We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferme Lizarraga

Ferme Lizarraga
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Urrugne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$54
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

It is a bit of searching, because the entrance way is a small road in between the farmland, but when you get there: Very good food, great service, excellent wines and a very nice ambiance. Eat here at least once! Staff speaks english (the daughter at least).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle_Rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    84
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Hard to beat - and how to find this and other restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Just had an excellent meal here - good food, great ambiance in an old farmhouse and - the best recommendation of all - clearly patronised by the locals. Having trawled the commune of Urrugne for restaurants fellow travellers may find the following helpful:-
Arroenia is in Behobie which conurbates with Hendaye - ie miles from the village of Urrugne. It doesn't open until 20.00 in the evenings. First the right coming from Urrugne.
Milesker and Zoko are in the newer area of the commune near Socoa - more or less downhill from the motorway junction.
Restaurant de la Plage is also in Socoa but very close to the old port. If it were on the other side of the road it would still be in Socoa but would be in the commune of Ciboure which Trip Advisor combines with St Jean de Luz. Clear??
There are 2 auberges with restaurants in the village of Urrugne - these are not currently listed by Trip Advisor under restaurants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, perfect service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

A truly great restaurant, attentive service, the owner is lovely and always cheerful! The food was exquisite, everything we ordered was a hit and beautifully presented! We go back whenever we are in the Basque country as it is one of our favourite restaurants!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garotinha7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

Perfect combination of rustic food cooked and presented to a really high standard. We went here twice and everything I ate was delicious, particularly the blood sausage with green lentils - definitely my favourite. Service was friendly and professional, and the setting is really beautiful. A real highlight of our honeymoon in the Basque country!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jrowett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazingly Creative Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Next door to Chateau d'Urtubie where we stayed. Dined there twice for dinner. Gracious, involved owner and young creative chef. Unbeatable combination. Locally sourced ingredients including seafood. Perfectly small and balanced wine list. The restaurant stays true to it's Basque roots. We enjoyed both fish and meat dishes immensely. We only wish we had such a place so creative with local ingredients where we live!!! Can't wait to return!! Try to dine outside if weather permits!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferme Lizarraga also viewed

Urrugne, Basque Country
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
 
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
Guethary, Basque Country
 
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
Urrugne, Basque Country
 

Been to Ferme Lizarraga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing