We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room - strange breakfast”
Review of Costa Linda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costa Linda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The hotel has a prime spot in Porto da Cruz as it is direclty on the sea front. Stayed 2 nights in a room with a balcony over looking the sea. The room was large and modern and had an en-suite shower room. The shower room was a disabled room so as well as lots of grab handles the toilet was high and the hand basin was low! The staff at the hotel spoke excellent English and were very helpful.
We had two very good lunches in the hotel which were excellent value and could be taken outside at tables over looking the sea.
Breakfast was a bit strange as there was bread, jam, a piece of fruit and a yogurt per person on the table and then a menu to choose from. The menu was laid out very oddly and included the expected such as toast and the unexpected such as fish sandwich and fried meat sandwich. It was also not clear if you could ordered more than one item from the menu. The quality of the breakfast menu ingredients did not seem to be as good as the lunch time meals.

Room Tip: As for one over looking the sea with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyberfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Once we located the receptionist after a 20 minutes wait , enjoyed our stay immensely . pleasant
room with a wonderful seafront balcony , with dramatic views of ocean and cliffs.
After wonderful fish meals in Machico , perhaps we expected too much from hotel restaurant .
However breakfast was very good with fresh coffee and obliging staff.
Porto da Cruz does not have a great deal to offer , and a one night stay was perfect .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coursemarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel 2 adults and one 9Y kid.
The room was rather small, but cozy, with the small bathroom, (normal for 3 stars hotel). It seems nothing special until you open the window….
The hotel has excellent location, the window is just facing the ocean and excellent view, so you can enjoy the sound of the waves coming to you room, this gives very romantic atmosphere. Just next to the hotel there is a natural swimming pool. Black-sandy beach is some of meters away. The area of the hotel and hotel itself offers you really very nice, quiet location, especially in the evenings when all transfer tourists are gone. Hotels is surrounded by very nice cliffs. If you look quite cozy place to stay close to the nature, not discos and noise, this is a perfect hotel, grate alternative to Lido in Funchal.

Good fish at the hotel-restaurant, simple but nice breakfast served at the table.,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here at the start of a walking trip. Small room but with a balcony overlooking the sea just yards away we were hardly in the room. Food was simple but good although limited choice for vegetarians. Not much to do on an evening but watching shooting stars was magic .... Friendly staff, clean room , good food

Room Tip: If you don't mind the sound of waves. Dashing If you don't mind the sound if crashing w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauraGTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

After a week of travelling around the island, this was my favourite hotel !

For starters, the location is great - looking out over the little bay, with the village's pool on the left hand side ... the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks ... and the pleasant village as a backdrop.

On practical matters - the room was a reasonable size, the beds good and firm, and the balcony very good for looking out to sea. The bathroom I had was setup for the disabled so was a very good size with a reassuringly powerful shower! The shower gel that was excellent too!!

Breakfast was a cut above the usual, with a range of cooked options, and real fresh orange juice to go with it. The coffee was excellent too.

Wifi was available in the comfortable lounge downstairs, or in the reception area upstairs (different passwords), and occasionally spreading into the bedrooms.

Overall, it just had a very pleasant place to spend a couple of days.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fartoomanyusers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Visited while on an Inntravel walking holiday. We had a great welcome before being taken to our small room overlooking the sea. A others have noted, beds are hard and the bathrooms small. The powerful shower and inadequate shower curtain led to minor flooding on a couple of occasions.There isn't much to do around the village but after our walk we spent a lot of time watching seabirds from our balcony. The restaurant food isn't terribly exciting but the quality is good and service is efficient and good humoured.
The only down-side to the hotel was a very bright street light directly outside our room; I could only sleep using an eyeshade .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Modern, very clean. Room small but adequate (we did not have a sea view). Bed hard. The cafe is open all day and the meals are good value. Good selection at breakfast. The sea pool is about 100 m long and takes less than 5 mins to walk to - a lovely facility. The church clock chimed loudly from 07.00 am so ask for a room as far away as possible from the church. Reception staff friendly and helpful. An excelllent base for hiking in east Madeira. Only 15-20 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cakes284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto da Cruz
5.4 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
846 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quinta do Furao
Quinta do Furao
#1 of 3 in Santana
520 reviews
21.0 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
3.6 mi away
PortoBay Serra Golf
PortoBay Serra Golf
#28 of 154 in Madeira
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Bela
Hotel Vila Bela
#1 of 4 in Porto da Cruz
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Linda

Address: Rua Dr. Abel de Freitas, Porto da Cruz, Madeira 9225-050, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Porto da Cruz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Porto da Cruz
Price Range: £39 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Linda 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Costa Linda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Linda Porto Da Cruz, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing