We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WE LOVED IT!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solway Holiday Village
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“WE LOVED IT!!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

we went to the solway holiday village april 2010,we stayed in the buttermere chalet +,our group had 4 adults & 4 children & we absolutely loved it!!!
the chalet was very clean with 3 big bedrooms & a comfy sofabed in the lounge area,fully fitted kitchen with everything you need & bathroom with shower & bath,the living area was large & airy,we had a fenced outdoor area with decking around the hot-tub & picnic bench all pathed & private. overall the chalets could do with being updated,but as i say perfectly clean & useable! In the main areas theres a lovely indoor swimming pool & gym (could do with an update,but still clean & enjoyable)fab arcades,pooltables ects,good bar areas & plenty of outdoor seating.The kids soft play is good with ballpools slides ect,the outdoor park is really good too with zipslide, slides,swings ect,large sand pit & crazy golf! theres a large night club area & also an over 18s bar along with another main sports bar with flat screen tvs for sports ect! also a launderette if needed? theres a little farm where there are many free roaming animals pigs,deers ect,also a golf corse,the little corner shop has everything you need & is reasonably priced ,DONT LISTEN to the bad reviews its much better than they makeout i was worried about going when i saw the bad reviews but we all honestly loved it & will be going back!!! I highly recommend a chalet with a hottub the kids (& adults) loved it, so if you can afford the extra do!
there is sandy beaches( just ask a local),15 mins max walk from main holiday area
p.s no not near the lakedistrict infact 50 miles away from main lakes,but as a fellow cumbrian i knew this

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophiesonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    269
    168
    134
    188
See reviews for
606
117
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2010

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and there was plenty to do on site to keep my 2 year old entertained. The caravan was very clean and and excellent size for a 6 berth plus well stocked with pots, pans, microwave and freeview.
My only complaint was the swimming pool which was small and dirty with not very good changing facilities - we only used it once because of this. The evening entertainment was excellent with something for everyone and my 2 year old loved Felix the cat! A very enjoyable stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loobieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We booked with The Sun and thought we were going to the Lake District, more like the Loch District! Silloth has nothing to offer apart from a few shabby pubs. Miles from anywhere, but saying that staff were absolutely lovely and caravan was nice enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaR70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Silloth hotels

doncaster
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

went there for a long weekend,never been to a holiday park before,but our friends who we were with have been to a couple and this is the worst they have been to.Small dirty pool,very remote location about an hours drive to the lakes.Entertainment was not very good,all the park fascilities were poor,the cabins must have been built in 1950 and have never been updated,it sums it up when our 5yr old daughter kept calling them sheds.Not bad for the price we paid but you could probably get a better park for the same money.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amkDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

we visited with our twins (17months) lots to do the farm was good (but some of the animals looked a bit lame) the mini train was great and took 1/2 hour to get round the large park.

the accomodation was great for us as we had a 3 bed which was large the living room and kitchen were great it was like being in your own home!
its not what i'd call 5 star luxury but as far as a cheap break with the kids it was perfect for us we really enjoyed it.

the bistro food was nice we ate there twice, staff were very friendly :)

we didnt try the nightlife as we had the babies with us but it looked livley and seemed to have lots on.

we will be going again & will probably take friends next time as well.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We have just returned from our holiday at Solway and we had a great time. Silloth is only a small village with not alot to do but then we didnt need much else as we had everything we needed on the park. Swimming pool, bars, a lovely little resturant, kids play areas. And our accomodation was very comfortable. We had a lovely lodge that had t.v, freeview and also a dvd player which pleased the kids. It was warm and cosy and even though we had a minor problem with the toilet when we arrived it was fixed very quickly after we told the reception girls.
The park is well looked after and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived to this morning when we left.
The pub bar was a lovely place to have a drink and relax and kept my husband happy with the football being shown!!!!!!
The entertainment was brilliant with something on everyday and night for all generations. And my mum and i were happy as we got to play bingo every night.
I also have an 8 year old and a 13 year old and they both really enjoyed themselves in the kids and teens club.
The farm was a great bonus as my youngest loves animals.
Our only wish is that the rain could have held off during our stay, but even that didnt spoil it.
I'm glad i didnt read some of these reviews before i went as it would have made me think twice. But i can honestly say that we are definatly going back next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Just back from a weekend break with some friends at Solway. Ok, its not 5 star but we only paid £99 for the weekend so we expected that! We had hot tub, which was already on and warm when we arrived. We had to make our own beds on arrival but thats not bad. The cabin was spacious enough for 7 adults, we could all sit around the tables together. Theres a tv, freeview box and dvd player so plenty entertainment. We went to the pub on the Saturday night and there was a great atmosphere, there was a couple of guys singing and they weren't bad! Yes, its a £1 coin meter for the electricity but over the weekend we used £5 and that was with at least one heater on at all times and the hot tub always on. Plus straighteners, ipods etc so i think we did pretty well. Kitchen is well equipped with plenty pots, cutlery etc but it could be doing with decent size tumblers. Staff in the pub were really friendly and appeared to be enjoying what they were doing!
Ok, the negatives! There was a smell of dampness when we arrived and we traced it to the cupboard at the door where the boiler was. There was a patch of dampness on the wall and someone in their wisdom had put the spare bed and mattress against it. Nice. This spare bed was a single and to be honest, i've seen pieces of cardboard thicker than that mattress was! The cabin was freezing when we arrived but 15 minutes of every heater on sorted that. The cabin sleeps 8 but the fridge really isn't big enough for that amount of people. The sofa bed was unbelievably bad, the springs sagged in the middle and the stains on the mattress were just disgusting. REALLY needs replaced, i ended up sleeping on the mattress on the floor the rest of the weekend. One of the single beds was a bit dodgy, legs were buckled. The duvets were a bit thin considering it was march. Bunk beds were a bit shaky. Bathroom is huge! But the bath was coming away from the wall and there was absolutely no hot water coming out of the shower head.
But apart from all that, we had a brilliant weekend. Theres plenty to do,the pool is a good size and you can walk to the town in 20 minutes - and we seen dolphins in the sea while walking to the town so that was definately a highlight!
If you go expecting 5 star luxury, you're in for a disappointment. But we made the most of our rare time away together and it was fine for us!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
0.6 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
8.9 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
0.5 mi away
Green View Guest House
Green View Guest House
#1 of 3 in Silloth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Property: Solway Holiday Village
Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth , Cumbria, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Silloth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price Range: £-££ Visit England Rating: 3 stars Types of accommodation: Apartments, Camping, Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England Lake District, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes,Gretna Green, Carlisle and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres and only 100m from the sea. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park and Silloth Championship Golf Course . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Solway Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing