We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value spring break”
Review of Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silloth
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked in under the spring break offer, which included an evening meal as well as breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the manager who appears to work incredibly hard. We turned up at around 3.30 to find the hotel locked, but I dialled the phone number on the hotel door and we were let in immediately. The room was clean and had everything you could need. I have stayed here before around 4 years ago and I think the hotel has improved including a more professional attitude towards guests and their needs and comfort. The food was ok with very good chips! As part of the spring break offer it is very good value. However speaking as someone who eats out a lot where I live in southern England where prices are generally higher, I agree with previous reviewers who find the food over priced. Overall though I was happy with our stay, and thank you to all the staff for their care and attention.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank flintstone50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for posting your recent review.

I have shared your very kind feedback with my team. Please don't wait another 4 years for your next visit.

Come back soon.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Well looked after by friendly helpful staff. Comfortable well appointed rooms. Good value especially when taking advahtage of one of their special offers. Would recommend for a stay on the Solway coast. We have enjoyed regular breaks in the Golf for some time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John Aitken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for posting your recent review.

I have passed on your very kind feedback to my team.

Hope we all see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a lovely short break at the Golf Hotel. From start to finish the staff could not have been nicer or more friendly. The room we had was warm, clean and comfortable, the bathroom was large and had plenty of hot water. I have noted some people moaning about the food but we personally had not problems with it. Good portion size and cooked as we requested it when we ordered steak.

One thing I might change is the size of the towels, maybe the provision of bath sheets might be an idea. We are not of the larger persuasion but found the towels a tad small. Not a complaint, just an observation.

Breakfast was at very suitable times which meant you didn't have to get up mega early to catch it.

So, in essence - a nice stay in a nice hotel and we would be more than happy to return in future.

It is NOT a 5 star hotel so don;t expect it to be but, for what it is, they appear to be doing the right thing and are constantly improving the hotel and facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teaboyseej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for posting your recent review.

Its great to hear you had a lovely short break with us and found my team to be nice and friendly.

Glad you enjoyed your room and your food.

I have shared your very kind comments with my team and we all look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards.

Gary P Conlan.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at the Golf Hotel, Silloth on 26th and 27th February 2014. Our room was large, warm and comfortable with a large bathroom which included a separate shower cubicle and large roll top bath.
All of the staff were really friendly and welcoming in a genuine and down to earth manner. A tasty vegetarian pasta meal was specially made for me. It wasn't on the menu and I got the impression that the chef was very happy to do this for me.
We parked right outside the Hotel (on the road), for free, for the whole duration of our stay.
Silloth is a very small, costal town with an active, working port. It is an ideal location for escaping the rat race and re-charging your batteries. You can take long walks along the sea front, taking in the views and looking across the Solway Firth with the mountains of Galloway, Scotland in the background.
The links golf club gives way to sand dunes and finally a beautiful, long, unspoiled beach.
The local council seems to maintain the public areas to a very high standard, keeping the green and sea front very clean and tidy;there were no signs of all the recent stormy weather visible along the promenade. These efforts create a good first impression of Silloth.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aalliiuumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for posting your recent review.

Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay in one of our large warm and comfortable rooms.

If we have the ingredients we are only too happy to meet any special requests.

I have shared your very kind comments with my team.

We all look forward to your next escape from the rat race to come and re-charge your batteries.

Kind regards.

Gary P Conlan.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We are a mature couple looking for a nice place for two nights whilst house hunting. Outside looking a bit tired but inside very clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bathroom nice and big but a broken shower leaver and a bulb out over the sink was a bit of a downer.
Your "What sort of visit" doesn't cover us. We were there for bed breakfast and evening meal but I can only pick one on your list. How about having Half Board on your list. I don't understand your cost per person? But overall we thought it was a nice place but bit expensive for the time of year.

    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 877Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thanks for posting your recent review.

Sorry to hear you had an issue with your bathroom which we sorted immediately once you brought this to our attention.

You booked your accommodation through Booking.com at £50 per person, Bed & Breakfast in one of our Executive rooms. Had you booked through our own website you could have secured a fantastic value two night break to include a delicious three course meal each night for £53 per person.

Please contact us prior to your next visit and get some great special offers.

Kind regards.

Gary P Conlan.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Golf Hotel in Silloth, (we originally were due to stay 2 nights but stayed 3!).

This is the most value for money hotel ever stayed in and is in the Lake District by the Solway Coast looking over to Scotland. The room we had was spacious; clean; had a massive bath; a superking bed; a TV with coffee/tea; and a very Victorian feel with a sea view!

The food in the restaurant was delicious - home made fish and chips; sirloin steak; and gammon were enjoyed each night. The wine was very reasonably priced, as was the prosecco.

The staff are so friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble for them. We cannot wait to return!

Thank you Golf Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for posting your recent review.

Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay.

Your very nice comments are so greatly appreciated and I have shared them with my team.

We all look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Gary P Conlan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Good welcoming atmosphere in a fresh smart restaurant. Staff were friendly and efficient and the meal delicious. Very relaxed service with just the right amount of attention, a great evening out with friends, we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakesman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for posting your recent review.

Its great to hear you found our lounge offered a good welcoming atmosphere and my team were friendly and efficient. Glad to hear your meal was delicious. I have shared your very kind comments with my team and we all look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards.

Gary P Conlan.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
128 reviews
9.5 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
13.8 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
16.0 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
18.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel

Address: Criffel Street | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silloth
Price Range: £93 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golf Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golf Hotel in Silloth underwent a major renovation in 2009. Gary Conlan, the Manager, with his enthusiastic team, will do everything they can to make your visit to us a pleasant one! We are privately owned and run and are passionate about local seasonal food, hospitality, quality and service, so sit back and relax and enjoy yourself!This historic landmark hotel in the town centre, overlooking the town green offers a private and peaceful setting for a few days relaxation "away from it all", a delicious meal in our refurbished lounge bar and restaurant or even perhaps a business meeting or conference. With growing function trade and traditional Sunday Carvery the hotel has everything to offer.The Golf Hotel is also gaining a reputation in North Cumbria as a wonderful wedding venue, either for a civil ceremony or the wedding reception itself or even both. Private party celebrations can also be catered for here. Why not celebrate an engagement, wedding anniversary or birthday with us?As well as comfortable bed & breakfast guest accommodation, we also offer a range of services for business visitors. We have rooms with excellent facilities which can be booked for business meetings or our Function Suite can be booked to hold a conference of up to 140 delegates. Set in the centre of the small coastal town of Silloth, noted for its invigorating but mild climate. It is well known for its peaceful laid back atmosphere or perhaps most of all, the beautiful Solway Coast Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), famous for its stunning sunsets, abundant bird life and beautiful coastline walks. Just a short swing away is the highly acclaimed 18 hole championship link golf course at Silloth-on-Solway Golf Club. Silloth is an ideal location for a short break or a family holiday. Our location allows easy access to the Cumbrian towns of Cockermouth, Whitehaven, Workington, Keswick and the historic city of Carlisle - with easy access from the M6 and A66. And yet we're just a short drive to some of the most stunning scenery in the Lake District National Park, the Roman wall and the Scottish Borders and Dumfriesshire, which is visible on the opposite shore of the Solway Firth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf Hotel Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing