We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Magnolio Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Pirque B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I just spent a night at El Magnolio.
What a special treat.
The home is stunning. It is surrounded by a beautiful property and the home was designed in a Japanese style. All the details are wonderful.
The owner, Marie Hern, is such a gracious and intelligent hostess. She is a fascinating lady with a very interesting life.
It is located in Pirque, a very upscale enclave 45 minutes from Santiago.
You can use it as a weekend get away or as a place to stop when traveling further south in Chile.
I had a wonderful,experience there and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Choose the largest and most expensive which is still very reasonable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Relaxed, peaceful and spacious place. We spent 3 nights in November 2013 in Marie's new place.
We really enjoyed the zen house and the garden and the 3 lovely dogs. Great views. Marie is a good host with great stories. Nice breakfast.
Good opportunity to visit the nearby located vina Concha y Toro in Pirque.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoogland-Vasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The place is hard to find as mentioned by all other reviewers.There are no signs for this place.It's a house in a gated community.If you do go..dont go without proper directions or get yourself picked from the station.
Property is just big enough to take a walk around for 2 mins.The dogs will keep barking while you are out and that's not very pleasant.
Overall the room was ok but for a lesser cost other neighboring places with a warmer host and facilities are available.
We regretted coming here and wasting a day.

Room Tip: Take a room so that you are not disturbed by the dogs who keep barking all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBee_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El_Magnolio, Owner at El Magnolio Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear customer,

Thanks for taking your time to post a review. We are working to improve our services based on your suggestions.

Best regards,

Marie Hern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Firstly you need to know that previous reviews apply to the old house. Mary has moved so ignore wi-fi comments it now works fine. The photos on here are of the new house. Mary gave us a warm welcome and so did friendly pooches. Amazing house and lovely garden. The house is a little out if town so if you have no car ask Mary for bus advice or to call a cab. Concho Y Toro is just 5 min drive or bus away. You are near a town from where you can get tube into Santiago. We took vineyard tour which was interesting few hours. Also recommend the museum of anthropology. Don't plan trip to Sewell mining town unless a weekend as we wasted a trip. Do go hiking in the Parque Rio Clarillo, lovely trails and dip in the river. You can then chose to buy you dinner supplies and use Mary's kitchen or with notice she will cook.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mortyshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Marie has returned to Chile to create a boutique hotel. This estate manager’s house is 100 years old, renovated at different times but still retains much original character; beautifully furnished.
The walls are 15 inches thick so Wi-Fi doesn’t work here; instead there is a USB Internet stick that supports Windows PCs but not Apple (though an Apple USB could probably be obtained in the event of a lengthy stay). Marie kindly let me use her PC to access my email. For breakfast there were cereals, a mountainous bowl of delicious fresh fruit, fresh pineapple juice, rolls and pastries. I found the bed hot as it has a thick quilt over the mattress (similar to Marriott Hotel beds). The bath is small but sufficient and there is plenty of hot water.
The Santa Rita vineyard, 20 kilometres / 30 minutes minutes away is very easy to find, offers a great lunch, a superb museum and has beautiful grounds. For me El Magnolio was very difficult to find from the airport but is located 5 minutes (2 kilometres) from Concha y Toro, so aim for C y T then phone Marie to get led in as El Magnolio has gated access.

Room Tip: I enjoyed having the larger room overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeriousTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at El Magnolio for 3 nights at the end of February 2013.
We wanted somewhere small, off the beaten track, tranquil and in one of the wine valleys.
From all the reviews and photos on at Trip advisor, El Magnolio looked to be the perfect place.
Our tour operator, Imagine Latin America did not offer this property so we booked directly and our very flexible tour operator arranged the transport to and from El Magnolio.
It is perhaps best to have your own transport here but if you haven't, the lovely owner, Marie has a network of contacts who will act as drivers for her guests.
The house is beautiful and stands in two acres of gardens ( with swimming pool) in an isolated spot within a maize plantation. It is very hard to find. Marie arranged for one her friends to meet our transport outside the local winery, we changed to the friends car and were driven along unmade roads to El Magnolio.
Staying with Marie and her rescued street dogs is like staying in a friends lovely home.
We ate breakfast in the kitchen, chatted in her lovely living room and enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the garden.
Our room was large and airy with a settee , big, very comfy bed and a large window that looked over the garden and pool.
Our bathroom (for our sole use) was just along the corridor with lots of towels and a bath with a slightly eccentric shower.
Marie herself is the heart and soul of the house and what makes El Magnolio so very special. She has travelled the world and herself has found peace and tranquility in her lovely home.
Although we did not have a car, with Marie's help, we explored the local area with her network of driver friends.
We visited a smaller winery for a tour and tasting, we lunched at a traditional local restaurant and we had a fabulous day high in the Andes in a 4x4.
It was to be my husbands birthday shortly after we left El Magnolio.
Marie knew this and before we left, invited all the people we had met thro her for wine, pisco sours and birthday cake complete with candles. He had a very memorable early birthday party including a rousing rendition of Happy Birthday in Spanish.
Our stay at El Magnolio was one of the highlights of our trip. It was the perfect place for us.
Many, many thanks to Marie and all her lovely friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Very fun and rustic country house to stay in for wine tasting in the Maipo Valley -- and close enough to Pirque for restaurants at night for dinner.

Marie (host) is warm and welcoming, and she'll do whatever you need for a comfortable stay.

If you're driving there yourself, believe Marie when she tells you that the house is difficult to find. She will likely meet you or have a taxi meet you in town and then have you follow to the house. Take her up on this, but it's worth it once you get there. The house is isolated and surrounded by corn fields, so it's very quiet and peaceful.

Overall, great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pirque hotels
0.8 mi away
La Calma de Rita
La Calma de Rita
#1 of 2 in Pirque
147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna de Pirque
Luna de Pirque
#3 of 6 in Pirque
62 reviews
1 mi away
Refugio Rural Majadas
Refugio Rural Majadas
#2 of 6 in Pirque
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Spa Pirque
Spa Pirque
#2 of 2 in Pirque
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residencia Las Majadas de Pirque
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Magnolio Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Magnolio Bed and Breakfast

Address: Parcela 17 Exequiel Fontecilla 5 | Next to Castllo Las Majadas, Pirque 9480070, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Pirque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pirque
Price Range: £101 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Magnolio Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the country, at the Andes foothills, sits El Magnolio, our wine country bed and breakfast.​ Away from the noise of the city​ ​t​he beautiful house is placed in the great Maipo Valley known for the best red wines from Chile. Sorrounded by the Andes​,​ the valley​ ​blended with ​world wide ​famous wineries such as Viña Concha y Toro (5 minutes away), Viña Haras de Pirque, Viña El Principal, Viña Santa Rita ​and other interesting ​wine producers.The house features five comfortable bedrooms with plenty of charm and wonderful sights and sounds of the Chilean country.Enveloped by beautiful​ ​trees and an amazing and quiet scenery, it​ ​has been designed of the most beautiful native woods with unique details that give it plenty of character and create harmony with the surroundings.The atmosphere created by the architecture is wonderfully inviting to our guests, who are always welcome to enjoy a glass of wine next to the pool or by the open fire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Magnolio Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing