We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Authentic Magical Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Refuge des Chevaliers
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and 2 year old daughter I and our two friends stayed here for 3 nights and It was incredible! We were met with smiles and were welcomed into the lovely beautifully restored mansion. It's got a real authentic feel however it feels cosy and warm. We stayed in the French themed room which was quiet and relaxing. The shower was beautiful and the bed was divine.

The food was world class thanks to Cedrik and Alicia. We've experienced taste sensations we've never had before in any of our travels! Well worth the price paid!

The location is in a beautiful, quiet and friendly villiage. We felt relaxed, renewed and enjoyed the walks through the countryside.

The accommodation has friendly sheep, goats, chickens and a cat which is always entertaining...not to mention the ponds and goldfish. Perfect for our two year old. They have beautifully renovated the stable as an evening dining/relaxing area perfect for conversation or a night cap.

In summary this was a truly magical experience set in the heart of the countryside. We're so glad we got to see this part of the country and there is no doubt we'll return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at le refuge-des-chevaliers 2 children and 2 adults in the new 2 floor bedroom! What a lovely place!! The old house is from the 17th century and beautifully restored by Cedric (the owner) and there are so many nice details in the decoration and the furniture, a nice mixture in our room of 'oriental meets medieval'. In the shared rooms you find a collection of old games that still work - great for the children! Outside we found a hammock and relaxed sofas in the shade, super when its warm! On the site you also find curious sheep, a friendly cat and hens, so a lot to do and to look at also if you bring children! Super breakfast by the way! Loved it!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ane Katrine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

There are 5 bedrooms including a duplex and a suite, each with their own organic bed linen, their en-suite bathrooms and WC. However, they have kept the historic atmosphere, which makes a property out of the ordinary that allows you to travel through time.They can accomodate you and your steeds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LalouBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank marin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank FANTA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Maikol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Franck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Just-en-Chevalet
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#1 of 1 in Saint-Just-en-Chevalet
77 reviews
16.7 mi away
Le Clos St Eloi
Le Clos St Eloi
#1 of 5 in Thiers
126 reviews
5.3 mi away
Domaine de la Plagnette
Domaine de la Plagnette
#1 of 1 in Les Salles
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Chateau de Champlong
Chateau de Champlong
#1 of 2 in Villerest
198 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Halte du Pelerin
La Halte du Pelerin
#1 of 2 in Cherier
18 reviews
10.2 mi away
Domaine des Grands Cedres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Chevaliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Chevaliers

Address: Les Rivieres, 42430 Saint-Just-en-Chevalet, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Loire > Saint-Just-en-Chevalet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Just-en-Chevalet
Price Range: £79 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I'm an old lady, over 400 years old, living in St Just-en-Chevalet, in the Loire in the Rhône-Alpes region of France.My old age means I have needed a facelift together with local artisans and architects of Bâtiments de France.I received Cedric and Alicia within my walls, which they have restored with the utmost care.There are 5 bedrooms including a duplex and a suite, each with their own organic bed linen, their en-suite bathrooms and WC. However, they have kept the historic atmosphere, which makes me a property out of the ordinary that allows you to travel through time. They have even thought about your vehicles with private indoor parking, enclosed shelter and workshop for motorbikes.Cedric and Alicia have provided wooden games to while away the time either in your room or in front of the fire in my cozy public rooms.Feel free to come and wander in my walled parkland, laze by the pond or discover my wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Refuge des Chevaliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing