We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the heap!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Belle Demeure

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Cybranet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Belle Demeure
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Top of the heap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

La Belle Demeure lived up to its reputation as being the best. For seeing the sites in the Dordogne region, you can't beat the location. Rooms are not super big--though standard for similar lodging, but perfectly furnished. The real distinguishing factor for this property are the proprietors, Richard and Phillipe (and Casper, the dog). Richard and Phillipe make you feel at home from the minute you walk in the front door. They are there to assist with ever aspect of your visit, particularly including restaurant reservations, advice on the sites, and local history. If all this weren't enough a light breakfast is included, and, for an optional charge, dinner is provided. Stay for dinner! Richard is an amazing cook! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
151
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

A while since we received such a warm welcome back at LBD this summer, arriving somewhat under par after a wet week in Northern Spain. Richard and Philippe remain as ever superb and caring hosts, but Casper is begining to show his age and is less keen on his post prandial walks with Richard and guests.
There have been many subtle enhancements to the accomodation over the last twelve months, but in essence LBD remains the same charming and well run establishment that we love so much. Your hosts are keen to share their extensive local knowledge, have comprehensive local tourist information and great walking maps; they are always willing to plan and make reservations for you. The house-party style evening meals remain a highlight of our visits, superb regional cooking served with style and always in good company.
Now planning our visit next year and only hope that the fully justified 'Trip Advisor' accolade, proudly displayed in the dining area, will not make it more difficult to book the dates we want.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Richard and Philippe are the perfect hosts. We stayed for 7 nights and just simply had the most wonderful, relaxing time. The meals shared with fellow guests were accompanied with fabulous conversation. Ii is the perfect spot to explore the Dordogne region, and to unwind you can relax by the pool over a cool glass of Rose. Richard and Philippe help with even the smallest of details, and they really know how to spoil their guests. This was quite simply heaven, and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous and have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary,Alberta,Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was our first visit to La Belle Demeure. We stayed 4 nights in the family suite with our 2 teenage daughters. The suite was neat and clean with plenty of space for the 4 of us. The beds were comfortable and the location is very quiet. Although the room has no AC it remained cool and comfortable with 30 C weather. The grounds are well cared for and the pool was a welcome respite after hot days exploring the Dordogne region.
The hosts, Richard and Phillipe take what is already a great spot and take it one notch higher. We observed them treat every guest with genuine warmth and attention, answering questions, providing recommendations and sharing good humor. We experienced some travel issues while staying there and Richard and Phillipe went more than the extra mile to make sure we got to our next destination.
We recommend joining them for dinner as the food is outstanding and the hospitality the same. Our kids still count the evenings eating dinner outside with Richard and Phillipe (and Casper) as one the highlights of their France experience.
We could go on and on, but the reviews are true. Yes, it is that good!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gdh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

From start to finish Philippe and Richard look after you. This is more than a b&b (it is almost an insult to call it a b&b!) it is a haven. I have been lucky to travel to some great destinations and stayed in some fantastic hotels but the owners here make a stay to remember and cherish. They work so hard to make sure you are home from home and tend to all your needs. All the small touches count -from fantastic dining, great company, booking local activities for you, helpful advice, enthusiasm, smiling faces and warm welcomes and fond goodbyes. They deserve all the credit on trip advisor and more. The house is beautiful and Well maintained in an area of natural un spoilt terrain. There are wonderful activities for all age groups too. I raise my glass to Philippe and Richard (and Casper the dog) for running and executing a professional yet warm caring service that is genuine and sadly these days lacking in other places I have stayed. If you should read this boys I thank you from the bottom of my heart. I would love to come back soon.... That's if your not flooded with reservations which you deserve to be. Roy and Becky xxxx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecksandRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just returned from our eighth visit to La Belle Demeure. We had a perfect holiday with Richard, Philippe & Casper. Their hospitality and kindness is just wonderful, sharing conversations with so many people whilst all dining together, is a great experience.
We had exceptional weather and were able to dine outside, under the vine for every meal. The delicious food prepared and cooked by Richard gives you a taste of France,and Philippe's table settings are all beautiful. Thank you Richard and Philippe you really are true friends and we can not wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samaori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrogRosbif, Owner at La Belle Demeure, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for such a kind comment. We thoroughly enjoyed having you here with us again too. It makes us so happy that you feel as comfortable & as at ease as you do and we are delighted that you enjoyed spending time meeting & dining with the other guests that you have met during your stay. Just how we hoped it would be! Here’s to 2014 then! Richard, Philippe & Casper (in his own little way!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had an amazing time staying at La Belle Demeure with Richard, Philippe and Casper (who we tried to kidnap but he would not fit in our luggage). They have an amazing ability to make you feel welcome and at home, from the moment you arrive. Believe all the reviews. They truly have a gift for hospitality.

The town is beautiful and is centrally located for visiting a lot of the castles and bastide towns in the Perigord. And Richard and Phillippe will help you figure out how to get to all the sites you want to see, will make amazing recommendations if you are overwhelmed by all the possibilities, and will also help you with reservations if needed.

We stayed five nights and were sad to leave. The amazing thing about Richard and Phillippe is that, when you read all the reviews, you realize just how many people they make feel like they are leaving long time friends when their trip to the Perigord ends. We will be recommending la Belle Demeurre to everyone we meet from here on in.

-Brett & Shelley

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Cybranet
4.3 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel La Hoirie
Hotel La Hoirie
#11 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
0.8 mi away
La Tour de Cause B&B
La Tour de Cause B&B
#1 of 3 in Castelnaud-la-Chapelle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Demeure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Demeure

Property: La Belle Demeure
Address: Lieu Dit le Bouscot, 24250 Saint-Cybranet, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Cybranet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Cybranet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the Périgord Noir, La Belle Demeure is the perfect place to take that relaxing and well-deserved break. Just 9 miles from the medieval town of Sarlat and close to Beynac, Castelnaud, Domme, La Roque Gageac, Lascaux II… Whether you go to a market in the morning, take a walk in the afternoon or just enjoy good food and wine, this is the place to be. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Belle Demeure France/Saint-Cybranet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing