We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Women”
Review of Trennerys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trennerys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kei Mouth
Certificate of Excellence
East London, South Africa
1 review
“Wild Women”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I visited Trennerys with 18 other women who were running from East London to Mazeppa Bay. We were all enormously impressed by the decor, the rooms, the food, the friendly and efficient service and the amazing "tropical island" atmosphere of the Hotel. Some of us were back already the next week end and the rest of us will be back soon with families!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim Van Kets W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
To our dear "Wild Women" thank you so much for the review. We can really say that we loved having you all to stay and so look forward to welcoming you al back with your friends and family's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    174
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
168
136
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent 4 days of our honeymoon in December at Trennerey's and our only regret is that we did not stay longer. What an amazing place! Beautiful location, EXCELLENT food (especially the seafood buffet!), friendly service, amazing private beach, great cocktails, swimming pool and overall relaxing peace on earth. We will definitively be going there again. The only improvement could have been an aircon in the room, but that would not prevent us from going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RduPreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Our Honeymoon couples are very special to us. We are so glad you could come and relax and enjoy your special time with us, and hope that we will see you again soon - possibly even that first anniversary?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A laid back situation with Wild Coast ambiance, comfortable rooms with acceptable beds and linen.
Food good - taking into account the remote location, staff pleasant and willing but don't expect anything in a hurry, this is the back of beyond remember.
From Kei Mouth you board a ferry with your car, then bump along sand roads thru rural Transkei for quite a bit to get to your destination which adds to the experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0llyR0dger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your review and comments we really appreciate it. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Wild Coast is a very special place to just take time out relax, revive and restore. We hope you will be back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Trennery's is the perfect Family Break, Its back to basics approach offers the perfect opportunity for families to reconnect and bond. I had three kids 11, 9 and 5 and they all enjoyed themselves. Special Mention to the Staff and Management that literally go out of they way to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review. You are so right, Trennerys is special and a time to relax, revive and restore. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had the most amazing stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for some time out. Thank you to the staff who were all fantastic. The food was increible and overall the ambiance was one of comfort and relaxation. We will be back as soon as we can and will use Trennerys as out sanity check from the city life. Thank you to all the staff who made out stay so great!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we hope that you will be back here sooner than later so we can look after you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Having stayed at the hotel 30 years ago we were returning with high expectations. The food was great, the service was more than adequate but the room was in definate need of overhaul. The pool provides a focal point for the hotel and was fantastic. The drawback is that the beach is a fair distance from the hotel especially if slackpacking as we were doing. Overall though a good experience.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your review. Trennerys is a place where you leave the world behind and join us to relax, revive and restore. It is rustic and remote and the beaches are foot print free.
We hope you will be back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I had high expectations of Trennery's based on various friends and family reports. While everyone is very nice and accommodating, I found the hotel tired, in need of maintenance, the bar and restaurant staff friendly but unhelpful and lacking initiative, and the food mostly very average, some even inedible. We still had a nice time, but it needs work to get me back, specially at that price

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your review and comments, they are noted. Trennerys is a little rustic hotel where you take time out from the world to relax, revive and restore, we hope that you got to make some memories in our sand! Please return perhaps in one of our low or mid seasons?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kei Mouth
13.6 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
143 reviews
22.3 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
300 reviews
22.3 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
24.7 mi away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
14.9 mi away
Miarestate
Miarestate
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trennerys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trennerys Hotel

Property: Trennerys Hotel
Address: | Wild Coast, Qolora Mouth, Kei Mouth, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Kei Mouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kei Mouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trennerys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The scenic splendour of the rugged Wild Coast makes Trennerys Hotel the perfect destination for the wild at heart – a place that abounds with the peace and tranquillity of paradise… Situated at Qolora Mouth, just a short drive north of East London, the hotel still maintains its old-world charm and its unique, South African hospitality. Set in idyllic Transkei surroundings, views from the hotel range from the stunning Wild Coast beaches to the green and lush, tropical vegetation. Close to the beach and with plenty to do – from hiking and cycling, to fishing and canoeing – Trennerys Hotel is everybody’s first-choice, affordable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Trennerys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing