We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great house and a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Magnolio Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Pirque B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great house and a warm welcome”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Firstly you need to know that previous reviews apply to the old house. Mary has moved so ignore wi-fi comments it now works fine. The photos on here are of the new house. Mary gave us a warm welcome and so did friendly pooches. Amazing house and lovely garden. The house is a little out if town so if you have no car ask Mary for bus advice or to call a cab. Concho Y Toro is just 5 min drive or bus away. You are near a town from where you can get tube into Santiago. We took vineyard tour which was interesting few hours. Also recommend the museum of anthropology. Don't plan trip to Sewell mining town unless a weekend as we wasted a trip. Do go hiking in the Parque Rio Clarillo, lovely trails and dip in the river. You can then chose to buy you dinner supplies and use Mary's kitchen or with notice she will cook.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mortyshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
351 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Marie has returned to Chile to create a boutique hotel. This estate manager’s house is 100 years old, renovated at different times but still retains much original character; beautifully furnished.
The walls are 15 inches thick so Wi-Fi doesn’t work here; instead there is a USB Internet stick that supports Windows PCs but not Apple (though an Apple USB could probably be obtained in the event of a lengthy stay). Marie kindly let me use her PC to access my email. For breakfast there were cereals, a mountainous bowl of delicious fresh fruit, fresh pineapple juice, rolls and pastries. I found the bed hot as it has a thick quilt over the mattress (similar to Marriott Hotel beds). The bath is small but sufficient and there is plenty of hot water.
The Santa Rita vineyard, 20 kilometres / 30 minutes minutes away is very easy to find, offers a great lunch, a superb museum and has beautiful grounds. For me El Magnolio was very difficult to find from the airport but is located 5 minutes (2 kilometres) from Concha y Toro, so aim for C y T then phone Marie to get led in as El Magnolio has gated access.

Room Tip: I enjoyed having the larger room overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeriousTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at El Magnolio for 3 nights at the end of February 2013.
We wanted somewhere small, off the beaten track, tranquil and in one of the wine valleys.
From all the reviews and photos on at Trip advisor, El Magnolio looked to be the perfect place.
Our tour operator, Imagine Latin America did not offer this property so we booked directly and our very flexible tour operator arranged the transport to and from El Magnolio.
It is perhaps best to have your own transport here but if you haven't, the lovely owner, Marie has a network of contacts who will act as drivers for her guests.
The house is beautiful and stands in two acres of gardens ( with swimming pool) in an isolated spot within a maize plantation. It is very hard to find. Marie arranged for one her friends to meet our transport outside the local winery, we changed to the friends car and were driven along unmade roads to El Magnolio.
Staying with Marie and her rescued street dogs is like staying in a friends lovely home.
We ate breakfast in the kitchen, chatted in her lovely living room and enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the garden.
Our room was large and airy with a settee , big, very comfy bed and a large window that looked over the garden and pool.
Our bathroom (for our sole use) was just along the corridor with lots of towels and a bath with a slightly eccentric shower.
Marie herself is the heart and soul of the house and what makes El Magnolio so very special. She has travelled the world and herself has found peace and tranquility in her lovely home.
Although we did not have a car, with Marie's help, we explored the local area with her network of driver friends.
We visited a smaller winery for a tour and tasting, we lunched at a traditional local restaurant and we had a fabulous day high in the Andes in a 4x4.
It was to be my husbands birthday shortly after we left El Magnolio.
Marie knew this and before we left, invited all the people we had met thro her for wine, pisco sours and birthday cake complete with candles. He had a very memorable early birthday party including a rousing rendition of Happy Birthday in Spanish.
Our stay at El Magnolio was one of the highlights of our trip. It was the perfect place for us.
Many, many thanks to Marie and all her lovely friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Very fun and rustic country house to stay in for wine tasting in the Maipo Valley -- and close enough to Pirque for restaurants at night for dinner.

Marie (host) is warm and welcoming, and she'll do whatever you need for a comfortable stay.

If you're driving there yourself, believe Marie when she tells you that the house is difficult to find. She will likely meet you or have a taxi meet you in town and then have you follow to the house. Take her up on this, but it's worth it once you get there. The house is isolated and surrounded by corn fields, so it's very quiet and peaceful.

Overall, great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Very nice B&B in an old country house; best beds on our trip; just 5 minutes taxi ride to the Concha y Toro Winery - the reason for our visit !
Marie, the owner of El Magnolio, can arrange the tour and is happy to share all kind of information about the region, Chile and the world; we had a great evening chatting with her and the other guests.
Although Pirque is just 40 minutes from Santiago by Metro, I would highly recommend to spend at least one night there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timeCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Mery is a fantastic host, who takes care of you from the moment you arrive.

About five minutes away from Concha y Toro the accommodations were a good spot to visit the wine country, while still being in a rural setting. The grounds are extensive with fruit trees and mountains in the background.

The house is gorgeous and makes for a great place to relax. You can enjoy a dip in the pool, or spend hours chatting with Mery. We slept on one of the best beds on our trip and the house always remained cool. Because the walls are so thick WiFi isn't available. However, there is always a laptop for use, or you can use the internet stick with your own computer.

Breakfast was plentiful, and the best part was the fresh fruit. If you have any questions about what to do, Mery is a great help and full of suggestions. As we stayed there for the end of our trip, we had no problems to hold our luggage at her place until our plane took its end-of-day departure.

If we were to ever come back to Chile, the trip would not be complete without staying at El Magnolio!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winesoakedjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
293 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

My husband and I stayed with Mery at El Magnolio for 3 nights in July. She was an amazing hostess - her food, accommodations, recommendations, winery and driver "hook-ups", and conversation were absolutely wonderful!

Mery's breakfasts were abundant and more than satisfying (yogurt, fruit, cereal, pasteris), and the suppers she prepared (just let her know in the morning you would like supper that night) were delicious (local dishes - very flavourful).

The accommodations were so comfortable - the bedroom was huge; the bed was very comfortable; and the scenery was amazing (mountains on the "doorstep").

Whether travelling around Pirque or leaving for Santiago, Mery gave us plenty of insight into sites to see and places to eat.

Mery arranged 3 wine tours for us with a driver - all were different from each other, but fantastic. We visited Concho y Toro, Santa Rita, and Haras de Pirque. We would recommend all. Concho y Toro had a great tour and you got to keep your glass (came in handy later in our trip); Santa Rita has a fantastic restaurant and museum; and Haras di Pirque has a very interesting design and unique wines. The driver she arranged for us was great - pleasant and very accommodating.

Mery is a very interesting woman - you will enjoy her hospitality and home. My husband and I highly recommend El Magnolio as part of your trip - a place of "peace and tranquility" outside of busy Santiago....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pirque
Hotel Qamaqi
#1 of 2 in San Jose de Maipo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Providencia
Apart Neruda
Apart Neruda
#145 of 196 in Santiago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Calma de Rita
#1 of 2 in Pirque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Refugio Rural Majadas
#1 of 6 in Pirque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Spa Pirque
#2 of 2 in Pirque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Magnolio Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Magnolio Bed and Breakfast

Property: El Magnolio Bed and Breakfast
Address: Parcela 17 Exequiel Fontecilla 5 | Next to Castllo Las Majadas, Pirque 9480070, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Pirque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pirque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Magnolio Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the country, at the Andes foothills, sits El Magnolio, our wine country bed and breakfast.​ Away from the noise of the city​ ​t​he beautiful house is placed in the great Maipo Valley known for the best red wines from Chile. Sorrounded by the Andes​,​ the valley​ ​blended with ​world wide ​famous wineries such as Viña Concha y Toro (5 minutes away), Viña Haras de Pirque, Viña El Principal, Viña Santa Rita ​and other interesting ​wine producers.The house features five comfortable bedrooms with plenty of charm and wonderful sights and sounds of the Chilean country.Enveloped by beautiful​ ​trees and an amazing and quiet scenery, it​ ​has been designed of the most beautiful native woods with unique details that give it plenty of character and create harmony with the surroundings.The atmosphere created by the architecture is wonderfully inviting to our guests, who are always welcome to enjoy a glass of wine next to the pool or by the open fire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your El Magnolio Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing