We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 year anniversary + both our birthdays”
Review of Trennerys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trennerys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kei Mouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Food was awesome and bar ladies are on the ball.
Very friendly staff and was a pleasure to stay there.
Cocktails are well priced and was the highlight of the trip.
One flat tyre en route to Trennerys - Road is not in great shape (No fault of Trennerys obviously).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you so much for your review, it was our pleasure to host you at Trennerys Hotel we are thrilled that you had a great time and we hope to see you back here very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lovely setting. Lovely food and friendly people. We felt refreshed and energized after our week( walking to the ship wreck and relaxing at the pool). Our room could do with some work to revive it again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you so much for your review and comments, we take all our comments to heart so appreciate the feedback. We are really happy that you could relax and unwind after your wedding. Hope to see you back again - possibly for your 1 year anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

It was an incredibly busy weekend - Easter! A lovely spot with friendly staff but quite noisey with the television in the bar at full blast - the South Africans love thier sport! There was a power shortage which caused a problem with the hot water but that wasn't their fault!
As with everyone we met in SA - really helpful and keen that you have a good time. I would certainly return but maybe when it isn't quite so busy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We count ourselves so blessed that we are such a busy hotel and yes Easter is a very busy weekend. We are so glad that you had a good time and I think you have summed us "South African's" very well we sure do love our sport. We really do hope you will return and perhaps out of season time would be a good time for you, and we will make sure to put you in one of our very secluded chalets so you can enjoy the beauty of Trennerys and surrounds in peace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Drove over for a drink from Seagulls hotel with 2 small friendly dogs on leashes that had been made very welcome there. Wanted to have a look with the view to bringing a large party of friends for a weekend, not having been to either hotel before. Security guard at gate waved us in but as we alighted from car, very officious man rushed up and told us we could not stay as he had a dog that would attack mine if we came in! Very bad first impression and begs the questions - should one keep an aggressive dog at a resort? Does the dog bring in enough custom to warrant chasing away people who want to come and spend money? Surely the dog could have been kept closed off for a short time while we looked around and had a drink?
Turns out it was the same dog that played with mine at Seagulls hotel during the day. He is a regular visitor there!!!! What's wrong with this guys attitude?

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank JennyLR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your response. We would like to point out that we do have a strict "no animals allowed policy" the reason for this is that time after time - people have told us that they have 2 small dogs or 1 tiny little well behaved doggy - and on arrival there are 2 huge dogs or even 3 or 4. So we have resorted to this policy. Poncho is Trennerys dog and belongs to the GM and his wife. He is somewhat of a legend in the area and the sweetest little Jack Russell you have ever met. He is very well behaved and very loved by all. On the night that you arrived with your 2 fairly large dogs we had a 100% full Hotel with a large group of Dutch foreign visitors. If our manager came across a bit harsh or unwelcoming or perhaps did not explain 100% we do apologise. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and love our customers. We would love to welcome you back to Trennerys - yes it would need to be minus the dogs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The management staff, Sherwin,Judy,Rob and Gerhard plus all the bar,room and general hotel employee's were very friendly, keen to be of assistance and went out of their way to ensure that we had a great stay. It is quiet and a place were you can unwind. The food was exceptionally good. Difficult to know how they do it for the rate they charge. The property needs a little TLC but that did not take away from the pleasure of our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for your review and comments.it is great to note that our guests feels they have received value for their money and experienced a wonderful time with us. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Having been to Trennerys a few years ago, I was again reminded why I enjoyed it. This visit was with my family, and we had an absolute blast. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean, the food is good, the facilities are in good working order ... The list goes on, we'll definitely be back ...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JustinZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Justin thank you for the review. we were so happy to have you return and stay with us again after a few years, we appreciate your comments and really hope that this time your next visit will be less then a few years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The staff at Trennery's are wonderful. Which is great considering what a challenge it is to get there (taking a pontoon across the Kei River then driving miles of bumpy, rain-soaked road). But the drive is TOTALLY worth it!

The hotel is a quiet and peaceful sanctuary WAY off the beaten path. The beach is quiet and uncrowded, the lagoon is tranquil and there's something really cool about seeing cows on the beach!

We took a couple of tours with Trevor's Trails: one to some AMAZING waterfalls and the other to Trevor's "secret" lagoon and the wreck of the Jacaranda. Trevor and his assistant, Carlos, made both experiences magical and memorable!

My only complaint about the hotel is that the doors in our room didn't close well or easily (the whole wall next to the door wobbled). Everything could have used some upkeep but it was the "off season."

P.S. The Vervet Monkeys wake up early!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizaBragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We love Trennerys it is our little piece of heaven, so we are so glad that you could share it with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kei Mouth
7.1 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
458 reviews
13.7 mi away
Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering
22.3 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
382 reviews
23.1 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
21.9 mi away
Cintsa Lodge
Cintsa Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chintsa
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trennerys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trennerys Hotel

Address: Qolora Mouth | Wild Coast, Qolora Mouth, Kei Mouth, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Kei Mouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kei Mouth
Price Range: £74 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trennerys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The scenic splendour of the rugged Wild Coast makes Trennerys Hotel the perfect destination for the wild at heart – a place that abounds with the peace and tranquillity of paradise… Situated at Qolora Mouth, just a short drive north of East London, the hotel still maintains its old-world charm and its unique, South African hospitality. Set in idyllic Transkei surroundings, views from the hotel range from the stunning Wild Coast beaches to the green and lush, tropical vegetation. Close to the beach and with plenty to do – from hiking and cycling, to fishing and canoeing – Trennerys Hotel is everybody’s first-choice, affordable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Trennerys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing