We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun and honest value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trennerys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trennerys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kei Mouth
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great fun and honest value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Having been to Trennerys a few years ago, I was again reminded why I enjoyed it. This visit was with my family, and we had an absolute blast. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean, the food is good, the facilities are in good working order ... The list goes on, we'll definitely be back ...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JustinZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Justin thank you for the review. we were so happy to have you return and stay with us again after a few years, we appreciate your comments and really hope that this time your next visit will be less then a few years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    160
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
156
123
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The staff at Trennery's are wonderful. Which is great considering what a challenge it is to get there (taking a pontoon across the Kei River then driving miles of bumpy, rain-soaked road). But the drive is TOTALLY worth it!

The hotel is a quiet and peaceful sanctuary WAY off the beaten path. The beach is quiet and uncrowded, the lagoon is tranquil and there's something really cool about seeing cows on the beach!

We took a couple of tours with Trevor's Trails: one to some AMAZING waterfalls and the other to Trevor's "secret" lagoon and the wreck of the Jacaranda. Trevor and his assistant, Carlos, made both experiences magical and memorable!

My only complaint about the hotel is that the doors in our room didn't close well or easily (the whole wall next to the door wobbled). Everything could have used some upkeep but it was the "off season."

P.S. The Vervet Monkeys wake up early!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizaBragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We love Trennerys it is our little piece of heaven, so we are so glad that you could share it with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I visited Trennerys with 18 other women who were running from East London to Mazeppa Bay. We were all enormously impressed by the decor, the rooms, the food, the friendly and efficient service and the amazing "tropical island" atmosphere of the Hotel. Some of us were back already the next week end and the rest of us will be back soon with families!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim Van Kets W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
To our dear "Wild Women" thank you so much for the review. We can really say that we loved having you all to stay and so look forward to welcoming you al back with your friends and family's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent 4 days of our honeymoon in December at Trennerey's and our only regret is that we did not stay longer. What an amazing place! Beautiful location, EXCELLENT food (especially the seafood buffet!), friendly service, amazing private beach, great cocktails, swimming pool and overall relaxing peace on earth. We will definitively be going there again. The only improvement could have been an aircon in the room, but that would not prevent us from going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RduPreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Our Honeymoon couples are very special to us. We are so glad you could come and relax and enjoy your special time with us, and hope that we will see you again soon - possibly even that first anniversary?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

A laid back situation with Wild Coast ambiance, comfortable rooms with acceptable beds and linen.
Food good - taking into account the remote location, staff pleasant and willing but don't expect anything in a hurry, this is the back of beyond remember.
From Kei Mouth you board a ferry with your car, then bump along sand roads thru rural Transkei for quite a bit to get to your destination which adds to the experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0llyR0dger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your review and comments we really appreciate it. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Wild Coast is a very special place to just take time out relax, revive and restore. We hope you will be back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Trennery's is the perfect Family Break, Its back to basics approach offers the perfect opportunity for families to reconnect and bond. I had three kids 11, 9 and 5 and they all enjoyed themselves. Special Mention to the Staff and Management that literally go out of they way to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review. You are so right, Trennerys is special and a time to relax, revive and restore. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had the most amazing stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for some time out. Thank you to the staff who were all fantastic. The food was increible and overall the ambiance was one of comfort and relaxation. We will be back as soon as we can and will use Trennerys as out sanity check from the city life. Thank you to all the staff who made out stay so great!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we hope that you will be back here sooner than later so we can look after you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kei Mouth
7.1 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
13.6 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
22.3 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
14.9 mi away
Miarestate
Miarestate
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trennerys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trennerys Hotel

Property: Trennerys Hotel
Address: Qolora Mouth | Wild Coast, Kei Mouth 5260, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Kei Mouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kei Mouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trennerys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The scenic splendour of the rugged Wild Coast makes Trennerys Hotel the perfect destination for the wild at heart – a place that abounds with the peace and tranquillity of paradise… Situated at Qolora Mouth, just a short drive north of East London, the hotel still maintains its old-world charm and its unique, South African hospitality. Set in idyllic Transkei surroundings, views from the hotel range from the stunning Wild Coast beaches to the green and lush, tropical vegetation. Close to the beach and with plenty to do – from hiking and cycling, to fishing and canoeing – Trennerys Hotel is everybody’s first-choice, affordable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Trennerys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing