We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting in remote location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria Settemerli
Ranked #2 of 3 Galluzzo B&B and Inns
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting in remote location”
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Building is very old & has been kept in its original state including fixtures & fittings. The b&b is in a beautiful but very remote setting but is not within walking distance of any restaurants/bars. Rooms are very Tuscan & original. Unfortunately I had a nasty electric shock from a socket but the owner was not bothered & came into the room with an oven glove whilst I had a black burn on my hand! Breakfast is very basic self service. Both owners speak English which helps. Our room was very noisy with water flushing pipes etc & woke me up but that's just the age of the building. The double bed was two singles.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woman b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    28
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights in May 2011. This is an old farmhouse turned into a hotel. Very charming and romantic. If you are looking for a romantic getaway -- away from the hustle and bustle of the city, this is where you should go to. We really enjoyed the rustic atmosphere and original details of the house and our room. In front is a lovely garden and the captivating lush rolling hills of Tuscany. The owner is very friendly and so are the employees. Loved practicing some Italian with them. They took care of all our requests and needs. Upon arrival, we were already delighted with the local wine, homemade bread and olive oil which were all delicioso! :-) We also ordered local Tuscan dinner on our last evening and it was great! We were so full and satisfied. This is a nice place to stay in if you want to bask in the beauty of the Tuscan region.

Room Tip: Make sure that you're up for the walk to and fo the bus station that goes directly to city of Fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charedbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have stayed for 4 days in Fattoria Settemerli and it was horrendous. The building is inside a beautiful family estate where they produce olive oil and have stables and horses. However I cannot say that the B&B was up to standard.

The room was quite uncomfortable, with bare stone floors, shelves full of dusty books from 1980s, no wardrobes, a bathroom with a tiny shower and filthy towels, and an uncomfortable bed with dirty sheets.

We have tried the breakfast in the first morning and I must admit the olive oil they produced was beautiful on Tuscan bread, they served with prosciutto, milano salami and cheese. However, the dining room was very cold and decorated without any particular concept but with hundreds of old and dusty objects. All room including the dining set on the table and jams served in jars looked dirty and dusty.

I cannot really complain about the attitude of the staff. There were too many things to complain about that we choose not to. Besides, there was a different person every night, most of them preferred to sit in dark and cold, by the kitchen table or by the reception desk.

We would come back late at night and before we turn the lights on, we would try to guess where would the housekeeper sit and which way would the cat run from. We would then climb up the stairs, trying to not to look right or left but straight only as there was some sort of a family chapel, with hundreds of dusty, broken and scary carvings, sculptures and objects. Gothic entertainment!

Room Tip: One of my friends stayed in a room outside the house in summer time. She was quite fond of the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evrim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at this Agritourismo hotel during a motorcycle tour of Europe, as we needed a base close to the location of the Motorcycle GP, 20 km's away. For anybody wanting to stay near to the city of Florence without the hustle & bustle of a major city, this location is perfect. In fact, sitting in the garden outside the rooms is so peaceful; you could almost believe you are 20 km’s from the city.
The accommodation itself is very rustic & traditional, more than acceptable but could not be classed as luxury; however that is borne out by the price, which is outstanding value for the proximity to the city. Once checked in, you are almost left alone, however upon arrival, one of the hosts did prepare a plate of mixed crostini’s and a local bottle of wine for us, which was exactly what we needed after our long journey. Whilst the car parking facilities are located away from the main building, the hosts did allow us to park our motorcycles close to our room, which was in a smaller annex from the main building.
Breakfast was served at a large shared table in the main building and was typical continental, however a word of caution, we asked the start time for breakfast and was told 8:30, only to find that on Sunday that time is significantly later.
The hosts provided us with 2 restaurant recommendations, the first a simple Pizza restaurant in the local village square which turned out to be a real hidden gem, with a lovely eating area in the garden at the back, the second was a typical Tuscan kitchen restaurant that specialises in the local steak speciality “Bisteca Fiorentina”. This restaurant was a 10 minute car journey away south of the hotel, but well worth the journey. Both restaurants did not suffer the usual Florence tourist price mark ups and were excellent value.
Overall, if you want to be away from it all in the city of Florence, and have your own transport, this accommodation has a lot going for it, as long as you don’t expect the last word in luxury, but are happy for the simple charms of Traditional Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed in this hotel while were spending a few days sightseeing around toscany. Well, it is true that the breakfast is a little poor and you obviously need a car to stay there. The rooms are not very lush but they have beautiful colours and decorations. However whatever little flaws are more than adequately made up for from the warm and welcoming staff, the amazing views of the surroundings, the beautiful garden with the gazebo, the quiet environment. This is the place to be for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinakw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2010

A perfect representation of Tuscan architecture and style. This farmhouse is bound to impress you from the very first moment you arrive. It is a home away from home.Staff is super friendly with special kudos to Danielle who nursed my wife's sprained leg diligently and with such affection. We were on our honeymoon and wanted to relax and rewind at a quite place before we hit the wilderness of Roma. Fattoria Settemerli met all those expectations and much more. Yes, you do need a scooter or a car to travel to and fro to make your life easier. But also on the other hand to experience a real traditional Tuscan farmhouse you have to set base in the countryside. So all you readers, please ignore all the negative comments from in experienced travellers looking for a B&B or hotel room experience. This is a farmhouse! So cop on! Its top class.

Sid & Fredi
Ireland

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This place was simply beautiful. A restored 12th century farmhouse located on the outskirts of Florence with very pretty themed rooms (ours was a frog theme with even a bottle opener shaped like a frog). The people who own the place were extremely nice and cordial (not to forget the house parrot) and the breakfast menu was a delicious assortment of fresh farm produce. The surroundings are supposed to be a beautiful trek in itself but the weather during our trip did not offer us this opportunity.

If you are travelling with a heavy backpack please ensure that you notify the people in advance of your arrival timings for them to pick u up as it is quite a walk from the bus stop to the farmhouse. Frequency of buses from Florence is a bit of a problem. And in winter the area is going to be chillier than the rest of Florence, so go prepared.

In all, the place's a scenic beauty & a definite must for a romantic trip.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dushyantmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galluzzo
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,777 reviews
Fattoria Il Milione
#68 of 310 in Florence
110 reviews
La Fattoressa
#1 of 3 in Galluzzo
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sul Ponte
#3 of 3 in Galluzzo
29 reviews
I Parigi
#79 of 650 in Florence
251 reviews
B&B Ponte di Certosa
#256 of 650 in Florence
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Settemerli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Settemerli

Property: Fattoria Settemerli
Address: Via Volterrana 54 | Le Gore, 50124 Galluzzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Galluzzo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galluzzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria Settemerli 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fattoria Settemerli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Settemerli Province Of Florence/Galluzzo, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing