We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location. Unhelpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ambrosina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tavarnuzze
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This hotel is only accessible by car. You need to drive from the hotel to a bus parking lot to take the bus into Florence (about 30 mins on bus). The hotel staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful. Our TV did nto work and nobody bothered coming to look at it. The internet in our rooms did not work and nobody bothered to do anything about it (even though we paid for it). When we asked about the best way to get to florence we were pointed in the general direction of where the bus parking lot is supposed to be (not the easiest to find). The hotel staff also failed to mention that after a certain hour the bus number changes to get back into town. Very small rooms. Overall i was disappointed with this hotel. If the staff at least a little bit attemted to be more helpful our stay would have been significantly better.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a few nights. The hotel is located about 15=20 minutes from Florence but you have to have a car to get to it. The views from our window were breathtaking and air at night was crisp!
Breakfast spread is good. Large bathroom, nice bed.
If you want to visit Florence, front desk is more than accommodating with directions. You can take a car to the bus stop and leave it there for free. The bus comes every 15 minutes I think. It takes about 25 minutes to get to the central bus stop in Florence, nice and cheap ride!
The location of the hotel is also perfect for driving around Tuscany. It is about an hour to Pisa, same to Sienna. The front desk concierge showed us wine routes, ah, so wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maripusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Yes, the view is spectacular. Yes the price is sharp when you do an online booking (the rack rate is a ridiculous €150). But, as many posters have noted, it is way outside Florence and a seriously steep hill sits between the two. I suppose one could walk and catch the bus, but that way a lot of time would be wasted, so I would certainly recommend a car. Don't trust your GPS ... ours took us via the 'alternative route' which involved very narrow streets and an even steeper hill.

The rooms are neat and clean, and parking is lightly shaded. That's the good bit. The breakfast is unimaginative and the coffee, by European standards, is appalling. Our airco did not work which meant sleeping with the windows open. On the ground floor this felt like being in a zoo. During the night 6-legged beasties entered the open windows and remove bodily fluids from us. But the worst was that I reported the faulty airco to the desk mid-afternoon and was promised that it would be seen to. When arriving back at 10:30pm, there was no note and a hot room. That is NOT acceptable. I would have been happier with the broken toilet seat (points 2 posts down); at least it wouldn't itch.

If you are without a car, try somewhere along the bus route or closer to Florence. If you have a car, try somewhere without broken toilet seats or aircos.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedroinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We just got back..,stayed 3 nights in room 202 which had a wonderful view of the valley and top of the Florence Duomo from afar. Average price about 90 dollars per night. Food in the restaurant was good and fairly reasonably priced. We had a car, which was fairly essential for reaching to top of the hill. If you walked up it with bags, it could be a lot of work. Breakfast not too special, but got us out the door. Wifi kind of spotty, but two local networks were available and functioned acceptably. The bathroom floor could be slick when wet, but that's rue of any tile floor. Would be sort of hard to find without a good map or gps. Since we always took the "wrong" way up or down the hill, we didn't notice the restaurant at the bottom of the hill ( AS you go RIGHT out) until we left. it looked really cute. It was a little bit older and tatty in spots, but we really liked the place and recommend it highly. Heck, for 90 bucks I would even get one of the larger rooms facing north for the extra window space. Some of the double rooms looked pretty small...we checked a few out while they were being cleaned after people had checked out...and a couple look like they have not as nice of views. Our view, however, was awesome. Three thumbs up.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We have emailed this hotel twice while still in Italy, to give our views and asked for a refund if the overpayment but have not received any acknowledgement. Although the hotel is close to Florence, we had several problems.
1) We had not pre-booked and on enquiry when we arrived at the hotel were told by management that it was a FIVE star hotel and the reception desk tended to reflect this although the rooms didn't. We were told that the normal cost was Euro150 per night (NZ$300) but because of the time of year and the fact we were staying 2 nights we could have a room 100Euro per night (NZ$200 per night). During our checkout we were pre-booking our next hotel and the desk clerk in conversation remarked that the hotel we were enquiring about was the same rate as theirs - 80Euro per night. Because this remark raised doubts in our minds, we have since checked the star rating and the nightly charges for the hotel. The hotel is only listed on the internet with Expedia.com, Booking.com and Trip Adviser as 3 star - which is probably realistic - with a full price range of NZ$112 for std room to NZ160 for a family room. (From 56 to 80Euro per night). We were definitely overcharged and given the wrong star rating.
2) On arriving at our room, which was spacious, it did not reflect the 5 star description. On using the toilet I nearly flew into the shower glass as the toilet seat was not secured to the toilet bowl. There was also no plug in the bidet or any shampoo, soap etc. The hotel had to know that the toilet seat was insecure - you can't clean the seat without realising this. We went to the reception desk to advise them of the problem and we given shampoo etc, but the toilet seat problem was dismissed by us being told that the plumber didn't work at the weekend.
3) Next day, in daylight, we discovered that the car park area had numerous piles of dog excrement making it difficult to know where to park without getting our shoes soiled and transferring this into the car.
4) The restaurant has a different management, and is advertised as offering 10% discount to all hotel guests. This didn't happen.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldiesDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Thank you for a wonderful stay at this hotel. We had stayed there 4 years ago for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We were in Italy in August 2010 for three weeks and stayed at this hotel again for 8 nights. The staff was great, especially Victor. He was a great help in mapping out the interesting places and restaurant's to visit and has a wonderful personality, the hotel is very lucky to have him. The room was just what we had requested, a wonderful view of the Florence valley. Thank you to all the staff for making our trip to Italy very special! We will definitely stay at the Villa Ambrosina in the future when we visit Italy again. Julia & Ken Taylor (California) originally from England.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We loved this hotel, it has a beautiful view. We were a little concerned after arriving in Florence to find out that it was 20 minutes outside of the city. We were able to take a taxi for only 20 euro. Each morning we walked down the hill, which is pretty steep but only 10 minute walk to the bus stop. Loved this hotel, it was clean, ample room, the breakfast was nothing special but filled the stomach!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle4_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnuzze
3.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cesi
Hotel Villa Cesi
#4 of 6 in Impruneta
203 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Bellavista Impruneta
2.9 mi away
Lebbiano Residence
Lebbiano Residence
#2 of 5 in Scandicci
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Marzia
Hotel Marzia
#1 of 5 in Scandicci
383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo Olmi Grossi
Agriturismo Olmi Grossi
#2 of 6 in Impruneta
78 reviews
5.6 mi away
Italiana Hotels Florence
Italiana Hotels Florence
#174 of 410 in Florence
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ambrosina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ambrosina

Address: Via Montebuoni 95, 50023 Tavarnuzze, Impruneta, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Impruneta > Tavarnuzze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tavarnuzze
Price Range: £47 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Ambrosina 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Ambrosina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosina Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing