We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing location with excellent food and service”
Review of Hotel Laborderie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laborderie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tamnies
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Best service and food we have ever had and for a reasonable price.
Even the fixed menu could be changed, my wife is a vegetarian.
Room quality varied with price. Don't take the cheapest ones as it can be noisy outside from 6 o' clock each morning as people start work
Countryside location allows a walk each evening before or after dinner
Location is away from traffic and nightlife, of which there is none
Excellent as a centre to visit everywhere in Perigord
Swimming pool and hot tub were a wonderful end to a touring day

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cluffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Laborderie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed in an annex room in late September. The room was basic but clean and accomodated 3 of us comfortably. The staff spoke some English and were helpful for the most part. The restaurant is very good and offers a daily menu as well as an la carte menu featuring local cuisine such as duck, foie gras and walnuts. The room rates offer value for money and it is an ideal location for touring the local sites including the caves, troglodyte villages, gardens, chateau's and nearby villages. A car is needed as the village of Tamnies is very small and does not have any ammenities however it is a beautiful setting. The hotel offered a reasonable laundry service which was very welcome considering we had been travelling for over a week at that point. The beds were OK in terms of comfort. Not to be missed is Lescaux II, jardins de marqueyssac, The Sarlat Market (Saturday mornings), Les Elyzies and The National Museum of Prehistory, grotte rouffignac, Commarque and La Roc St.-Christophe. We appreciated our GPS while exploring the area!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nanccee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Friendly staff, complete lack of English spoken by waitress so interesting guessing re some menu items. Had the demi-pension menu; generous and great value. Stayed in the tower bedroom, ensuite. After clambering up the ladder, (mind your head!) the room was generously sized and beautiful views. Shower temperature affected by all hotel activity, so an exercise in caution. Resident donkey in opposite field provided an unusual nocturnal atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kidsgrownandgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

On an impulse, seeing the church steeple atop a hill, we drove up to Tamnies from route D48 and discovered this charming hotel in a tiny village. The peaceful and lovely rural setting belie the sophistication of the hostelry. The most memorable revelation was the sophisticated dinner menu with several creatively conceived dishes served more elegantly than any others we encountered in two weeks of seeking dining pleasures in Perigord Noir, Bayonne, and Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galantuomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Hotel Laborderie is the village of Tamniès, it looks like the whole village is taken over by the hotel. Beautiful location. We stayed in a room opposite the church, near the swimming pool and breakfast room. The hotel looks a bit dated, our room too. Our bathroom had a 'retro' yellow bathtub and again a hand held shower. All was very clean. In the morning there was a big breakfast buffet, with everything there. The most surprising was the price: cheap. This hotel is value for money.
Lots of marked walking tracks around the hotel, great swimming pool and just down the road there is a lake with a little beach.
Do not forget to visit Sarlat.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeroenStruyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

My husband, myself and our young son stayed here last summer. It was a lovely location, with a beautiful room and yummy breakfast. However, our trip was really marred by our experience with the hotel owner. In France, the room key is left at the front desk when the guest goes out and the key is to be returned to the guest whenever they arrive back at the hotel. However, at this hotel the front desk closed at 11pm sharp on Saturday night. We were locked out of our room upon returning to the hotel at 11:15. You can imagine that we were not pleased to be locked out on a dark night with our 6 year old son. We were finally able to wake the hotel owner up (who lives on the hotel property). He was very angry with me and ended up yelling at me and shaking his fist in my face. It was a very unpleasant experience with a man who has a very bad temper. I do have to say that the other hotel staff were very nice. The front desk receptionist was very apologetic when I described what happened.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank monsieurlacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2006

This was am amazing find and I highly recommend it. We recently went to France and were trying to figure out where to stay in the Dordogne area. Only a few hotels were listed in our guidebook, but we found this one on the Internet which looked nice and was much more inexpensive so we took a chance and really lucked out! It's out in the middle of beautiful countryside but only a few minutes drive right into all the best sights in Les Eyzies (museum of pre-history and caves), Sarlat (amazing medieval city), and several amazing castles such as Commarque. We stayed in the "annex" in a straightforward master bedroom, kid’s room, and bath arrangement with all the regular hotel amenities including daily housekeeping. The rooms are very well maintained and clean. We brought our 2 kids, and enjoyed the pool, and walking around the small town of Tamnies with views of the hills around and deer wandering. We had absolutely no problems. You'll need a car, but that's the case even if you are right in Les Eyzies for more than 1 day since you'll want to see other things and there is virtually no mass transit in the area. The restaurant is a great place for wonderful French dinners, and they have a quite nice continental breakfast available each morning. I think we were the only Americans there, but everyone was very laid back and friendly and employees spoke plenty of English. I can't say enough good things about this place.

6  Thank sb-jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamnies
9.6 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
219 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
208 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Archambeau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
258 reviews
10.5 mi away
Manoir d'Hautegente
6.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laborderie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laborderie

Address: le Bourg, 24620 Tamnies, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Tamnies
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tamnies
Price Range: £65 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Restaurant Laborderie is located in Tamnies, in the Dordogne region. It has an outdoor swimming pool with deck chairs and offers free access to the sauna and Jacuzzi. Each guest room is served daily at the Laborderie has a private bathroom and balcony which overlooks the surrounding valley. They are equipped with free Wi-Fi access and a TV. A breakfast buffet is available daily, and guests can enjoy this meal served in the rooms. The Laborderie Hotel's restaurant offers traditional cuisine with regional specialties. Free parking is available on site and the Hotel Restaurant Laborderie is an hour's drive from Brive-la-Gaillarde and highway A20/ E09. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Laborderie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laborderie Hotel Tamnies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing