 reviews
5.1 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swallows Nest Country Cottages
Swallows Nest Country Cottages
#5 of 12 in Storms River
158 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa

Address: 24 Fynbos Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Price Range: £58 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa est. 1994 offers comfortable ensuite airconditioned rooms, spacious gardens with Tsitsikamma Mountain views, a Country Spa and South African Cuisine in Highly Acclaimed Rafters Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagh Country Hotel
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing