We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice site, restricted usability. Good cook, restricted menu.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau De Lalande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau De Lalande
Certificate of Excellence
Konigswinter, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice site, restricted usability. Good cook, restricted menu.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The site is nice, the quality of dinner as well, even if restricted (only go if you like fish, duck or chicken. Porc or beef were not available). The service staff partly is missing any experience, you might wait up to an hour before getting your first plate.
The pool is fine, but no sunshades or parasols available. You have to stay in the sun, or just to sit under a roof.
Breakfast is ok .... but you are not allowed to take it on the terrasse. The owner says: "This would end up in anarchy". Not to say that it might be served on the terrasse. You have to take it in a quite dark room, despite bright sunshine outside.
WiFi is poor, not available (no connectivity) in the room.
The owner is not inclined to see his guests as customers. He defines the rules (see above) and doesn't deviate from them.
All this for a price which is not really low.
We wouldn't go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, unless you wish to climb two long stairs with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r-bier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    30
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
124
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here for four nights in July and must say a huge thank you to Catherine & Yves for making our stay so memorable. The chateau, which enjoys a beautiful parkland setting, has been wonderfully and sympathetically restored to the highest standard. There are lots of seating areas dotted around the grounds where you can relax with a book and a drink. The lovely swimming pool is ideal for cooling off after a day sightseeing and if you prefer not to sit in the sun, then you can enjoy the shade of the 100 (0r is it 200?) year old wisteria.

We stayed in a ground floor room which had its own entrance into the grounds. It was delightfully furnished and the bed was divine. As the weather was very warm, we really appreciated the air condioning. The standard of fittings in the bathroom (shower only) was first class.

As the weather was good we ate outside in the very large wooden gazebo (with roll down sides and heaters should the weather not behave) The quality of food from Chef Yves is of absolutely brilliant (Gordon Ramsey eat your heart out!), so much so that we ate there on two of our four nights. Christine is the perfect front of house person - charm personified - and takes wonderful care of all her guests.

The location of the chateau is just perfect for exploring Perigueux and Bergerac (both beautiful town which are well worth spending some time in) and the lovely valley of the Dronne and places such as Brantome, Riberac etc.

If you want to eat in Perigueux one evening you can do no better than to visit Restaurant l'Essentiel. Yves recommended this to us and it certainly didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilanorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Like others we had trouble finding this hotel but it was worth it. We arrived tired and a bit fed up after a lot of wronr turnings but, maybe because we were obviously fed up, were upgraded to a gorgeous large room overlooking the garden. It was the start of a lovely 4 day stay. The weather was a bit iffy so we did not try the pool which looked fine. Lots of places to sit in the garden and an elegant salon indoors. Food was first class, and the breakfast generous and good quality. A rather odd choice of music, more suited to a beauty salon or yoga class, at breakfast but it helped to downplay the formality of the dining room. When the weather allowed dinner was served outside - very romantic

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is a lovely chateau beautifully restored, very clean, excellent food. It is Owner managed and you can tell both Catherine and Yves care about the place and their guests. We stayed there in June last year and we could not wait to come back. We travelled to France last month again and we went out of our way to go back, this is how much we enjoyed it the first time. Last year in June we stayed for 4 nights and this time only in passing for one night. A five star hotel at 3 star prices, excellent food, excellent rooms, clean and spacious, would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raluca13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

This chateau is very close to what you might think of as "a small charming castle in the countryside." The hosts are very welcoming and aim at meeting every guest and their individual needs. The owners of the chateau place great importance of french tradition. However the chateau offers modern amenities and high class accommodation. The property is situated in a quiet area, yet close to attractions. The swimming pool and garden provide excellent opportunities for guests to relax. Chateau de Lalande is the place to stay if you are looking for the genuine French charm.
I have stayed there as single, with family and also used it for business purposes (they also have a small, but well equipped meeting room), always with great pleasure.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice equipped and quet, but there are no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terje O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This beautiful château is not far from Bordeaux, quiet, elegant. Catherine and Yves were perfect hosts, and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Rooms were spacious, clean, and the grounds were beautiful. I would recommend this place to anyone!
Great for day trips around the countryside

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautifully done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellenint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Arrived unannounced at the Chateau de Lalande and were made most welcome. The chateau has been restored beautifully and furnished with period furnishings with an amazing result. Felt like we had stepped back a few centuries! The comfort and the food were certainly not of bygone days and was exceptional with the rooms furnished for comfort with huge comfy beds, modern bathrooms complete with all the latest fixtures and fitting. Dinner in the restaurant was to die for and French cuisine at its best. Intimate, exceptional good food and good service provided by the owners. Nothing was too much trouble. A walk in the gardens followed by a sample of the local wines was a perfect end to a perfect day in the French countryside. While the chateau is by no means out of the way, felt like we were in our own French world.

Room Tip: Our room on the gound floor had its own entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annesse-et-Beaulieu
16.5 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
13.0 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
23.9 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
13.8 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
22.5 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De Lalande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Lalande

Property: Chateau De Lalande
Address: 57 route de Saint Astier, 24430 Annesse-et-Beaulieu, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Annesse-et-Beaulieu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Annesse-et-Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau De Lalande 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chateau De Lalande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Lalande France/Annesse-Et-Beaulieu, Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing