We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A few delightful days in Silloth”
other travellers have booked this property
The Grey House Silloth, The Annexe is at the rear
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grey House Silloth, The Annexe is at the rear
Sitting Room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
The Grey House Silloth, The Annexe is at the rear
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Bedroom with super kingsize 6 foot bed
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sitting Room
Entrance Hall
Shower Room
WC
From the sitting room window towards the woods
Entrance to the Annexe
Grey House Location, Annexe is visible to the rear of the house
The Green in Front of Grey House
Silloth in Winter
Sunset over Silloth
A Winters day in Allonby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Silloth, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RonnieCoc...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“A few delightful days in Silloth”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It was a late decision to visit the Solway Firth area and we read some reviews about accommodation in and around Silloth.
The annexe of Lorna and Martin had glowing reports from previous guests and we were very fortunate that the cottage was available for the dates we wanted.
It was everything that the other guests had said and we fully agree with their comments.
We had a delightful few days in this lovely coastal town from our very comfortable home from home.
Excellent, we certainly hope to visit again.
Audrey and Ronnie (From Falkirk)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ideal base for our short holiday break
Liked least: can't think of anything negative to say
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wandering...
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just spent our second visit to 'The Grey House' and had a fantastic two weeks, everything you need for a lovely holiday and very quiet and relaxing. Hosts Lorna & Martin are the nicest couple and nothing is to much trouble. Our dog absolutely loved it. Booked again for next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arj378
dumfriesshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Had a week here, with good weather. lovely apartment, with everything you could possibly want provided. Spotless accommodation, and everything of good quality. Plenty to do in the area, sunsets really worth seeing. Good food in Golf club, Golf Hotel, pizza shop, Silloth Cafe.
Our dog had a wonderful time, garden fully enclosed so she was quite secure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor, wi-fi, and Silloth prom
Liked least: Lack of ventilation in the loo!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn461
Biggar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was one of the best holidays we have ever had. It started with a lovely warm welcome from Lorna. Everything was catered for right down to the tennis ball and rackets if you fancied a game,(tennis courts are right next to the house). My daughter loved the fact that there was Wi-Fi. There is everything you need in the town such as gift shops, spar, co-op, hotels if you want to eat out, takeaways if you don't. The coast is right on you're doorstep.There is nothing that I can fault about the house or the town, can't wait to return.
Thanks again to Lorna and Martin.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom D
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once again, a brilliant stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here back in August and had a brilliant time, so decided to stay again in October. Once again I couldn't find a single thing to fault the cottage on. Although Lorna and Martin weren't around to let me into the cottage, one of their friends, Trudy, did the honors and did them proud. Lovely person who made me feel like I've known her for ages rather than just meeting her then! The weather wasn't the best, but hey, what can you expect, it was October! This did give me the opportunity however to see what it is like to just stay in Silloth and I am happy to say you can easily stay here without using a car, since with roads leading to/from Silloth having minor floods on them, I didn't fancy taking my little Corsa along them. The lights did blow towards the end of my stay, but a quick pop round and knock on the door and Lorna reset the fuse and hey presto, the cottage was back to fully functioning.
I will definitely be back again, though maybe when the weather will be nicer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities, and absolutely dog friendly.
Liked least: Weather, but if Lorna and Martin could control this, I'm sure it would've been perfect for the whole stay. :)
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Although we have stayed in Silloth before this was our first experience of The Grey House Annexe. We were warmly welcomed, thanks Trudy, and enjoyed every aspect of our stay there.

The annexe was cosy and warm with excellent decor and comfortable furnishings; especially the bed. It was equipped with everything you could possibly need and then some. There was a really good selection of DVDs and books, although with all Sky channels provided on the wide screen TV they weren't really required. The garden, although smallish was fully enclosed and totally escape proof for our dog, who could put Houdini to shame! There was a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and basic essentials. Also, importantly, a plentiful supply of washing up liquid and toilet roll, things which I hate to buy on a S.C holiday but have to, all too often.

The annexe was in an ideal situation, adjacent to both prom and green. We loved the wild life who visited the garden; the dog was intrigued by the hedgehog and frog in particular.

All in all it was a wonderful holiday, totally relaxing and we would love to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom D
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly unbelievably brilliant place”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

After reading the website for the cottage and the reviews people have written about it, I knew I'd found a good place to go on holiday. How I underestimated it!!!!
From the minute I arrived in Silloth, I realised how peaceful and tranquil the place is, and when I walked into the cottage, I couldn't find a single thing to fault it with.
Lorna and Martin have thought of everything when furnishing the cottage, really well equipped kitchen with everything you would need, super comfy furniture in the living room with sky TV and wifi for when you don't want to leave the cottage, and a bed I felt that was so comfy (and HUGE) that I felt like spending the whole holiday in it!!
The location of the cottage is brilliant, walks along the sea front right from your door, a brilliant bakers (if you come here, be sure to try the meat and potato pies from here!!) and a fish and chip shop that sells the best fish and chips I've ever had.
Having the green right next to the cottage is brilliant for taking your dog with you, plenty of open space for them to have a run. The beach in Silloth isn't the best, alot of rocks and some rather slippery steps to get down when you've got a dog pulling you, but 10/20 mins up the road and you get to Allonby, which has a brilliant sandy beach with dogs running all over the place together. Talking of dogs, I've never known holiday accomodation come with a "dog box" that has everything you might need, from bowls, towels, blankets and toys, and even has some treats and mixer for your dog!!
Lorna and Martin really have thought of everything in this cottage.
Thank you for such a brilliant relaxing stay, will definitely be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the cottage and the facilities inside are unbelievable!!!
Liked least: Can't fault Lorna and Martin for anything.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2013
Thank you so much - we get such pleasure when our guests have a good holiday. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$65
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing