We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Batteries Recharged”
Review of Trennerys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trennerys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kei Mouth
Certificate of Excellence
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Batteries Recharged”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Camping in our camper at the campsite. Very impressed with wide ,hot and clean ablution blocks. Relaxed atmosphere. Enjoyed our time there and will definately come again and bring friends along.
Keep it up.
Kind regards
Steven and Charlotte Vorster and Vlooi

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
So great to get a review of our camp site , we think it is lovely and something special especially being able to also use all the hotel facilities. We are thrilled you had such a great time and hope to see you back here again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    163
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
160
126
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a great time there. The seafood platter was a lovely surprise mid week. Pity we couldn't go up the river as the boat motor was out of action. I think a written menu for all meals would be an advantage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sterna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your review, we are thrilled that you had a wonderful time with us and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

the area around trennerys is amazing, the service offered is brilliant, it was friendly and of high standard. the food served was great could not have asked for more. I chose trennerys to get engaged to my Fiancé and after doing it there I would not have wanted to do it anywhere else. thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Kurt, thank you for your review, oh please send us some photos of the engagement, how special that you chose us to propose. Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you got to leave some of your memories in our sand.
leigh@jhgroup.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a 5 day walk. Although near the sea, it does not have sea views from rooms. However, gardens very pleasant to look at.
Rooms are varied. We stayed in a round cabin which was spacious but it could do with some updating. Saw monkeys and various birds from bedroom window.
Nice bar area inside and out overlooking small pool.
Large pool table and darts area. Very pleasant sitting room.
Food of good standard.
Enjoyed walk to Jacaranda shipwreck.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DacLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your review, the meander is an amazing experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at Trennerys Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have been going to Trennerys for many years, and I must just say it has got better and better. Food is really good now, as is service and accommodation. It always had all the natural beauty and was located in an excellent position, but accommodation has improved so much!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review and feedback. Sherwin and his team put their heart and souls into keeping Trennerys as special and amazing as it is. Thank you for visiting us over the last 20 years , and we hope you will visit us you for the next 20 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The stay was great and the staff were exceptionally good. Our room (rm 6) we felt was not according to standard. This room should be utilised for another purpose or turned into a single room for perhaps a lower rate. We stayed 5 nights and after seeing the rest of the units, we were a little dissapointed with regards. However, despite this we still enjoyed our stay, even though the weather was dismal for 3 of the 5 days.
Please could you look at your board games, as during the heavy rains, there was not much to do and half the games were incomplete or broken.
The food was awesome!
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kirsten O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review and your comments, much appreciated. A pity about your weather, we hope that you will return perhaps in the summer and that the weather will be perfect for you. your comments have been noted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Food was awesome and bar ladies are on the ball.
Very friendly staff and was a pleasure to stay there.
Cocktails are well priced and was the highlight of the trip.
One flat tyre en route to Trennerys - Road is not in great shape (No fault of Trennerys obviously).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review, it was our pleasure to host you at Trennerys Hotel we are thrilled that you had a great time and we hope to see you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kei Mouth
7.1 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
13.6 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
22.3 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
14.9 mi away
Miarestate
Miarestate
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trennerys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trennerys Hotel

Property: Trennerys Hotel
Address: | Wild Coast, Qolora Mouth, Kei Mouth, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Kei Mouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kei Mouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trennerys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The scenic splendour of the rugged Wild Coast makes Trennerys Hotel the perfect destination for the wild at heart – a place that abounds with the peace and tranquillity of paradise… Situated at Qolora Mouth, just a short drive north of East London, the hotel still maintains its old-world charm and its unique, South African hospitality. Set in idyllic Transkei surroundings, views from the hotel range from the stunning Wild Coast beaches to the green and lush, tropical vegetation. Close to the beach and with plenty to do – from hiking and cycling, to fishing and canoeing – Trennerys Hotel is everybody’s first-choice, affordable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trennerys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing