We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Last minute 'secret' escape”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Spindrift

Stunning Solway Sunsets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Solway Sunsets
Relaxing lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Stunning Solway Sunsets
Relaxing lounge
Somewhere special to sleep
Well equipped kitchen with small dining area
Bathroom with overhead shower
Upstairs Attic  Bedroom, access through main bedroom
The secret room as the grandchildren call it
Small dogs welcome
A warm welcome awaits you at Spindrift,
Small enclosed garden with seating area
A warm welcome awaits you at Spindrift,
Wonderful walks just minutes from the cottage
Spindrift meaning ' spray from the sea'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Silloth, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
The State...
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Last minute 'secret' escape”
Reviewed 3 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Enquired last minute and Yvette was more than accommodating. After a four hour drive the cosy cottage was waiting for us with lights and heating on and snacks for arrival. Good location for walking and exploring, short walk into Silloth for tea / takeaway. Found secret room at 1am after the hottest curry takeaway on 2nd night. Cottage has everything you need for short or long stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
Thankyou so much for your lovely review of our little house. We are pleased you had everything you needed. We so hope youy will visit again and stay a little longer.
Best wishes
Yvette & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C
1 review
“A beautiful cottage in lovely surroundings.”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Arrived, to be greeted by Yvette and Andrew, the owners. A lovely couple who were justifiably proud of their cottage.
We had the opportunity to view both properties, Spindrift and High Cottage, both of which, aside from being very attractive cottages, were spotlessly clean and extremely well provisioned.
Silloth is a picturesque seaside town, with all the usual amenities. The Fairydust Emporium Teashop is particularly worth a visit.
There are a number of scenic walking routes in and around Silloth, and plenty of opportunity to view the much talked about Solway Coast Sunsets.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both too. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and would love to welcome you back to Silloth.
Best wishes
Yvette and Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
584sylvia
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was very cosy and clean. It has everything you need. Perfect base for the lakes. Would recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thankyou for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay. Glad you enjoyed our little house and hope to see you again
Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can come back for longer
Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
287richar...
Crawshaw Booth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Beautiful cottage minutes off beautiful sandy beach turned up late evening on a cold evening the lights were on heating turned on chocolates on the table and milk in the fridge couldn't have felt more welcome I would highly recommend spindrift

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thankyou for your comments and we are glad you felt at home. Would love to welcome you back to our little house.
Yvette and Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a bad cottage but would benefit from some improvements.”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were booked to stay here for 4 nights but sadly had to cut our stay short by a night as we felt the bed was causing us back ache as the mattress was way too hard and the pillows were too soft and unsupportive.

The cottage was well appointed with everything thing that you would need for your stay.

The property would also benefit from a de-clutter as this is a small property and there were in our opinion too many small tables with objects on them in the way and too many chintzy things dotted around the place.

Also the garden was a let down as the only space available to use was the front garden, which was nice and tidy but it is situated on the main road through the village which is quite a busy road at times. The owners who were living in the adjoining cottage have the rear garden of both cottages for their sole use, although you do have access to use the back door. It would benefit if they let their small dog out in the sizable front garden of their cottage and allowed dog owners the use of the secure back garden when occupied or split the gardens up again to give both properties a secure rear garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Dear Craig,
Thank you for your review of Spindrift and we are sorry you didn't get the best out of your stay with us, as all we want is for people to be comfortable and enjoy their holiday. We thought we had provided an assortment of pillows on both beds ,as we try to provide some to suit all. The cottage is small but we have tried to keep the cottage feel and others seem to enjoy the bits and pieces dotted around, as is shown by our repeat bookings and other visitors comments. Also we only normally accept one small dog and that seems to suit Spindrift's layout. We have just recently bought High Cottage, and are in the process of getting it ready to let next year. We were there during your stay, and have recently finished enclosing the front garden. The description of Spindrift says that there is a small enclosed garden at the front and in the welcome folder we suggest that visitors are welcome to use the back garden, although it belongs to High Cottage, but there may be other people and dogs. The idea being that when both properties are let the front will be private to each cottage and the back will be a communal space.
Again we are sorry that Spindrift wasn't for you , but hope you enjoyed some of the area.
Best wishes
Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jordihugs...
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“relaxing break in lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

our 3rd visit to spindrift.. it is a clean well equipped
traditionally furnished cottage. Very cosy and homely with nice enclosed garden to front and rear. A great base for exploring the solway coast . Its really a dogs paradise for long walks on the nearby beach,

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thankyou for your review of our little house,hope to see you again next year
Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing