We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
38
24
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
24
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews solway firth breakfast was delicious a fantastic sea view cycling trip stayed here friendly and helpful hosts secure bike storage comfy bed clean rooms west cumbria warm welcome full english breakfast night stay pleasant stay weekend break an evening meal tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

When we decided we would like to visit family that were staying in a nearby Holiday Site we looked for a nice looking reasonably priced hotel or B & B but found them all a bit overpriced for where they are. The Queens Hotel looked the nicest though so we contacted them and booked a family room with 3 single beds & ensuite. When we arrived we were met by our hosts John and Sandra, they couldn't be more attentive. Our room was spacious with a lovely view of Solway Firth, but when we came to go to bed we were very disappointed with the beds. They were hard as a rock, it was like lying on the ground. In fact that might have been more comfortable as then you wouldn't have got the springs sticking in you. We never slept a wink all night they were so uncomfortable. Would recommend some memory foam toppers or new mattresses. Breakfast was nice but not much selection and fried breakfast. They did do poached eggs for us but as we are on diets it was not very good as rest was fried not grilled, but freshly cooked.

Room tip: Take some padding for the bed, ask for Solway view and ask for grilled breakfast.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karendurham12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Overnight stay as we drove along Hadrian's Wall from Maryport to Wallsend. Spacious, comfortable room with fantastic views over the Solway. TV, sofa, chair, large bathroom, another bed, large wardrobe -all well furnished. Host and hostess were friendly and kind. We had a fish and chip supper on the seafront, a long walk in the seabreeze, an interesting walk around the harbour area and enjoyed the cobbled, spacious streets of Silloth and the newly refurbished "Green". Full English breakfast in the very pleasant breakfast room, thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Room tip: High up, facing the sea. Little or no noise from the streets.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillyPNorthEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Great find, fab rooms with lovely hosts. Room 6 was much smaller than my fellow travellers but we got a better bathroom with a bath - a fair compromise for me.
Silloth itself seemed a bit depressed but remnants of a better times are still noticable.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice. Golf Hotel was a royal place to eat - don't be put off with the exterior.

Room tip: Bath or shower?? You choose.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

very friendly and helpful hosts . excellent breakfast.large warm comfortable room with a fantastic view over the solway firth.would .we came up for a family funeral and stayed for two nights.we were made to feel welcome and were well looked after.we walked around silloth and decided that we had chosen the nicest place to stay.would highly recommend it,

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Excellent value for money, the hotel was far better than we were expecting, huge comfortable rooms nicely furnished and great location overlooking the park, with views over the Solway Firth to Scotland. The hosts are very helpful and the breakfast was very good.
Although evening meals are not available at the Queens, we had an excellent meal in the Golf Hotel just down the road with great beer and wine.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone wanting to explore the area or as a convenient stopping point on the bike route, approx 52 miles from Ravenglass and easily do-able in a day.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews