We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view from the hills to the see”

Ristorante Al Convento
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Scarlino
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful view from the hills to the see”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had dinner in the garden, very pleasant atmosphere. We ordered an appetizer of salami with fennel and raw ham. After that Luca, the owner suggested us a tipical fiorentina, t-bone with grilled vegetables and potatoes. The meat was very good. A bottle of local red wine and some water. We didn't have dessert, no more space after such a piece of meat!!!
We often visit Tuscany and we will come back to this restaurant. We suggest it!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Passa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    106
    50
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“excellent dinner with a final surprise”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We ended up here because we wanted to try something off the beaten track, away from the seaside. The evening was so beautiful, which of course contributed to the magic of the location. The view from the terrazza is lovely! We were very surprised to find out that the restaurant has a small (hence thumbs up) list including several fish dishes. In fact I was expecting more meat-y fare as Scarlino is inland and has a long reputation for traditional 'maremmana' cuisine. The food was very good, and service friendly. The owner and his sister are chatty and companionable. The sweets were a bit of a let down but overall, I must say that I am quite pleased with my choice. Ambience quiet and romantic, although they also cater for groups. Trade seemed to be steady.
My final surprise arrived with the bill. Somehow staff must have overheard that we were celebrating my birthday -- (house) wine, beer, and cakes were on the house!
Strongly recommended. Beautiful location, characterful restaurant, good quality food and good prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FranBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is hands down the most beautiful dinner setting in the whole Marema region! Catch a reservation during sunset and you'll never forget the evening. The food is fantastic! The home style ragu is simply delicious and both the fiorentina and the tagliata will satisfy any meat-lover.

High marks for this beautiful restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had no reservation and were very fortunate to find a free table for dinner on a Friday night. The atmospehere of the place is wonderful - the view, the medieval town of Scarlino... And the food! We just loved it! Will definately come back if we are around next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariaska2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

If you happen to dine at Al Convento restaurant in Scarlino/Toscany, you will not notice how is the time passing by. I saw people not leaving their tables for hours, even have finished their meal, enjoying the magnificient panorama. Sunset leaves the sky orange, turning then into dark blue with stars on matching the candels light on the table. Old apricot tree's right in the middle of the garden. In case it rains one can choose a table inside the Al Convento's tower, watching the hills from above.
The food is delicious. The amblience is excellent. Warm reception. Al Convento is the restaurant that has a kind of Fairytale odeur, that draws you to come back).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Al Convento also viewed

Scarlino, Province of Grosseto
Scarlino, Province of Grosseto
 
Scarlino Scalo, Scarlino
Scarlino, Province of Grosseto
 
Gavorrano, Province of Grosseto
Gavorrano, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Ristorante Al Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing