We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Rustic Hideaway”
Review of La Calma de Rita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Calma de Rita
Ranked #1 of 2 Pirque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable 5 day stay in July which is out of season, so we were the only guests. The hotel is in the country, about 20km from the outskirts of Santiago from where you can take the efficient metro into the city centre. A hire car is recommended.
Christian, the owner and host, is an excellent cook. As a result this was one rare holiday when we elected to have nearly all our meals in the hotel. The unusual design of the premises and the attractive decor are all the result of Christian's hard work and he proved to be a most interesting and entertaining companion during our stay.
He was able to organise some horse riding for us from a neighbouring stables, and trotting through vineyards in the foothills of the Andes with excellent instructors was unforgettable, as was a session with Christian in his kitchen learning to make pisco sours!.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

I love the stay there because it is a calm place near the vineyards. I had a problem with the reserve, I did in booking.com and confirm with a email, nevertheless, when I got there my room wasn't available. I had to stay in a room with no bathroom and the bathroom, you had to share with all the restaurants clients. This thing was terrible.
The sky in the night it's beautiful, no lights, you can see lot of stars and the restaurant has excellent meals.
It is a little tricky to arrive, so ask for someone if you have doubts.

Room Tip: Ask for someone in the entrance of the city. You have to take the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

For those of you who want to have a different experience when in Chile. It is a very rustic place but very comfortable. The rooms are great and the food (great and fresh) is home made by Frank Christian the owner. During the day go for the vineyards and at night enjoy good wine and good food by the fireplace at La Calma de Rita

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel April 2013. It is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel in my opinion. I arrived in Santiago then took a bus to the metro station. I rode the metro to the stop for the Concha y Toro winery. Then I took a taxi to La Calma de Rita. I arrived early in the morning and was allowed to check in right away. Cesar greeted me and helped me with my luggage. He was very nice and tried his best to communicate with me. I speak minimal Spanish and he does not speak English. Wifi is available in the main building so I used Google translate throughout my visit to help communicate anything other than basic phrases. It would be helpful for anyone visiting this area to learn some Spanish prior to coming to Chile. Cristian, the owner, speaks English if you are worried about a language barrier.

I was able to choose a new room which is not attached to the main building. The new rooms are very close but separate and more private. They are more like small cabins with a bedroom area, seating area, bathroom, and outdoor patio with seating. The weather was cold in the morning and at night. A portable electric heater was brought to my room to help warm the room. The bed is up on a platform and partially enclosed in a very large barrel. It is very charming. The nightstands are made from barrels. The bathroom is small but has a sink, toilet, and small tub with shower. There is a cute porthole type window in the shower. I think that the decor is very unique throughout La Calma de Rita. Some people would call it quirky. I really liked it because it was so different from the standard hotel decor.

Breakfast is included with the room rate. Each morning I ate scrambled eggs, bread with fresh marmalade made in-house, cheese, fruit juice and tea. There are many foods that I do not eat, but the staff were able to accommodate me. I ate all meals in the restaurant on the property. Everything tasted good. Alcoholic drinks as well as soft drinks, juices, and water are available for purchase. If you have never tried a pisco sour, you must try one while you are in Chile.

On the property, there is a sauna, hot tub, and a pool. There are places to sit outdoors to relax, read, or enjoy a drink. There is also a seat and hammock hanging from an apple tree (watch out for falling apples). The hammock is a great place to relax in the shade. I fell asleep each time that I was in it. There is also an area with an outdoor grill and oven. There are grapes hanging from the vines right above your head. You can reach up and pick them.

I left the property once in order to take a tour at Concha y Toro winery. There is a bus stop just outside and to the right of the property. I rode the bus to a stop just around the corner from the winery. The bus fare was very cheap ( I think it was 550 pesos). I took a taxi back to La Calma and it was also inexpensive. After a few days of doing nothing but relaxing, it was hard to pack up and travel to Santiago. On my next visit, I will stay in Santiago first then travel to Pirque.

The staff at La Calma de Rita are what really make this place great. Someone was always checking on me to see if I needed anything. Special thanks to Cristian, Cesar, and Lena. They made me feel as if I were staying with friends. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank rngonetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

A place to soothe the senses with wonderful food and the gentle scenery of the lower Andes. La Calma de Rita has character and personality with a lovely garden. We spent a delightful three days. Without a car we enjoyed Pirque visiting Concha y Toro vineyard, the Lapislazuli handmade jewellers next door, and the Rio Clarillo natural park with guide Carlos, who gave us a wonderful tour by bike. Returning in time for a pisco sour worked up a good appetite which was well rewarded. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCalmadeRita, Propietario at La Calma de Rita, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por sus comentarios y seguiremos mejorando para hacer de la estadía de nuestros huéspedes en algo especial y único.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We have just spent 3 nights in room Santa Antonieta, it's gorgeous and has a small terrace, ideal for sipping a Pisco Sour at the sun goes down. I wasn't entirely sure what to expect with this place after seeing pictures of the stools with ladies legs! However, the decoration is quirky but very tasteful, Cristian has decorated the place amazingly. His food is also very nice, every night we just let him decide what we'd have for dinner and we were never disappointed. Once we got to La Calma it was tempting to just enjoy the place, lie in a hamac in the shade with a book in one hand and a drink in the other! So we did a bit of that but we also managed to take a drive in the Cajon del Maipo-very pretty area but we didn't really find anywhere to take a walk. On Cristian's advice we went to the Reserva Rio Clarillo and with hindsight we wish we had taken a full day there. There are guides and designated trails so you can go on a couple of nice walks, there are barbecues in the picnic area so families come with their coal and food and swim in the river, eat outdoor and make a day of it-really nice. Cristian knows a guide that can take you biking in the reserva, good especially if you don't have a car. We also went for a horse ride in the mountain with Gonzalo which was good fun. As for the wineries, that went out the window in order to enjoy some time in La Calma. So basically thumbs up for la Calma de Rita, Cristian, and the numerous activities in the surrounding area. It is a stone throw from Santiago yet in the countryside-best of both worlds.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyds76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCalmadeRita, Propietario at La Calma de Rita, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por la orientación que hace a muchos otros pasajeros respecto a este lugar, mas aun tratándose de un gran critico y conocedor del mundo. Seguimos trabajando para mejorar y brindar mejores servicios. Espero tener a Uds. y/o sus amigos nuevamente por estos lados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

From the complimentary pisco sour on arrival to the unexpected lift back into town when we were leaving, Cristian was the perfect host. We had a superb Sunday lunch, followed by a spin on the bikes that are available for guests to borrow. The hotel is nestled at the foot of the Andes so cycling along the country roads to the local vineyard was quite something. As previous reveiwers have said, the hotel is indeed quirky - an eclectic mix of old and new, signs, paintings, pictures, knick knacks and "stuff" that gave you something new to look at every time you walked in. It maybe wouldn't suit everybody but our stay there was certainly a highlight of our trip. The food was interesting and beautifully cooked, down to the smallest detail. It really is difficult to describe as it is an unusual place but I would definitely recommend it. Oh, and pretty easy to get to by public transport from Santiago. It took us about an hour on the metro and a short taxi journey though there is a local bus from metro to the road that the hotel is on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angel_sylvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pirque
10.4 mi away
Hotel Qamaqi
Hotel Qamaqi
#1 of 2 in San Jose de Maipo
197 reviews
10.7 mi away
Casa Real Hotel at Santa Rita Vineyards
1.5 mi away
Luna de Pirque
Luna de Pirque
#3 of 6 in Pirque
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cascada de las Animas
Cascada de las Animas
#1 of 1 in San Alfonso
682 reviews
1.9 mi away
Spa Pirque
Spa Pirque
#2 of 2 in Pirque
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Refugio Rural Majadas
Refugio Rural Majadas
#2 of 6 in Pirque
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Calma de Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Calma de Rita

Address: Camino a Santa Rita 2672, Pirque 9480000, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Pirque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pirque
Price Range: £69 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Calma de Rita 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel has two bedrooms with suite bathroom and two with shared bath. In our restaurant cuisine floods us with flavors that blend into the natural beauty of the place. You can enjoy your free time horseback riding, bicycles for touring the area, trekking in River Park Clarillo, massage and Relaxation is guaranteed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Calma de Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing