We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsitsikamma Lodge(Storms River)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Misty Mountain Reserve(Tsitsikamma National Park)(Great Value!)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Rectory(Plettenberg Bay)
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keurbooms River Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Grand Africa Rooms(Plettenberg Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
144
101
49
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
101
49
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomgreat base to exploreboth nightstasty foodlovely placelog fireenjoyed our stayguest housefantastic staygarden routeelectric blanketstsitsikamma national parkstayed longerhome away from homeour honeymoontsitsikamma areastorms river mouth
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Armagh is a wonderful place, with excellent food, cosy and warm dining room and tiny but brilliant spa. Its location is perfect for exploring the stunning national park, and returning back to a crackling fire and lovely dishes such as lamb shank pie washed down with delicious wines from the Robertson valley, surrounded by the beautiful artwork of the owners. We went for the budget room as we were splurgling on a safari later in the trip, which was good value considering. The massage/facial at the spa was one of the best I've had. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wherearewewritenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed at the Armagh Country Lodge for 2 nights in the Essenhout room. The bathroom could do with updating and the room did smell of damp. I understand this is probably due to the surrounding greenery but this should still be prevented! Other than that the bed was comfortable and the gardens it is set in are lovely. We ate at the restaurant both nights which was really nice on the first but not so much on the second. Overall compared to the numerous other places we stayed on our trip this was not the best value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RL31York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback That is how we have grown over the years; we listened and we learned. I am disappointed for your sake that your stay was not as you had anticipated it would be. I am not sure when in March you stayed with us and how the weather was at the time.
That does have bearing on any damp smells that would perhaps manifest themselves. Rain does produce a dampness in the luxuriant and dense gardens, which can carry over into the rooms - add that to the fact the room may have been closed for that very reason - it's what I"m thinking but obviously cannot be sure. However I shall monitor that room closely. My son built with all the damp-proofing to high specs. Yes! we do know that the bathroom needs a bit of attention AND at this moment the maintenance and repainting is taking place as it is our Low Season. I thought you would perhaps have liked the new bath we installed in the bedroom, with the accompanying basin, and heated towel rail...and the bed has the best linen and a new mattress. The food the second night: I needed a wee bit more of an explanation on that. Then I could comment better. All we have ever wanted is for our guests to be happy and comfortable, and I can only apologise for your experiences with us and invite you to return some day on a complimentary basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here in the off season (May/June) before and after we did the Otter Trail. The hotel was superb and the room was excellent. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way for us. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcdel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The Armagh is definately the place to stay if you are visiting Stormsriver or sarounding, We had such a wonderful time, its beautiful and quite, we treated ourselves to the spa. Wondeful food and wine.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, speak to Vuyo he managed to get us discount at the canopy tours and upgraded our rooms, great guy with good sence of humour.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUSAN479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We didn't sleep here, but we had dinner here.
If you are looking for some genuine south african food, this is definately the place to be. Very good value as well.
It is a 15-20 min drive from the storms river rest camp, so very easy to reach. Private parking.
The only strange thing about the restaurant is the manager: she is very friendly, but also a bit pushy. We onlu took a main course and it was clear she wanted to sell us a starter and desert as well. She stayed friendly though, so no problem. It was just a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuniceB, Owner at Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review Rafters! I am so glad that you liked the food.

However, I am very sorry that you felt the Manager was being "pushy".. Sometimes our Managers' do get a little bit over enthusiastic, as they are proud of our food,and want everyone to have the total experience, but be assured that this will be brought up at our next Staff meeting, ensuring thst our Guests do not feel in any way pressurized. We hope you will visit us again, and we really do appreciate you making a trip from the Tsitsikamma National Park to dine with us at Rafters...and for pointing out your discomfort to us..we learn all the time!
Very best regards
Marion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews