We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings, not so beautiful hotel”
Review of Trennerys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trennerys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kei Mouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Cleanliness: they come to clean every day, but towels were only changed on day 4 of our stay. We saw our dirty room towels being dried on the bushes outside our room, day after day...
Location: FANTASTIC - this is what absolutely MADE our holiday. Surroundings are beautiful. The hotel is close to the beach and lagoon.
Rooms: Room had a very musty smell - airing didn't make a difference. Rust on the window frames. Room hasn't been re-done, possibly since the 70's - bedding from the 70's as well. Bedding really old. We had a worn-out blue and worn-out brown blanket, which was covered by a comforter, that had brown stains on it. Carpets are blue, old. Bathroom - only a shower. Brown, melamine floors. Very basic.
Service: mostly unfriendly and too busy. We encountered 3 friendly people and one lady that gave excellent service. She was handsomely tipped by our group when we left. It seems the system is too laborious at the bar for ladies to keep track of their orders - dockets are being filled out constantly - you can wait up to 15mins for someone to put in your order, because while they're busy, they're attending to one of their colleagues, filling out another docket, leaves the bar, comes back again, and the confusion continues.
Value: Not great. Breakfast and dinner is included in the R700pp/night rate, but not lunch, which could be anything between R20 - R55. Not recommended for vegetarians. Presentation of food was very poor. Chef's special for breakfast: baked beans?
Sleep quality: We had a sponge mattress that we couldn't sleep on, so after we had it changed, sleep was pretty good.

I got the impression that the managing staff are doing the best they can with what they've got. The whole place needs a serious makeover and the kitchen needs some massaging. They need a manager on duty for all meals because some of the meals were coming out in parts, or cold. Staff needs training.

The highlights: Kids activies are awesome. Santa Clause came in a red helicopter - it was a fantastic experience for adults and kids alike. Lots to do for adults as well: tennis, fishing, canoeing, culture tour with Trevor and hike to the waterfalls with Trevor, walks on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Notimpressed2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2010

Trennerys is such a beautiful place to visit. Stunning scenery and pristine beaches. It is truely SA's best kept secret. Accommodation is of a very high standard - the rooms have everything you need and are cleaned every day. (Spotless). The staff are fantastic and go out of their way to welcome you. The food is excellent, best I've ever tasted and what variety! Something for everyone. The seafood evening on a Satruday night has an amazing spread (We have visited almost all the hotels on the Wild Coast and this is definately the best for seafood). For non-seafood lovers, there is an equally large spread of other foods. Plently of family entertainment. Something for everyone - even if you just fall asleep next to the serene pool, like we did!! So relaxing, we'll definately be back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My husband and I have been going to this hotel for years . The management team Greg and Sally are exceptional hosts and could'nt do enough for us. Good homecooked meals without exception and plentiful. The seafood extravaganza could'nt be equaled in any 5 star hotel. The setting is peaceful especially when being served luscious cocktails by the pool waited on like royality by Nandi or Gloria. The accomodation is spotless and very comfortable. If u like walking theres miles of gorgeous beach to explore. If u like golf, bowls, tennis, pool, snooker or just lazing around the pool (or catching an afternoon nap before gorgeous snacks and a tipple in the bar) this is the place to be. What an atmosphere when we watched the rugby! When we visit S.A we will definately be visiting again. Thankyou Gregg and Sally ur the best!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooBooBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

I stayed here as part of a Wild Coast walk. The government is leasing the hotel to the management on three-year terms, so there is no incentive to invest in the property. Accordingly, the place is a bit shabby and old-fashioned. It isn't right on the beach, but the beach is about a 50-metre walk, and there is also a good river for swimming in. The hotel also has a nice pool and fairly attractive garden. We went on a tour led by a local man, Trevor, to a rock formation with waterfalls, for swimming, and he was fantastic - definitely the best part about staying there.

The food was not good, but it wasn't inedible. I would not choose to go there, but having to stay there as part of the tour was not terrible.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdm1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

What a huge disappointment we experienced on the magnificent Wild Coast. This shabby hotel doesn't even have a beach. The accommodation is old and not very clean, but the most horrible experience was the food. The cook seems to love keeping old oil and boiling everything to death in it. At least breakfast was passable - but it is difficult to mess up cornflakes, fruit and yoghurt!
One good aspect is the friendly staff. They are all cheerful and friendly, but that does not make up for having truly awful food when you have no other place to go in this remote area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mamakalisa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Pouls_Manders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Elke plek is apart en mooi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kremer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kei Mouth
13.7 mi away
Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering
7.1 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
473 reviews
22.3 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
404 reviews
24.7 mi away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
22.4 mi away
Arendsnes Holiday and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trennerys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trennerys Hotel

Address: Qolora Mouth | Wild Coast, Qolora Mouth, Kei Mouth, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Kei Mouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kei Mouth
Price Range: £86 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trennerys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The scenic splendour of the rugged Wild Coast makes Trennerys Hotel the perfect destination for the wild at heart – a place that abounds with the peace and tranquillity of paradise… Situated at Qolora Mouth, just a short drive north of East London, the hotel still maintains its old-world charm and its unique, South African hospitality. Set in idyllic Transkei surroundings, views from the hotel range from the stunning Wild Coast beaches to the green and lush, tropical vegetation. Close to the beach and with plenty to do – from hiking and cycling, to fishing and canoeing – Trennerys Hotel is everybody’s first-choice, affordable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Trennerys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing