We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Siloth Stay”
Review of The Queens Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silloth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Silloth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Had a wonderful night at The Queens Hotel in Siloth as part of our Hadrian's Cycleway ride. Hosts were very friendly and eager to help us out. Rooms are large and comfortable. Bathrooms were nice and clean, though there were no hooks or racks for the towels, which seemed odd. Breakfast was delicious. The new dog was even friendly (Sam? Jack? He was in transition.) :-)
Rooms face the park across the street and the ocean beyond. If I were in Siloth again I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SactoJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

When we decided we would like to visit family that were staying in a nearby Holiday Site we looked for a nice looking reasonably priced hotel or B & B but found them all a bit overpriced for where they are. The Queens Hotel looked the nicest though so we contacted them and booked a family room with 3 single beds & ensuite. When we arrived we were met by our hosts John and Sandra, they couldn't be more attentive. Our room was spacious with a lovely view of Solway Firth, but when we came to go to bed we were very disappointed with the beds. They were hard as a rock, it was like lying on the ground. In fact that might have been more comfortable as then you wouldn't have got the springs sticking in you. We never slept a wink all night they were so uncomfortable. Would recommend some memory foam toppers or new mattresses. Breakfast was nice but not much selection and fried breakfast. They did do poached eggs for us but as we are on diets it was not very good as rest was fried not grilled, but freshly cooked.

Room Tip: Take some padding for the bed, ask for Solway view and ask for grilled breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karendurham12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Overnight stay as we drove along Hadrian's Wall from Maryport to Wallsend. Spacious, comfortable room with fantastic views over the Solway. TV, sofa, chair, large bathroom, another bed, large wardrobe -all well furnished. Host and hostess were friendly and kind. We had a fish and chip supper on the seafront, a long walk in the seabreeze, an interesting walk around the harbour area and enjoyed the cobbled, spacious streets of Silloth and the newly refurbished "Green". Full English breakfast in the very pleasant breakfast room, thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: High up, facing the sea. Little or no noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillyPNorthEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Great find, fab rooms with lovely hosts. Room 6 was much smaller than my fellow travellers but we got a better bathroom with a bath - a fair compromise for me.
Silloth itself seemed a bit depressed but remnants of a better times are still noticable.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice. Golf Hotel was a royal place to eat - don't be put off with the exterior.

Room Tip: Bath or shower?? You choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

very friendly and helpful hosts . excellent breakfast.large warm comfortable room with a fantastic view over the solway firth.would .we came up for a family funeral and stayed for two nights.we were made to feel welcome and were well looked after.we walked around silloth and decided that we had chosen the nicest place to stay.would highly recommend it,

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Excellent value for money, the hotel was far better than we were expecting, huge comfortable rooms nicely furnished and great location overlooking the park, with views over the Solway Firth to Scotland. The hosts are very helpful and the breakfast was very good.
Although evening meals are not available at the Queens, we had an excellent meal in the Golf Hotel just down the road with great beer and wine.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone wanting to explore the area or as a convenient stopping point on the bike route, approx 52 miles from Ravenglass and easily do-able in a day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed here with two friends while doing Hadrians wall cycle ride,met at the door by John. Large clean room awaited us. Double and single accommodated two of us and a separate Rommel for one more. Tea and coffee in the room, meal at the Chinese chippy where you could sit down,then a few pints at the Balmoral pub. Our bikes safely stored in the cellar,a good nights sleep was gained by all. Full breakfast,very satisfying ,very good and filling. Thank you John .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeandyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silloth hotels
0.2 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
273 reviews
0 mi away
Green View Guest House
Green View Guest House
#2 of 3 in Silloth
30 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Criffel Street | 1 Park Terrace, Silloth CA7 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Silloth
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small very friendly bed and breakfast. Most rooms overlooking the sea ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing