We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY DISAPPOINTING!”

Hostellerie du Bois Guibert
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie du Bois Guibert
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonneval
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“REALLY DISAPPOINTING!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had booked last minute and was surprised to find that, during high season, there was availability in all price ranges. We should have heard a warning bell. We arrived and found the entrance to the hotel with some difficulty despite it being on a main road. We were surprised that we appeared to be the only guests (second alarm bell). We were shown to our mid price room (96 Euros and in main house) and decided to ask for something better and were immediately offered a more modern room in the nearby annexe (availability no problem!). Believing this to be the 120 Euro option described on the telephone we found that it was in fact 160 Euros per night, as advertised in the room itself. On querying this with the manager he capitalulated without a struggle and said we could have it for 120 Euros. He also said that there was availability for a further 1 or 2 nights (third alarm bell).

The general condition of the main hotel was shabby and the tables laid out on the decking clearly lacked any basic maintenance (wood preservative etc). 2 small bottles of lager cost 12 Euros! Outside the main entrance to the annexe was a large planter full of cigarette ends. There was a small table and two chairs on the patio outside our room but no sun shade protection despite a high temperature in excess of 30 degrees. Within 30 minutes we realised that we could not contemplate staying a minute longer and, on payment of half the room rate, we left with no regrets whatsoever.

This venue had been spoken of very highly by fellow travellers and the Tourist Information Office in Chateaudun. It is very clearly going through a sorry time and, from the manager's reactions, there are desperate for business. They need to concentrate on getting some of the basics right but I fear it may be too late.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeverleyMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

A very nice place away from hustle bustle of cities. Elegant style in a house older than the USA! Comfortable, good food, quiet place to relax and imagine the old days.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MedicinemanPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed here for 1 night, driving to the South of France.
It looks like an attractive little chateau, but it's a bit worn out.
Dinner was lovely though.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wellaAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We just returned from a trip to France and the Bois Guibert was one of our highlights. It is very easy to find, with 3 choices of entrances and lots of signage, so I don't understand the previous writer's difficulty in finding the hotel.The hotel is an old Manor House that has been beautifully converted into a hotel. We chose to stay in the Manor itself and enjoyed living among the antiques. There is also a new annex for those who prefer more modern ammenities. The dinners were fabulous!!! The dining room was beautiful, the food was not only delicious but artistically arranged on the plate, and they had a good wine list with many local wines from the Loire. The owner was very gracious and very professional, making sure that we always had everything that we needed.

The hotel is very centrally located between Chartres and Chateaudun, so it made sightseeing very easy. We were happy that at the end of the day we could come back to the hotel and have an excellent meal without having to get in the car once again.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay and we will definitely stay there again the next time we are traveling in this area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yupoarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We arrived on a Friday evening to find the host waiting for us. We were the only guests on a Friday night in May. The room and the food were very good but obviously lacking in atmosphere as we were the only people in the restaurant. the service was very (too) attentive. They could increase their numbers of clients by improving the appearance on the main road by clearing and pruning the trees and re-painting signs and fences. We would not stop again, not particularly because of criticism of the room or food but the lack of conviviality and joy of staying.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bishtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Overall I like the place I have stayed here a couple of times over the years and thoroughly enjoyed it. I have used it as a stop over when travelling to Spain by both Car and Motorcycle, with and without companions. The welcome has always been excellent including accommodating our late arrival after the normal restaurant closing and still providing us with the fll menu choice which I have to say is excellent. The cheese trolley is my favourite with some I had not tried before.

This is a fairly old building and in some places that shows but then it is a question of whether you call that charachter or charm or say it is not as clean looking as a modern hotel such as Ibis. I found it added to the charm and had no issues with cleanliness.in any respect.

I found the atmosphere relaxing and the house set far enough back from the road to be quiet .

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cules_flatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2006

We use this Logis as a stop-over en-route to the Dordogne.
It is family owned, recently re-decorated and has a superb restaurant!
Looking like a mini-chateau, the rooms are spacious with all mod-cons, except air-con- you use the big windows for ventilation..

Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonneval
2.3 mi away
Domaine de Moresville
5.1 mi away
Hotel Entre Beauce Et Perche
Hotel Entre Beauce Et Perche
#1 of 1 in Donnemain-Saint-Mames
145 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Jacques
Hotel Le Saint Jacques
#1 of 1 in Cloyes-sur-le-Loir
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Chateaudun
Ibis Budget Chateaudun
#2 of 6 in Chateaudun
164 reviews
19.9 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
11.0 mi away
Les Aubepines
Les Aubepines
#1 of 1 in Illiers-Combray
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Bois Guibert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Bois Guibert

Property: Hostellerie du Bois Guibert
Address: Hameau du Guibert, 28800 Bonneval, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Eure-et-Loir > Bonneval
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonneval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Bois Guibert 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostellerie du Bois Guibert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing