We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good family hotel”
Review of Pinija Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pinija Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Petrcane
Certificate of Excellence
transylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good family hotel”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our 4th trip to Croatia. The second in a hotel. The hotel is a rather good place for a family, especially considering value for money. The biggest advantage is the large pine wood park with sand box and playground with shade for the hot summer afternoons. Food is good in quality and diversity, friendly staff, kid chairs. The beaches are Croatian, do not expect sand (stone plateau with and pebble beaches). The rooms are spacious, clean, with mini-fridge and hair dryer (ours was overlooking the terace that ir rather noisy until 11 pm but kids were able to sleep well). The drinks in the restaurant and bar are overpriced. Overall, it is a good place, however I prefer the private accomodation in Croatia.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not near the restaurant terace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steff2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    125
    62
    23
    18
See reviews for
80
166
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Overall, the place is a rather good place for a family, especially considering value for money. The biggest advantages are the kids programs (kiddie pool, meals, evening program), food (which is excellent in quality and diversity), friendly staff and lots of pine shade for those hot summer afternoons.

The downsides are the not-so-good beaches (only a stone plateau with two really small large pebble beaches for the kids), overcrowded parking and gym (the hotel allows for non-guest entry against a fee, which is ludicrous for a 4 star hotel) and substandard rooms (they are spacious, but a bit under 4-star standard you see in Europe).

Overall, it is an excellent place and I would consider going there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that overlooks the sea, but DOES NOT overlook the plateau between two hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Me and a friend stayed there for 4 nights in july and were really impressed by the hotel, staff, facilities, cleanliness.There is more or less everything you need in the complex with a choice of 2 beaches. A bus stop right outside the hotel to go into zadar for 15kunas each way. We didn't have a problem finding sun loungers by the pool. We had bed and breakfast and the choice at breakfast was great, the staff even allowed us to make up sandwiches for later in the day. The rooms were clean and comfy and had everything we needed. The staff were very helpful and informative.
I would recommend this hotel for all types of travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollylisa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

It's an injustice to this place that it isn't even at a '4' rating. Granted we were lucky with the weather (30-35 no clouds for a week), but the staff, especially in the restaurant, were exceptional. We have a 2 year old daughter, and they all went out of their way to come over and smile and tease her. It's a big place, and was only half full when we were there - but it really was an excellent choice for us.

Would got back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for the view on south side. Incredible panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinija, Manager at Pinija Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Peter,
thanks for the great review! You get the point about this place! We try to get to know our guest while here,and this time of the season is perfect(hotel not so full,guest have more space for themselves). It will be nice to welcome Your family again! Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, nice location in Petrcane (a beautiful village). We had a lovely six night break here. Friendly and helpful staff, decent value for money. Clean, quiet, comfortable rooms. Nice terrace and pool area with lovely views of the coast, good wellness facilities. Dinner was tasty at the hotel but there are also a choice a restaurants five minutes walk away for more private dining depending on your personal preference. Very good hotel!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Steeeeeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinija, Manager at Pinija Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear,
we would like to thank You for the nice review, Glad that you spend a lovely time here and enjoyed our best what we have to offer.Hope to see you again!
All the best in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Back again for the 3rd year on the trot.

B&B rate as we ate out during the day and in the evenings.

We had the same room as last year so had the same great view of the sea from our balcony.

Plenty to eat at breakfast, but this year notices a lot of tables booked for brakfast. We like one by the window and had to search a bit to find one some mornings. May have to ask to book one if we go again next year.

The staff at reception and in the bar remembered us from last year and gave us a warm welcome.

Hired bikes again to get around on a couple of days.

Also went to Zadar a couple of times as it's only £2 on the local bus which runs about 10 or 12 times a day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinija, Manager at Pinija Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Ralph,
It's so good and gives a really push forward to read such a impression! Especially when it comes from the one who already was here. Glad that You hired a bike, which is the best way to see the area,(hint for the others). Hope to welcome You again! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I came to stay with my boyfriend at the Hotel Pinija for a relaxing break before a festival.

We checked in and was told nothing in regard to any other charges ie how the restaurant and half board and gym charges applied.

We were in such a great mood about the hotel that we had booked and how great the facilities were, we decided to celebrate our arrival and have dinner in the buffet restaurant on the first night in the hotel. We had to sign had dined, but really didnt know the cost of our dinner when signing.

The next day we went to check how much the dinner actually cost us and the reception staff told there was a Half Board basis for 550 kuna (or pretty much 55 euro for the 3 days), then through mistranslation of english were slightly confused when we were then told it was for 24 hours, not 3 days as we were initially told. So 55 euro each a day, for the half board.

The room was great, as were the beds and pillow and good tv channels also. The facilities were great.

We even went to the gym.....mid run on the tready to be interrupted that 'Have i paid to use the gym'
(WHAAAAT?!! Is it not included?!?!)
No, again....not informed at all by reception staff upon arrival.
Then was tried to be charged a week when i told him i was only there for 3 days!

On the second day we went to check if our dinner the second night was included in our initial 24 hours half board, which it was not. We did not want to pay another 55 euro each and INFORMED THEM THAT WE DID NOT WANT ANY MORE HALF BOARD AT ALL for the rest of the stay.

So we did not use the restaurant for the final two days of our stay at all because we did not want to be charged.

We really enjoyed our stay also apart from the house maid pretty much walking in on me half naked before i checked out. That was also fun.

Upon checking out and paying the bill before letting me check my charges to my card which initally annoyed me after asking to see it BEFORE PAYING we found out that we had been charged for 3 total days of half board. We were happy to pay one day, but why were we paying for breakfast when it was included in the booking price on booking.com??

I was certainly not happy with this obviously after stating on the second night when we knew that we were going to be charged another 55 euro for buffet dinner and breakfast (in which we ended up going for a lovely dinner down the road for £8! Rip off much?!) and stated that we would not be using their restaurant for the rest of the stay.

I did not appreciate the manner that i was spoken to by the woman who i spoke with on the second night and who also checked me out claiming that i did not inform her of this is absolute bollocks.
The customer is always right and did not appreciate her manner whatsoever in dealing with her being completely in the wrong about us informing her we would not be using the half board for the rest of the stay and still yet trying to charge me for something we didnt even use for two days.

Then she started telling me it was 12 euro for dinner and all the figures completely changed for eating in this buffet restaurant THAT WE DIDNT EVEN EAT IN after the first 24 hours.

My boyfriend and I were talking on the second day that the reception staff weren't very clear with the charges and kind of brushed it off and not let it ruin our fun.

But checking out was a different story and has really left us on a sour note.

She wouldn't take the two days of half board off the boll completely, but took off £12 for each dinner, so we still paid for breakfast (that we didnt use) which should have been included in our booking anyway, but still got charged for breakfast for the 3 days.


I just want to let others know its a great hotel but just beware with the extra charges and fully understand them.

THE END.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daphunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinija, Manager at Pinija Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear,
first of all, we are glad that You like the facilities of the hotel.Beds and pillows are almost new so I imagine You really could have a good rest.Sorry to read about the misunderstanding regarding halfboard and dinner supplemet which must be paid for If you have booked just overnight and breakfast. Tip:Both Booking.com and his partners(in this case our hotel) are" no tricks,no hidden costs"based firms so next time check both BB & HB prices and choose what fits You best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petrcane
1.0 mi away
Falkensteiner Family Hotel Diadora
1.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
3.4 mi away
Zaton Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
4.0 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
6.4 mi away
Hotel Kolovare
Hotel Kolovare
#10 of 21 in Zadar
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinija Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinija Hotel

Property: Pinija Hotel
Address: Ulica Maka Dizdara 1, Petrcane 23231, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Petrcane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Petrcane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinija Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque little village of Petrčane, Hotel Pinija is surrounded by fragrant pine woods, with a pebbly-rocky beach, protected from winds and high waves.The Pinija is only 7.5 miles from the historic town of Zadar, North Dalmatia's cultural capital. Another ancient town, Nin, is only 3 miles from the property. Transportation to Zadar Airport is available for an additional fee.Choose from delicious vegetarian to international cuisine and mouth-watering traditional Dalmatian meals. Accompanied by a wide selection of superb wines, you will enjoy your dinner in an intimate, cozy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pinija Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinija Hotel Zadar
Pinija Hotel Croatia/Petrcane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing