We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets”

Relais & Chateaux Michel Trama
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Puymirol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$95 - US$191
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salles, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have eaten here on and off over the last 14 years and this was the first time we have stayed.
The room was spotless, beautiful decorated and furnished with antiques and it lacked for nothing.

The food was a good as it has always been. Imaginative, beautiful to look at and a great tasting. He is one of France's top chefs and it shows, but his team must be very good too. There was nothing to fault, we ate outside in the pretty court yard, the service, the wine and of course the food were to the highest standard
The breakfast was to the same.

It is a very expensive place but the quality is second to none. And you get what you pay for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul and Janett... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    37
    22
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Michel Trama is one of the great French Chef. Talent, perfection and signature plates that will impress the newcomer who did not heard of MT yet.
Taste, innovation, mixing of savors... from succulent duck, pigeon, to foie gras sucette, amazing fish, lobster in different preparations with the freshness of the veggies from his own bio garden... The master of Puymirol knows his art and could easily get back his 3* if not for the lack of worrying for the little extra service and personnalisation that helps it, otherwise in the plate its SUBLIME, DIVINE, TOP, AMAZING...
Bravo CHEF
PS: Of course the boutique hotel is gorgeous with designer rooms and a charming swimming pool patio...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our tasting menu got off to a great start with a small slice of a terrine of foie gras, its richness balanced by thin slices of beets and crystalline shards of the same vegetable in an acidulated dressing. A refreshing cold tomato tart followed comprised of the tiniest cherry tomatoes on a thin crisp pastry base was lifted by its herb garnish.

Next, crunchy tagliatelle-like strands of turnip in a creamy sauce in which sat the runny yolk of a quail's egg and tiny batons of smoked bacon - a turnip carbonara (!) - delicious and original. A raviolo of shellfish submerged in a thai-influenced sauce followed. Flavours of lemon grass, ginger and coconut milk were so beautifully balanced and delicious, our only caveat centred on fears that whatever was served next would pale into insignificance. A creamy risotto made solely with the tiniest florets of cauliflower proved to be a completely successful answer.

Wonderfully, tender pigeon and a fondant cube of braised beef were somewhat overpowered by over-reduced sauces but any disappointment evaporated with the arrival of the quartet of deserts which followed. These were miniature versions of Trama classics - a thyme flavoured cream topped with a thin layer of jelly; the wonderfully conceived crystalline de pomme vert comprised a marvellously balanced granny smith sorbet into which the thinnest imaginable slices of crunchy crystallised apple had been inserted; leaves of bittersweet chocolate in the shape of a teardrop encased a mouse of chocolate and a tart griottine cherry; and finally a miniature version of his 'double corona' - a tuille perfectly shaped to look like a cigar filled with a caramel coloured cream accompanied by another tuille shaped like a miniature tobacco leaf all miraculously having the flavour of tobacco and pepper.

Michel Trama's inventive cooking and ability to balance flavours and textures marks him out as a one of the great chefs. We very much enjoyed our dinner but the (albeit minor) lapses in service and a tangible absence of the sense of generosity and warmth which defines the great restaurants needs to be addressed if that third star is to be regained.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fuggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quality all the way!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We where 12 people on a business trip. And one of our stops was to the famouse 2 stars Michelin restaurant Michel Trama. When our bus arrived there was 3 waiters running out on the street to welcome us. There was a mixup with our reservation so we didn't have reservation before next saturday. But the managed to set up a table in their garden. It was beutiful set up. First we took some champagne before we got our first starters. We took the Menu des Bastides witch was a five dishes. They also put some resting dishes between. The meals was beatuful set up and the food tasted wonderful. I tried the rabbit as main course, it really was a great experience. The Menu costs 110 Euro (145 USD) without the wine. We had 4 differnt wines trough the meal. And the total cost was about 2000 USD for 12 persons. It was a great experiance. Totally recommend this Restaurant. LUPS

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PetterN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frespech, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Arrived to beautiful courtyard. Service was excellent and the food excellent.
Chef Michel Trama made his rounds. Will be going back next year for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCLOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Relais & Chateaux Michel Trama also viewed

Puymirol, Lot-et-Garonne
Agen, Lot-et-Garonne
 
Agen, Lot-et-Garonne
 

Been to Relais & Chateaux Michel Trama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing