We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little B&B with most welcoming hosts.”
Review of Chateau Le Baudou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Le Baudou
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coutras
Northumberland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lovely little B&B with most welcoming hosts.”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Our hosts were a delightful couple (I cannot understand a previous review....) who were courteous, helpful and informative. Le Baudou offers good accomodation - a charming music room and library for guests' exclusive use -and an excellent and copious petit-dejeuner which was beautifully presented... all at a very reasonable price.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amf-Northumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Good location for nearby wine regions, with spacious rooms (eccentric plumbing) and pleasant breakfast in the library. The owners could have provided written information in the rooms for guests, for example on good restaurants in the vicinity - the nearby town of Coutras we discovered is best avoided; or additional facilities available at the B&B (only discovered later that a refrigerator is available for use of guests). Car parking is some distance away and at night no lighting is available to guide the way to the house - I stumbled over an obstacle en route and fell. Although wifi was promised we could not get any connection. With a little more thought and effort this B&B could be reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jem64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Very high value for money option. Charming and welcoming hosts. Just right. Flexible, polite, non intrusive. We enjoyed the delicious home made and personalised breakfast served in the 19th century library and or the music room. Very enjoyable. Rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious. Large park. Closely situated to the river, so nice walks are possible. We went there with 2 kids and asking for extra bed is not a problem. At 110 euros a night for 2 adults and 2 children, plus breakfast, it is difficult to ask for more.
David

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The owners are so charming, the Bed and Breakfast rooms are extremely clean, charming and practical. The "gite" part is an alternative that we tried as well (we were 2 adults and 3 kids) that combines the atmosphere of your own private cocoon and the B&B experience + an amazing indoor pool!

We have been to a lot of Bed & Breakfast in the world, this is one of the very best we have ever experience.

Room Tip: Just trust the owners, they will find you what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xavierjoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

We had hoped to stay a few nights at the Closerie de Fronsac but it was not available for the nights we requested. I asked the owner if she could make any suggestions of nearby B&B's and she suggested the Chateau le Baudou, near Coutras. This is a lovely place and although a little bit off the beaten path, it provided a nice place to discover the nearby town of St Emilion. When we arrived we were shown to our lovely room complete with an enormous, gorgeous Louis XVIth armoire. The bathroom was just separated from the main room by a curtain but suited our needs just fine. Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room and each day we were served different homemade cakes in addition to bread/jam and butter. The owners were very helpful with recommending things to do and see in the area (I was speaking in French with them but I think their English is probably good). The only drawback is that the two nearby villages -Guitres and Coutras-did not seem to offer much in the way of food, so dinner both nights involved a 15-20 minute drive into Montagne (le Presbytere, which did an excellent meal at a nice price) or St. Emilion. If you are looking for a place where you can walk out for dinner in the evening, this is probably not the best option. But we had a pleasant stay here and would recommend it if you are looking for a base from which to explore St Emilion and the area.

Helpful?
Thank meg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coutras
1.1 mi away
Henri IV
Henri IV
#1 of 3 in Coutras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
10.7 mi away
Les Tuileries de Chanteloup
Les Tuileries de Chanteloup
#1 of 2 in La Roche Chalais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
9.6 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Bon Duc
7.8 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Roques
Chateau Fleur de Roques
#1 of 1 in Puisseguin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Libourne
Ibis Budget Libourne
#5 of 8 in Libourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Le Baudou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Le Baudou

Property: Chateau Le Baudou
Address: 7 Lieu Dit les Jourdennes, 33230 Coutras, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Coutras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coutras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Le Baudou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing