We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greece like it used to be!”
Review of Akrogiali Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akrogiali Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Boukari B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This truly is a taste of paradise! A lovely Greek family who cannot do enough to help. If you want a total chill out with lovely people, excellent views and great food then this is the place to go. Even Thanassis could not make a fisherman out of my husband! We only had a week and didn't hire a car. Lots of lovely walks from base but if you want to go further afield a car is a must.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views. We opted for top floor but you need an element of fitness to negotiate the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendyann57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Well, we returned twice in a month, once for a week, then a return week at home then back for two weeks.
The view is still fabulous, although the weather was occaisionally variable. It is still calm and peaceful and stresses and strains of our busy lives just melt away.
The first week we relaxed and walked around, the second visit we had a small car which was nice to get around in. We did not use it every day as we still liked to relax at Akrogiali. Had some great snorkelling from the beach. Still need your water shoes for comfort though.
Thanasos, Fotina, Stella and Marianna are as hospitable as ever. They work very hard to keep everyone happy. The food as always is tasty and varied. Fabulous grilled shrimp, calamari and anchovies to pick my favourites. Stifado here is indeed the best in europe! My husband liked saganaki, tuna souvlaki and shrimp with pasta, happy on all fronts. On my birthday we requested a seafood platter and had a superb array of seafood. Shrimp, anchovy, mussels, octopus and calamari, all so tasty. As returning visitors many local people remembered us and it is indeed a friendly area to visit. Although the Greek economic climate is not good, Thanasos was still keeping rooms occupied and a fair restaurant trade. Our one worry is that too many people will find this oasis. As always, not for those who want noise, parties or a hectic nightlife. Ideal for those who want to relax and chill out in a calm beautiful place with fantastic food and wine/mythos. Thanks to all the family and we will be returning again when time allows.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank norfolknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

For weeks leading up to our holiday I watched the reviews I thought it was to good to be true I had seen Boukari when we went out on a boat trip last year and decided I would have to stay there it looked so picture postcard I have to say our host Thanalis is the worst fisherman in Europe But his wife Fortini is a marvellous cook and a woman with a beautiful caring nature and nothing is to much trouble for her Thank you for saving my life daughters Stella and Marianana are both very beautiful , polite and very helpful we will be staying there again it was so relaxing and worth every penny Lot's of love from Elaine and Paul from Hull xx see you next year

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boukari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Wow what can i say, a piece of real Greece and Paradise rolled into one with a lovely greek family who do everything possible to make you feel like you've been there for years. This is definately a holiday for those wanting pure relaxation with a handful of mainly fish tavernas spread over a couple of kilometres although you need to go no further than the Akrogiali as the food is amazing.
To sit on the decking beside the sea and eat your meals whilst looking across the mirror like sea towards the Greek mainland quickly sooths away the stresses of home. After breakfast in the morning simply pick up your sunbeds from beside the appartments and settle yourself on the narrow beach either topping up your tan or in the shade of the trees dotted along back of the beach if you prefer.

What really made the holiday for us was the way you were made to feel at home. After dining at night we sat and sample a few bottles of Mythos and locals returning from there work chatted and told us stories about the local area and happily gave us advice on any ideas we had for our days in Boukari.
And finally the family, Thanasis,Tina and their two daughters Stella and Marianna. A real, genuine greek family that we can't wait to spend another holiday with. Thanasis has his favourite saying that everything there is "The best in Europe" and we can't argue with that
So finally i'd just like to say thanks for the best holiday ever and enjoy your winter break.
You deserve it. See you next year, and ,Stella, make sure you look after those kittens lol
Kirsty and Iain

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was our first time to Akrogiali Rooms and if I have my way it wont be the last!

I wont go on about the rooms ect as it has already been said and are all correct, but I would like to say something about the wonderful hosts of Thanassis, Fotini and the girls.

I have never witnessed such a hard working family as this, from first thing in the morning until last thing at night they are all there trying to make your stay comfortable and stress free.
We did try a few other restaurants but they where not a patch on Fontini's cooking and the Tuna Souvlaki is a must try, melts in the mouth.
What really makes this place, in my opinion, is Thanassis, nothing is too much trouble, we wanted to hire a car, he made a phone call and then dropped us of to collected it, he's got a good sense of humour and so laid back, take time to get to know him, you'll enjoy his company.

A car is recommended as it is a bit isolated and there is so much more of Corfu to see it's a shame not to explore it.

We found a few lovely beaches but our favourite was Barbati followed by Issos both beautiful and so different.

Yes there are wasps but these to are laid back leave them alone and they'll leave you alone.

This was a two week holiday that felt like a two week holiday totally re-charged, thanks to you all for your wonderful Greek hospitality, until next time!

Graeme & Julie

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waitey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just returned from another wonderful stay in beautiful Bukari - Thanassis & family are old friends now and our stay this summer was as lovely as ever. It's all been said before - a corner of paradise, beautiful scenery, clean, warm sea, fresh fish and good Greek hospitality - wonderful. Also enjoyed a great day out with Captain Noufris who picks up from the SPIROS taverna - about 300 yards back towards Messonghi - lovely leisurely day swimming off the salt flats and visiting Notos for lunch - wonderful value and a splendid day out - highly recommended.
Just looking forward to returning ... again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have been going for a few years now & were taken aback to see how many people are raving about it! It's getting too popular! When we first went, few of the rooms were actually occupied and it was SO peaceful. Still, mustn't be selfish about it, people just have the same reaction as we do, naturally.
Just to add something that hasn't been said: just go up to the next taverna-but-one, Sparos (NOT Spiros, which is next door) at around 10 30 a.m. You'll find Captain Noufris coming in to call on the Poseidon. We had a simply wonderful day's outing on his boat, down to the salt flats, then to a botanical paradise at Notos for lunch; free ouzo, wine & fruit on the boat and the "captain" is as friendly & attentive as Thanassis, Fotini & the girls. He charges 15 euros for the day, but we all gave him 20 because we were so pleased. A great day out.!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank salamander34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boukari
0.4 mi away
Hotel Helios
Hotel Helios
#1 of 1 in Boukari
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penelope Hotel
Penelope Hotel
#2 of 3 in Boukari
109 reviews
18.9 mi away
Barbati View Luxury Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Sunset Hotel
Golden Sunset Hotel
#3 of 3 in Boukari
41 reviews
8.6 mi away
Seafront Apartments
Seafront Apartments
#1 of 12 in Kavos
198 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sebastian's Family Taverna & Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akrogiali Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akrogiali Rooms

Address: Main Street, Boukari 490 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Boukari
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boukari
Price Range: £39 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Akrogiali Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Akrogiali Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akrogiali Rooms Boukari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing