We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel we have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Ambrosina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ambrosina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tavarnuzze
Certificate of Excellence
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best hotel we have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

we had hired a car at malpensa , driven to venice stayed there for 3 nights then we drove down into tuscony and stayed at the amrosina for 4 nights it was very clean ,room was fantastic ,breakfast was also fantastic ,staff very freindly.The hill did not bother us as we had the car . TIP... do not us the restarant yes it is very clean with nice food,but it is usualy full of coach loads of tourists ,if you really want the true flavour of Tuscany, just at the bottom of the hill there is the most fantastic local restarant selling Tuscan specialitys ,steak, porcini mushrooms,wild boar ect.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavignaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    80
    22
    9
    9
See reviews for
40
75
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

The hill....many reviews talked about the hill that this sat atop. Nobody described it accurately. You either need a car, or be prepared to walk up VERY steep switchbacks for about a mile with your bags. The plus side is that the road winds through a beautiful residential area, and goes by some old churches, with beautiful views along the way.
After a lot of complaining from my family, once at the Villa Ambrosina, we were Thrilled. It is a beautifully maintained property with views of the valley that are STUNNING. The room was quite large, very clean and the bathroom was the largest we had while in Italy. If you have a car, or like to hike, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaylaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2006

The Hotel Villa Ambrosina is a lovely , warm and friendly hotel and staff on a hill overlooking the Chianti region. The view from our room was beautiful. The room was large, nicely decorated. The breakfast room was attractive also and the breakfast was delicious. We wished we could have stayed longer. It is a great location for touring Florence and all of Tuscany. A car is necessary however as the walk up the hill`is only for the very young.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Have a car
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firstson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2006

The worst hotel i have ever been!!! It is supposed to be an 3 star hotel, but it is an -1 star.
It has two buildings. One of them seems to be fine, as you can see in the photos in internet, but the other..... Ugly, dirty, broken... You can see my photos. The roof was blak because the wet, the were black fungi in the shower, the mirror was broken, the lamps dirty, behind the bed....better dont look because you can find diferents bugs and i believe that never has been cleaned...
I booked there because i saw the photos, but i was in another one, old, dirty....
I had booked 4 nights, and i asked to change the room. They answered me that it was not possible because i had paid 50E and thas was the room for that price, but even they could, there was not disponibility in the other building. With that anwer i looked for another hotel, because we could not stay there more and we felt swindled.
Next day, when we said that we were leaving the hotel they told us that we had to pay 4 night although we had stayed 2 because we had booked 4. They offered us another room in the other building, but we wanted to leave. We had to pay 3 nights. They insisted that we had not complaint before, but i think that with this photos no complaint is needed...

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Unpolitenes
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Alsayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2006

I wish we had seen the review from the Chicago tripadvisor member about that steep hill before we traveled to Villa Ambrosina!!

Don’t get me wrong, this is a beautiful hotel set with breathtaking views. There is an adjoining restaurant that has great staff and delicious food. My sister thought the spaghetti dish at the restaurant was one of the best she’s had. The room was big and clean and the price was great.

BUT (1) we did not realize how far outside of Florence this hotel is located. Our only consolation is that the bus stop is just down the hill and it’s a scenic ride.

(2) That infamous hill to reach the hotel is no joke! We had to let the hotel staff know how displeased we were to walk up and down the hill in order to get around. A taxi is about 25 euros and can be expensive if you want to do anything away from the hotel. Stay here if you are fit or you plan to rent a car.

  • Liked — The view and the price
  • Disliked — The hill!
  • Tips/Secrets — Rent a car
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTraveller-Bajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2006

We stayed at Villa Ambrosina for one night in July. It's a beautiful mansion newly refurbished into a hotel (according to the front desk, they have only been open for 3 months).

The rooms are very nicely decorated and well-appointed with stuccoed walls and Tuscan-style furniture and decor. They are larger then average in Italy. Bathrooms are very nice with large showers. Air conditioning was ice cold. The bed was very firm as are most beds in Italy.

The hotel is only about 20 minute drive from downtown Florence, and sits on top of a steep hill in a small town of Tavernuzze. It has an ample parking, and a wonderful restaurant next door (although it appears as if attached to the hotel, it is an independent establishment). The breakfast was served in a room upstairs and was about average - just standard continental fare, no eggs or hot dishes.

One caveat: bugs. Even though we kept the window closed, mosquitoes still found their way into our room. My girlfriend said she was showering with 4 of them circling overhead. The hotel provided a bug-repellent plug-in (looks like a scented plug for the electrical outlet) - had we used that, we would not have had the mosquito problem. Other than that, our stay was great, and the staff helpful.

As for accessibility - do not even think about staying there if you don't have a car, unless you enjoy hiking up a steep hill.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ladausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2006

WE stayed at The Villa Ambrosina on the 13th -16th of May 2006
The staff were wonderful, they couldn't have been more helpful.
The room was great with a terrific view of the valley of Florence.
I hope we get another opportunity to visit this Villa in the very near future, some of our fondest memories of Italy are at this Hotel...Thank you to the staff for making our visit to Italy a very special one!!
Julia & Ken Taylor

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnuzze
2.4 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Bellavista Impruneta
3.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cesi
Hotel Villa Cesi
#4 of 6 in Impruneta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Agriturismo Olmi Grossi
Agriturismo Olmi Grossi
#3 of 6 in Impruneta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Grifone Firenze
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#245 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
4.0 mi away
Art Hotel Villa Agape
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#14 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ambrosina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ambrosina

Property: Hotel Villa Ambrosina
Address: Via Montebuoni 95, 50023 Tavarnuzze, Impruneta, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Impruneta > Tavarnuzze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tavarnuzze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Ambrosina 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Ambrosina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosina Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing