We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an accomodating palce!”
Review of Trennerys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trennerys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kei Mouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The staff at Trennery's are wonderful. Which is great considering what a challenge it is to get there (taking a pontoon across the Kei River then driving miles of bumpy, rain-soaked road). But the drive is TOTALLY worth it!

The hotel is a quiet and peaceful sanctuary WAY off the beaten path. The beach is quiet and uncrowded, the lagoon is tranquil and there's something really cool about seeing cows on the beach!

We took a couple of tours with Trevor's Trails: one to some AMAZING waterfalls and the other to Trevor's "secret" lagoon and the wreck of the Jacaranda. Trevor and his assistant, Carlos, made both experiences magical and memorable!

My only complaint about the hotel is that the doors in our room didn't close well or easily (the whole wall next to the door wobbled). Everything could have used some upkeep but it was the "off season."

P.S. The Vervet Monkeys wake up early!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizaBragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We love Trennerys it is our little piece of heaven, so we are so glad that you could share it with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for Trennerys Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

I visited Trennerys with 18 other women who were running from East London to Mazeppa Bay. We were all enormously impressed by the decor, the rooms, the food, the friendly and efficient service and the amazing "tropical island" atmosphere of the Hotel. Some of us were back already the next week end and the rest of us will be back soon with families!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kim Van Kets W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

To our dear "Wild Women" thank you so much for the review. We can really say that we loved having you all to stay and so look forward to welcoming you al back with your friends and family's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent 4 days of our honeymoon in December at Trennerey's and our only regret is that we did not stay longer. What an amazing place! Beautiful location, EXCELLENT food (especially the seafood buffet!), friendly service, amazing private beach, great cocktails, swimming pool and overall relaxing peace on earth. We will definitively be going there again. The only improvement could have been an aircon in the room, but that would not prevent us from going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RduPreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Our Honeymoon couples are very special to us. We are so glad you could come and relax and enjoy your special time with us, and hope that we will see you again soon - possibly even that first anniversary?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A laid back situation with Wild Coast ambiance, comfortable rooms with acceptable beds and linen.
Food good - taking into account the remote location, staff pleasant and willing but don't expect anything in a hurry, this is the back of beyond remember.
From Kei Mouth you board a ferry with your car, then bump along sand roads thru rural Transkei for quite a bit to get to your destination which adds to the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J0llyR0dger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for your review and comments we really appreciate it. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Wild Coast is a very special place to just take time out relax, revive and restore. We hope you will be back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Trennery's is the perfect Family Break, Its back to basics approach offers the perfect opportunity for families to reconnect and bond. I had three kids 11, 9 and 5 and they all enjoyed themselves. Special Mention to the Staff and Management that literally go out of they way to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you so much for your review. You are so right, Trennerys is special and a time to relax, revive and restore. We hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had the most amazing stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for some time out. Thank you to the staff who were all fantastic. The food was increible and overall the ambiance was one of comfort and relaxation. We will be back as soon as we can and will use Trennerys as out sanity check from the city life. Thank you to all the staff who made out stay so great!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we hope that you will be back here sooner than later so we can look after you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Having stayed at the hotel 30 years ago we were returning with high expectations. The food was great, the service was more than adequate but the room was in definate need of overhaul. The pool provides a focal point for the hotel and was fantastic. The drawback is that the beach is a fair distance from the hotel especially if slackpacking as we were doing. Overall though a good experience.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the bar area
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for your review. Trennerys is a place where you leave the world behind and join us to relax, revive and restore. It is rustic and remote and the beaches are foot print free.
We hope you will be back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kei Mouth
7.1 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
442 reviews
13.6 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
143 reviews
22.3 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
364 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mitford Hotel
Mitford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Morgan's Bay
38 reviews
23.1 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trennerys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trennerys Hotel

Address: | Wild Coast, Qolora Mouth, Kei Mouth, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Kei Mouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kei Mouth
Price Range: £78 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trennerys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The scenic splendour of the rugged Wild Coast makes Trennerys Hotel the perfect destination for the wild at heart – a place that abounds with the peace and tranquillity of paradise… Situated at Qolora Mouth, just a short drive north of East London, the hotel still maintains its old-world charm and its unique, South African hospitality. Set in idyllic Transkei surroundings, views from the hotel range from the stunning Wild Coast beaches to the green and lush, tropical vegetation. Close to the beach and with plenty to do – from hiking and cycling, to fishing and canoeing – Trennerys Hotel is everybody’s first-choice, affordable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Trennerys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing