We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really excellent family property”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grassina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grassina
St. Albans
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really excellent family property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Having just seen the review below I had to give a counter view. We've stayed with small children at Villa Grassina on I think six occasions. Suzanna is extremely helpful in my experience. The accommodation is basic Tuscan villa accommodation - don't come here if you are looking for 5* luxury. However, if you are looking for a peaceful holiday in idyllic surroundings in the Tuscan hills then this is the place for you. The views are stunning, the accommodation comfortable, and the amenities very good, including food served in the villa three times per week. I prefer the apartments in the main villa, but we've stayed all over the complex and have really enjoyed it. Don't be put off - it's a beautiful spot and great value.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main villa are, I think, the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomGSt_Albans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Villa Grassina is great for what it offers for the price.
The terrace offers fabulous views over the Tuscan countryside. The pool is big but busy at times.
The restaurant open several evenings a week offers reasonable food. We were given pears, tomatoes etc from the estate.
Villa Grassina offers many apartments and they are fairly basic in terms of catering facilities and service involves making up your own beds etc. There is one washing machine outdoors for all to share.
Facilities include a table tennis table, tennis courts and a trampoline. The garden is beautiful.
Basically it is good value for what it offers but is not for anyone who is looking for upmarket accommodation. The hosts are very friendly and go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilarytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed one week in July 2012, with 2 kids in the magnifican Loggia 1 appartment. Very big, great view from the terrace. Very nice place, very typical Toscana. Nice pool, not to bit. Great food on the place on Friday till Sunday. Absolutely a place to return to.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were excited and nervous when we invited 46 guests to a wedding in a foreign country and to a place which we had never seen. We did not need to worry!!! This place is charming and beautiful and the people who work there are all angels. They made our stay unforgettable. Our wedding was just like a fairytale, every detail that we wanted was met, and to be honest there were a few :) The wedding party stayed for a week enjoing playing tennis, hiking in the area, playing in the pool or drinking a glass of wine in the lovely garden in front of the chapel, and the kids loved the playing area. The appartements where lovely furnished in a typical Tuscan style. We can absolutely recommend this charming 12th century villa, and we will definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswolds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We have just returned from a week at villa grassina and it was a fabulous week!
The estate is just beautiful, in the most amazing surroundings. We stayed in the main house and had breathtaking views across the countryside from our window.
There was plenty ro keep the children (5 and 9) busy with outdoors toys, tennis court and walks around the property.
You really need a car to get to the property as it is up a very steep winding track, much fun to drive up!
The staff were attentive and made us feel very welcome and available ro answer any local quieries.
Pelago is very small, but has a wrll stocked shop, couple of bars and ice cream place and ponttasieve is only a short drive with a larger variety of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bifft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I booked Villa Grassina last minute and I had no idea how beautiful it was until we arrived. My husband and I got a one bedroom apartment and though the kitchen/sitting area was small it was efficiently outfitted. Our room had an upstairs loft and the bed was very comfortable - probably the best sleep we've had in months. The staff were wonderful - we got to know Suzanna most and she was very helpful in suggestions for sightseeing and in setting up the rest of our vacation. And the olive oil and honey the farm produces - so good! We had dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday that we arrived and it was very good and a nice chance to meet some of the other guests staying at the Villa. Can't say enough good things about it - Absolutely fabulous value for $. Beautiful setting, great people. Make sure to take the tour (Thurs aft usually) which includes some wine tasting and Tuscan style appetizers. As well, get details on local business and museum hours when you arrive so you can plan your sightseeing, shopping and dining out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoosterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

We spent a week there with family (two young kids, age of 3 and 5) in May. The apartman was clean and spacous and we also had a spectacular view. The children enjoyed the playground and its surrounding. Staff were really nice, food was great and there were so many great and charming villages very close to this villa.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HungaryBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelago
2.4 mi away
Villa Pitiana
Villa Pitiana
#1 of 1 in Donnini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Pieve
La Pieve
#1 of 2 in Pelago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Florence Hills Resort & SPA
0.8 mi away
Podere Castellare - Eco Resort of Tuscany
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Risalpiano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassina

Property: Grassina
Address: Via Madonnino, Grassina 102 50060, 50060 Pelago, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Pelago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Pelago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassina 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grassina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassina Italy/Pelago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing