We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury? Don`t think so!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silloth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solway Holiday Village
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Luxury? Don`t think so!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The advertising hoardings as you enter the park all shout about luxury chalets, but the truth is, they are more reminiscent of the one`s Billy Butlin used 50 odd years ago. In fact, a lot of the decor probably came from the same period. So definitely a case of misrepresentation here! Not only that but the condition of the bedding, in particular, was shocking and the general cleanliness of the place left a heck of a lot to be desired. When I asked to upgrade I was told that there was nothing better than the Coniston Plus which we were already in. I would have turned round and gone home but did not want to upset my young granddaughter who we had brought away for a few days. So we put up with it and smiled.

The general condition of the place is very poor and in need of a major refurbishment and clean up, or better still, knock it down and start again. The children`s playground looks very tired indeed and the pool hardly big enough for the size of the site. I went once and had to wait for people to come out before we could go in.

There`s also very little to do in Silloth but fortunately the Lakes are not too far away, about an hours drive or so to the main centres, so escape is possible. I didn`t spot any guards either!

For the price that we paid, £459 for 4 nights, we could have found a far superior hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dodgycockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Our Holiday chalets have indeed just recently been refurbished at a large expense - we do have very many satisfied customers who return year after year making the most of our facilities including indoor pool (capacity 50), park, farm, bistro, train, mini golf, football pitches and so on
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    279
    180
    139
    198
See reviews for
643
125
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We went there for a few days at the beginning of July and had a good time. The caravan was fabulous considering we had a dog although the bed was a bit uncomfortable. We had asked for linen but it wasn't there and it took two attempts to get it sorted before we gave up. The park has a farm on it which was great and there was a mini-golf which would have been good if there was someone around to give us the stuff. There's a softplay which my son enjoyed and he attended the kids club in the morning which was okay although he seemed to enjoy it. The evening entertainment leaved a lot to be desired but I suspect this was to do with the fact that it was before the English holidays. There was a cabaret and bingo which was fine but nothing much for the kids. We went to the pool which was great as it had a jacuzzi and a sauna. We also ate at the restaurant twice which was lovely. We enjoyed ourselves and would probably go back, I think its just a bit tired looking and not up to speed before the peak time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your comments - we will take on board your feedback and take action where necessary - We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We visited last year and enjoyed our trip, we had a chalet with a hot tub and it was a great visit. As readers of my reviews may know my wife is disabled and we found this place was accessible for her including a ramp to door of the chalet. We booked again for 24th August for a week but booked a larger chalet via Hoseasons with a hot tub, the staff at the site were again helpful and arranged a ramp for us, we booked and thought all was ok.
I was then reading some reviews on here saying all entertainment was up stairs this year (Was down stairs last year) and it was a pain carrying buggies etc up the stairs so getting my wife up to see our children enjoying them selves would be impossible. I called Hoseasons who knew nothing about this but called the site to be advised this was the situation.
I dont think the site owners actually know the laws about disabled access by restricting access to those with a disability or the elderly, we are not in 1970s Russia now!.
I am glad I booked with Hoseasons as they appologised and gave us a full refund straight away as they could not find anything else that was suitable but Hagans, you have really disappointed us with your poor thinking.
I know we will get the usual rubbish response or no response at all as most companies are scared when it comes to people querying their Disability policy.

Room Tip: If you are disabled or elderly or have walking difficulties then book somewhere else as this place d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMC663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it's a shame that you didn't enjoy this visit as well as your previous visits to Solway Holiday Village. In the Summer Months we do indeed have our entertainment upstairs and are sorry that you couldn't get the best out of this. However the rest of the site and amenities are indeed accessible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

After trvelling setback, finally managed to get to Solway.
The staff were very helpful on our late arrival. Got to uor chalet (No.53), 3 keys to chose from in the dark, nearley broke my ankle on rotten wooden step, once door unlocked had to use shoulder force to get it open. Luckily there was a door in the bedroom that led outside, this was a better option although the step down was a little high. The living area smelt of stale DOG,
The service in the bar was excellent and staff very friendly, a credit to the site.
Only used the site to explore, so did not use any of the other site facillities, other than the bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback and positive comments about our staff, it's a shame that you didn't use the rest of our facilities as there's so much to see and do at Solway Holiday Village. We have noted your comments about your Chalet and will take the appropriate action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

we stayed on this site from the 3/08/13 till the 9/8/13 (we left early) and I have to say it has been the worst experience I have ever had. First of all the disabled shower room on the camp site is just a joke, the water from the shower runs all the way across the floor and out of the door so there is know where for you get dried. my poor daughter had to either walk to the toilets or back to the tent with a towel wrapped around her while walking with her crutches I had to complain 3 times for the light to be changed in this toilet to. The handle to help you on and off the toilet is hanging off the wall and everything is rusty. The taps in the toilet block are all signed for cold water (WHICH THEY ARE NOT), the hot tap is that hot you have to put a towel over the tap as its that hot, I don't no how no children haven't been burnt. There is only 2 sinks for you to wash your dishes but only 1 plug and again the hot water is far to hot. The showers on the camping side... there is no where for you to get dried as there is no partition between the wet bit and dry bit so once again your walking around with towels around you. All the seats in the lady's toilets are hanging off. The toilets and shower rooms only get cleaned 2 times a day which I think is not enough especially as the campsite was flooded and boggy the poor people next to use had to leave as the ended up with 3 inches of water in there tent. Customer service is a laugh 1 time when I complained the woman on the desk sat there eating a bacon sandwich while talking to me. The only staff that was pleasant was the gentleman that worked at the farm.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank allison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We are sorry that you have not had a great experience of our site as many others have had. We have noted your comments and will make improvements where required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

we only lasted one night at this site as it rained heavily overnight and turned campsite into a swamp.the shower block was very small ,and not very clean.the site needs updating.the shop had limited stock but the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback, sorry we couldn't control the weather which can affect your overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This site is awful keep away. The pool is duty and the attendant eyes were bloodshot with the smell of Cologne. The whole site is unloved and I have never been in a caravan so dirty the curtains were falling down. The mattress were stained and the nets were filthy and had holes in them.
Some of the staff were down right rude. I kept busy all week just so I was off the site and I wasn't in the caravan.
Silloth is lovely so go but not to this site.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagans L, Public Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We are sorry that you have not had a good experience at our site. Silloth is indeed lovely and our staff are normally praised for their high levels of customer care. We have noted your comments and will take the appropriate action where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
0.6 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
262 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
14.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
125 reviews
14.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Property: Solway Holiday Village
Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth , Cumbria, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Silloth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price Range: £-££ Visit England Rating: 3 stars Types of accommodation: Apartments, Camping, Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England Lake District, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes,Gretna Green, Carlisle and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres and only 100m from the sea. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park and Silloth Championship Golf Course . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing