We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, Simple but good value considering location to city of Florence”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galluzzo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fattoria Settemerli
Ranked #2 of 3 Galluzzo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at this Agritourismo hotel during a motorcycle tour of Europe, as we needed a base close to the location of the Motorcycle GP, 20 km's away. For anybody wanting to stay near to the city of Florence without the hustle & bustle of a major city, this location is perfect. In fact, sitting in the garden outside the rooms is so peaceful; you could almost believe you are 20 km’s from the city.
The accommodation itself is very rustic & traditional, more than acceptable but could not be classed as luxury; however that is borne out by the price, which is outstanding value for the proximity to the city. Once checked in, you are almost left alone, however upon arrival, one of the hosts did prepare a plate of mixed crostini’s and a local bottle of wine for us, which was exactly what we needed after our long journey. Whilst the car parking facilities are located away from the main building, the hosts did allow us to park our motorcycles close to our room, which was in a smaller annex from the main building.
Breakfast was served at a large shared table in the main building and was typical continental, however a word of caution, we asked the start time for breakfast and was told 8:30, only to find that on Sunday that time is significantly later.
The hosts provided us with 2 restaurant recommendations, the first a simple Pizza restaurant in the local village square which turned out to be a real hidden gem, with a lovely eating area in the garden at the back, the second was a typical Tuscan kitchen restaurant that specialises in the local steak speciality “Bisteca Fiorentina”. This restaurant was a 10 minute car journey away south of the hotel, but well worth the journey. Both restaurants did not suffer the usual Florence tourist price mark ups and were excellent value.
Overall, if you want to be away from it all in the city of Florence, and have your own transport, this accommodation has a lot going for it, as long as you don’t expect the last word in luxury, but are happy for the simple charms of Traditional Tuscany.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Fattoria Settemerli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed in this hotel while were spending a few days sightseeing around toscany. Well, it is true that the breakfast is a little poor and you obviously need a car to stay there. The rooms are not very lush but they have beautiful colours and decorations. However whatever little flaws are more than adequately made up for from the warm and welcoming staff, the amazing views of the surroundings, the beautiful garden with the gazebo, the quiet environment. This is the place to be for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinakw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

A perfect representation of Tuscan architecture and style. This farmhouse is bound to impress you from the very first moment you arrive. It is a home away from home.Staff is super friendly with special kudos to Danielle who nursed my wife's sprained leg diligently and with such affection. We were on our honeymoon and wanted to relax and rewind at a quite place before we hit the wilderness of Roma. Fattoria Settemerli met all those expectations and much more. Yes, you do need a scooter or a car to travel to and fro to make your life easier. But also on the other hand to experience a real traditional Tuscan farmhouse you have to set base in the countryside. So all you readers, please ignore all the negative comments from in experienced travellers looking for a B&B or hotel room experience. This is a farmhouse! So cop on! Its top class.

Sid & Fredi
Ireland

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This place was simply beautiful. A restored 12th century farmhouse located on the outskirts of Florence with very pretty themed rooms (ours was a frog theme with even a bottle opener shaped like a frog). The people who own the place were extremely nice and cordial (not to forget the house parrot) and the breakfast menu was a delicious assortment of fresh farm produce. The surroundings are supposed to be a beautiful trek in itself but the weather during our trip did not offer us this opportunity.

If you are travelling with a heavy backpack please ensure that you notify the people in advance of your arrival timings for them to pick u up as it is quite a walk from the bus stop to the farmhouse. Frequency of buses from Florence is a bit of a problem. And in winter the area is going to be chillier than the rest of Florence, so go prepared.

In all, the place's a scenic beauty & a definite must for a romantic trip.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dushyantmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

we have recently returned from a world trip and tuscany is one of the wonderful places we visited and what made it a highlight was staying at fattoria settemerli it makes me so sad reading some of the previous reviews how anyone can say any thing bad about this place amazes me.From the moment we arrived (we had a car which i would recommend travelling through tuscany),we were welcomed by the beautiful owner connie she showed us to our room we had a choice of two rooms one better than the other they were decorated so beautiful ,very clean ,with lots of special touches and a gorgeous bath room the aircondition was so welcoming as it was hot,this lady was so helpful and helped us in every way she can and when she wasnt there barbara her helper was so so wonderful and kind,we love the tranquility ,the garden ,dining room and everything about this beautiful farm house, these people were so beautiful that there were another 3 couples staying there celebrating birthdays and connie and barbara cooked up a feast for them and two days later another feast which we were included and it was beautiful italian food .has for location its a great place to stay just out of florence which is easy to get to by bus only 20 min we even just went there just for dinner. and easy to get to all the other lovely tuscany towns like sienna ,san gimanio lucca etc .i would definatly recomend this piece of paradise.thankyou so much connie and your beautiful little girl viola and babara for a wonderful experience,you deserve the best good luck

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2008

very nice place, nice pond, nice view, very nice owners, clean, good shower.
booked it with FLORENCEBY.COM

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culebrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2007

Let's do an IS/IS NOT:

IS:
Accessible. We had a car, and were glad of it, but the #36 bus stops right at the gate and goes directly into the center of Florence (but beware, tickets for buses must be bought at a "tobacco shop" or news stand and validated once you board). By car it's 10 minutes to the Porta Romana car park south of the Pitti Palace and Boboli gardens, and from there you can catch the bus or walk 20 minutes to the center. We were in the "real" countryside in 20-25 minutes, and it's only about 1 hour from Siena (highly recommended).

Friendly. The cat and the parrot are a nice addition. The cat, however, did deposit 2 "presents" in the courtyard that he had hunted down the night before in the field.. which the staff quickly disposed of.

Quiet. There is some noise from round-the-clock construction of a tunnel, but it was not a bother at night with the windows closed, and I'm VERY sensitive to noise. Every morning we awoke to a symphony of birds - very nice. We were especially thankful to have a mellow, isolated place to relax at the end of the day, where kids can run around outside with no worry.

Comfortably and tastefully furnished. We had rooms in the secondary building and they were large, with plenty of storage for our belongings, and an adequate bathroom (shower, toilet, sink, bidet and shelves for our stuff). The beds and other furniture are in very good condition, but the mattress was about the firmest I've ever slept on in my life.

Good value for the money. We would not have liked to pay more than we did (who does), but by the same token would have been immeasureably sad had we taken something for the same price inside Florence.

IS NOT:

It's not an "unforgettable" locale. On coming into town just off the autoroute (Centosa/Galluzzo, which as near as we could tell is administratively a part of Florence), we were a bit worried. The main square is shabby (though perfectly safe), and the little commercial area holds no interest. It's a working-class area. But you came to see the Duomo, not the Coop. There is a rather impressive monastery up on the hill, which is open for guided tours. Thankfully, the property itself is a comfortable distance away. Consider that you will not get the "urban experience" here - you will not be able to just pop into a cafe or run over for a quick look at the sites.

I would not call this the countryside, but rather an as yet undevelopped zone of many acres in what used to be the country. Yes, there are horses and a small vegetable garden, but it's not a farm. The main security gate from the road is entered with a code or remote control, then you go along a dirt road for about a quarter mile or so till you reach the farmhouse. It's NOT "A room with a view" and it's not "Under the Tuscan sun", so if that's what you want, you should look elsewhere.

This is not run like a hotel, which would have been nice to know - maybe just our inexperience with this kind of lodging. The rooms are not made every day, and the towels are changed only every other day, though you can get more if you ask - everything was of course just fine on arrival. Soap dispenser in the bathroom, but no complimentary bars of soap or shampoo for the shower, so bring your own. Beware there is not always staff around, so make SURE they know your hour of arrival or make arrangements. No telephone, no TV (fine by us, but good to know). I would say that given the fact that it is a bit out of the way and not staffed 24/7, if you have any worries about needing immediate medical assistance, you might want to try something more conventional.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YankFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galluzzo
0.7 mi away
Fattoria Il Milione
Fattoria Il Milione
#59 of 311 in Florence
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Fattoressa
La Fattoressa
#1 of 3 in Galluzzo
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sul Ponte
Hotel Sul Ponte
#3 of 3 in Galluzzo
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
I Parigi
I Parigi
#84 of 656 in Florence
252 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B Ponte di Certosa
B&B Ponte di Certosa
#315 of 656 in Florence
41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Borgo de' Ricci
Borgo de' Ricci
#14 of 23 in Impruneta
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Settemerli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Settemerli

Address: Via Volterrana 54 | Le Gore, 50124 Galluzzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Galluzzo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galluzzo
Price Range: £64 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria Settemerli 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Fattoria Settemerli Province Of Florence/Galluzzo, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing